Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (24 total).

211 LA County

Annotation: 211 LA County provides access to a comprehensive range of human services to the people of Los Angeles County, California. It also provides access to the Taxonomy of Human Services, a classification system for indexing resources in information and referral databases that was developed by INFO LINE of Los Angeles, the predecessor to 211 LA County, and that is endorsed by the national association Alliance for Information and Referral Systems and United Way of America as the standard indexing system for the industry.

Keywords: California, Human services, Information systems, Local initiatives, Referrals

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

Alliance for Information and Referral Systems

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Amputee Foundation (AAF)

Annotation: The American Amputee Foundation (AAF) is a national clearinghouse and referral center which researches and collects information, responds to inquiries, and distributes resource materials. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publishes a national resource directory.

Keywords: Amputation, Clearinghouses, Referrals

American Fertility Association (AFA)

Annotation: The American Fertility Association (AFA) works to serve the needs of men and women confronting infertility issues; to support families during struggles with infertility and adoption; to educate the public about reproductive disease; and to raise awareness and fight for social and legislative change around infertility issues. The AFA provides a range of services designed to help people gather information about medical treatments, options, coping techniques, legal and insurance issues, and other concerns. One of its goals is to help couples make informed decisions throughout the infertility process. The AFA's services focus around increasing awareness of the medical and social issues around reproductive health and infertility, as well as prevention efforts that target young people to help them make informed choices about their sexual and reproductive lives.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adoption, Fertility, Infertility, Information services, Public awareness campaigns, Referrals, Reproduction, Reproductive health, Reproductive technologies, Support groups

Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington

Annotation: The Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington (BCW) is a statewide coalition comprised of local coalitions working together to promote, protect and support breastfeeding as a vital part of the health and development of children and families. It is a program of WithinReach and receives funding from the Washington State Department of Health. BCW goals include protecting and promoting a public environment supportive and accepting of breastfeeding; increasing the incidence and duration of breastfeeding; providing up-to-date referral and educational materials to healthcare professionals, organizations and the community at large; advocating for policies in workplaces, educational institutions and childcare facilities to support breastfeeding families in a way that is culturally relevant and sensitive. The BCW offers a free newsletter, Breastfeeding Matters.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Coalitions, Lactation, Referrals, State initiatives, Washington

Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC)

Annotation: The Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC) works to improve the health, development, and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs in partnership with families, service providers, and communities. CHSC's team of professionals and experienced parents provide families one-on-one problem solving and emotional support as they care for their children with special health care needs. Since children and youth with complicated health problems often need assistance from many different agencies, CHSC works to provide access to quality community-based services. CHSC provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including a newsletter), and reference Information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Home care, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Information services, Management, Referrals, Resource materials, Service coordination, Technical assistance

Fathers' Network

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (NACCRRA)

Annotation: The National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (NACCRRA), works with state and local child care resource and referral agencies (CCR&Rs) nationwide to ensure that all families have access to high-quality, affordable child care. NACCRRA's programs and services include training and technical assistance; the Quality Assurance Program, a national, voluntary certification system for CCR&Rs; Child Care Aware, a national toll-free information line and website for families available in English and Spanish; and an annual policy symposium. Products and resources include Early Childhood Focus, a website featuring daily news clippings about child care and child welfare issues; field studies and trend reports; and NACCRAware, an Internet-based child care referral and reporting software program that manages family, child care program, and community data. NACCRRA also hosts the Provider Appreciation Day website. NACCRRA changed its name to Child Care Aware of America in 2012.

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Online databases, Public policies, Referrals

National Association of Private Special Education Centers (NAPSEC)

Annotation: National Association of Private Special Education Centers (NAPSEC) is a nonprofit association whose mission is to ensure access for individuals to private special education as a vital component of the continuum of appropriate placements and services in American education. The association represents programs that provide special education for both privately and publicly placed children and adults and serves as the national voice in Washington for its membership of educators regarding policies that affect individuals with disabilities. Activities include a free referral service for parents, educators, counselors, and others seeking placement options for individuals with disabilities, annual and legislative conferences, a quarterly newsletter, and a monthly national issues service covering legislative initiatives, regulatory actions, educational issues, and judicial decisions. The association also publishes a member directory.

Keywords: Disabilities, Referrals, School age children, Special education

National Foster Parent Association (NFPA)

Annotation: The National Foster Parent Association (NFPA) is a non-profit, volunteer organization that supports support foster parents in achieving safety, permanence and well-being for the children and youth in their care. NFPA promotes communication and cooperation among foster parents, foster parent associations, child care agencies and other child advocates; strives to improve the foster care system; encourages the recruitment and retention of foster parents; and provides information on current issues and events regarding foster care. In addition, NFPA provides training programs, technical assistance, education materials, and information and referral services.

Keywords: Advocacy, Foster children, Information dissemination, Foster care, Adolescent health, Child health, Educational materials, Foster parents, Recruitment, Referrals, Technical assistance, Training, Youth services

National Health Information Center (NHIC)

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service that links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. The Health Information Resource Database includes organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organization provides. NHIC also provides key support for the healthfinder.gov website, a gateway to consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Health education, Databases, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)

Annotation: The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). NARIC collects, catalogs, and disseminates the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDRR. These projects focus on a wide range of issues, including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building. The website content can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Disabilities, Directories, Information services, Information sources, Online databases, Program descriptions, Publications, Referrals, Rehabilitation, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Annotation: The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) sets national health goals and objectives and supports programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans. ODPHP sponsors trainings (e-learning courses), visiting scholars and residencies, and the National Health Information Center and manages the health.gov, HealthyPeople.gov, and healthfinder.gov websites. ODPHP also provides information and resources on topics such as the national dietary guidelines, physical activity guidelines, health literacy and communication, and health care quality and patient safety. Congress ODPHP in 1976 to lead disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States. ODPHP is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Keywords: Health promotion, Consumer education, Healthy People 2010, Information sources, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses, World Wide Web

Paget Foundation for Paget's Disease and Bone and Related Disorders (PDF)

Annotation: The Paget Foundation for Paget's Disease of Bone and Related Disorders (PDF) assists people with Paget's disease, primary hyperparathyroidism, fibrous dysplasia, osteopetrosis, breast and prostate cancer metastatic to bone. The Foundation disseminates educational materials to patients and medical professionals, offers physician referrals and sponsors conferences. Publications include Questions and Answers about Paget's Disease of Bone, Questions and Answers About Primary Hyperparathyroidism, Questions and Answers About Fibrous Dysplasia, Questions and Answers About Breast Cancer Metastatic to Bone, Questions and Answers About Osteopetrosis , Questions and Answers about Prostate Cancer Metastatic to Bone, and a newsletter, Update.

Keywords: Pagets disease, Breast cancer, Health education, Information dissemination, Referrals

Parent Educational Advocacy Training Center (PEATC)

Annotation: The Parent Educational Advocacy Training Center (PEATC) is an independent nonprofit organization that provides training programs, information, referrals, and consultation services for parents of children with special educational needs in Virginia. Training program sponsors include state departments of education, local education agencies, community mental health and mental retardation services boards, private schools, and disability interest groups. Publications include Negotiating the Special Education Maze: A Guide for Parents and Teachers, Beginning with Families 3rd Edition, A Parent's Guide to Early Intervention Services, Managed Care Maze? What About the Children (video), Infusing Cultural Competence in Early Childhood Programs , A Challenge for Teen Parents: video and guide books, Fostering Health in the Foster Care Maze: video and guide books and The PEATC Press, a quarterly newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The center receives funding from the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education.

Keywords: Special education, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Individualized education programs, PL 94-142, Referrals, Training

Self Reliance Foundation / Acceso Hispano (SRF)

Annotation: The Self Reliance Foundation / Acceso Hispano (SRF), a non profit organization, serves disadvantaged populations through disseminating educational information and facilitating access to community-based services. SRF specifically focuses on informing Hispanic people about opportunities for personal and community empowerment in the areas of health, women's issues, education, economic opportunities, science, environmental protection, and access to new technologies. SRF's national efforts include sponsoring the National Hispanic Resource Helpline which provides referrals to affordable bilingual information and services throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. SRF supports the National Hispanic Family Planning and Reproductive Health Awareness Campaign which raises awareness of reproductive health issues and increases access to reproductive health facilities by under-served Hispanic populations. The foundation also partners with the National Latino Children's Institute to develop educational programming for parents and caretakers. Local efforts in the Washington DC area include partnering with reproductive health clinics which target the needs of the Hispanic community, coordinating with local health fairs which provide information and services to the uninsured, and conducting reproductive health workshops in local community health centers. The organization offers internships and student fellowships.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Information dissemination, Media campaigns, Public awareness campaigns, Referrals

Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine (SAHM)

Annotation: Founded in 1968, the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine (SAHM) is a multidisciplinary organization of health professionals committed to improving the physical and psychosocial health and well-being of all adolescents through advocacy, clinical care, health promotion, health service delivery professional development, and research. SAHM's professional resources include the monthly Journal of Adolescent Health, a quarterly newsletter, a career center,annual meeting, fellowships/training, continuing education, curriculum, clinical care resources, and a listserv. SAHM also provides referrals and health information for adolescents and their families.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent medicine, Professional societies, Referrals

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.