Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (47 total).

A.T. Still University, Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health

AASA, The School Superintendents' Association (AASA)

Annotation: The American Association of School Administrators (AASA), founded in 1865, is a professional organization for educational leaders inAmerica and many other countries. AASA's mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to quality public education for all children. AASA brings together administrators of school systems and educational service agencies, school district superintendents, placement officers, directors and administrators of education associations, heads of private schools, college deans and educational administration professors, and central, building, and service unit administrators. The association sponsors annual professional development through conferences. Publications include The Leader's Edge (delivered electronically) and The School Administrator, a monthly magazine

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, Education

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

Annotation: The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) is a nonprofit association founded in 1876 to work for reform in medical education. The association offers advocacy services and educational programs for medical staff, including workshops, seminars, and training sessions. The association's publications provide information about member institutions and their missions. AAMC also offers publications geared to medical school applicants. The website contains a digital collectino of historical AAMC documents containing some of its earliest documentation.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Colleges, Databases, Educational change, Health education, Health personnel, History, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students

Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV)

Annotation: The Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV), established in 1983, is a nonprofit education and research organization that works to educate the public about the scope of handgun violence in the United States and the risks and responsibilities of handgun ownership. The center developed the nation's first K–12 curriculum on gun violence prevention, now used in several major school systems. CPHV publishes a newsletter and provides publications and reference information for consumers; some materials are available in Spanish. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The center does not respond to individual inquiries.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Consumer education, Curricula, Firearms, Handguns, School health education, Violence prevention, Weapons

Campaign for Educational Equity

Annotation: Launched in 2005, the Campaign for Educational Equity is committed to expanding and strengthening the national movement for quality public education for all by providing research-based analyses of key education policy issues. The campaign takes a comprehensive approach to educational equity, rooted in the belief that because educational inequity poses a multi-faceted challenge, any response must be equally comprehensive. In addition to widely-studied educational interventions like early childhood education, small class sizes, and high quality teaching, The campaign advocates for prudent and well-managed investments in parental involvement, children's health and other factors that affect student performance.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Educational attainment, Public education, School age children, School readiness

Center for Health and Health Care in Schools (CHHCS)

Annotation: The Center for Health and Health Care in Schools (CHHCS) specializes in researching and advancing effective school-connected programs, policies, and systems using the school location as a place-based solution for improving children's overall health and school success. CHHCS has developed a national network of leading stakeholders including researchers, practitioners, funders, and policymakers working across health, education, and family systems to facilitate communication among key experts and drive collective action. The center is a nonpartisan policy, resource, and technical assistance center located at the George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services.

Keywords: School based clinics, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services

UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care (CASBHC)

Annotation: The Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care (CASBHC) advocates for health care in schools for Colorado's children and adolescents. Established in 1996, CASBHC is a 501(c)(3) organization. The CASBHC's goals include that every child in Colorado: should receive the care necessary to optimize health and well-being; should have preventive and primary health care available where children are, in school; that good health is essential for student success and that delivering health care in schools will improve academic achievement; and that school-based health centers should provide children with the tools they need to make healthy choices now and in the future.

Keywords: Advocacy, Colorado, School based clinics, School health education, School health services, School-age children, State organizations

Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO)

Annotation: The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonprofit organization of the public officials who head the departments of elementary and secondary education in states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five extra-state jurisdictions including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Activities of the Council's School Health Project include providing information about HIV education, school-based pregnancy prevention, successful collaboration, and other coordinated school health programs. Publications include newsletters and reports (many can be downloaded free of charge). The Directory of Coordinated School Health Program Staff (jointly published by CCSSO, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, and and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation) is a state-by-state listing of staff in state education and health agencies whose responsibilities are related to health education, physical education, counseling and psychological services, parent/community involvement, and other aspects of school health. Copies of the directory may be ordered through the Publications section of tthe CCSSO Web site

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Health education, Listservs, Prevention programs, School personnel

Council of the Great City Schools

Annotation: The Council of the Great City Schools provides a forum for urban educators to develop strategies, exchange ideas, and conduct research on urban education. The council promotes public policy initiatives to ensure improvement of education and equity in the delivery of comprehensive educational programs. The organization publishes reports and a newsletter (these can be downloaded in pdf format from the Web site), and sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Child health, Educational programs, School districts, Urban environment

Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)

Annotation: The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) is a private, nonprofit corporation recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit schools of public health and certain public health programs offered in settings other than schools of public health. The council's focus is the improvement of health through the assurance of professional personnel who are able to identify, prevent, and solve community health problems. It seeks to promote quality in public health education through a continuing process of self-evaluation by the schools and programs that seek accreditation; to assure the public that institutions offering graduate instruction in public health have been evaluated and judged to meet standards essential for the conduct of such educational programs; and to encourage improvements in the quality of education for public health through periodic review, consultation, research, publications, and other means. Services to consumers include publications and reference information.

Keywords: Professional education, Public health education, Public health schools

Education and the Public Interest Center (EPIC)

Annotation: The Education and the Public Interest Center (EPIC) at the University of Colorado at Boulder partners with the Education Policy Research Unit (EPRU) and the Commercialism in Education Research Unit (CERU) at Arizona State University to produce policy briefs and think tank reviews. These centers provide a variety of audiences, both academic and public, with information, analysis, and insight to further democratic deliberation regarding educational policies.

Keywords: Education, Health promotion, Research, School age children

Education Law Center (ELP)

Annotation: The Education Law Center (ELC) advocates on behalf of public school children for access to an equal and adequate education under state and federal laws, ELC focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, and children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and, as a last resort, legal action. ELC works to improve education for urban school children by advocating for effective implementation of the programs and reforms ordered in the landmark Abbott v. Burke school funding case, and provides direct legal assistance to lower income children in disputes involving access to an adequate, equal and appropriate education under state and federal laws. ELC focuses primarily in New Jersey and also provides information, technical assistance and support to attorneys and advocates in other states seeking to improve public education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Legal aid, New Jersey, Public education, Public schools, State organizations

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry, Office of Oral Health Programs (LSUSD-OOHP)

MidAtlantic Public Health Training Center (MAPHTC)

Annotation: The MidAtlantic Public Health Training Center provides training and continuing education opportunities for the public health workforce in the tri-state MidAtlantic network, covering Delaware, Maryland, and the District of Columbia. It is funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, and has a variety of academic and practice partners in the three jurisdictions. It offers workshops, symposia, satellite broadcasts, conferences and internships.

Keywords: Distance education, Training, Public health education, Public health programs, Public health schools, Training materials, University affiliated programs

National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)

Annotation: The National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), established in 1921, provides leadership, publishes standards, and produces resources for elementary and middle school principals in the United States, Canada, and overseas. NAESP's book of standards is entitled Leading Early Childhood Learning Communities: What Principals ShouldKnow and Be Able to Do (an executive summary can be downloaded free-of-charge from the Web site). The association also publishes newsletters, Principal magazine, and resource catalogs, and holds annual conventions,.

Keywords: Education, Elementary schools, Principals, School health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.