Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Brigham and Women's Hospital (BWH) is a teaching hospital of the Harvard Medical School providing patient care, medical education, and research. The hospital maintains the BWH Health and Education Library which provides access to 400 medical eBooks through the netLibrary; provides online access to pamphlets on over 100 health topics published by BWH; and staffs a reference/referral service. The hospital Web site provides electronic access to Health Topics A-Z, covering topics such as aging and health, adolescent health, sports and fitness, mental health, men's health, and women's health.

Keywords: Hospital libraries, Library services, Education, Electronic publications, Hospitals, Libraries, Medical education, Medical research, Patient care, Patient education, Publications, Reference materials

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Annotation: The Intersex Society of North America (ISNA) is a public awareness, education, and advocacy organizations that works to create a world free of shame, secrecy, and unwanted surgery for intersex people (individuals born with anatomy or physiology that differs from cultural ideals of male and female). ISNA publishes a newsletter and offers referrals, publications, and reference information to consumers. Spanish-language materials are available.

Keywords: Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Consumers, Endocrine sexual disorders, Gonadal dysgenesis, Hermaphroditism, Informatoin sources, Klinefelters syndrome, Reference materials, Sex differentiation disorders, Testicular feminization

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service that links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. The Health Information Resource Database includes organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organization provides. NHIC also provides key support for the healthfinder.gov website, a gateway to consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Health education, Databases, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine (NLM) collects and disseminates biomedical information and serves as a national resource for all U.S. health science libraries. In addition to its collection of journals, monographs, and audiovisual materials, the library has extensive information for scientists, health professionals, and the general public available through its Web site. Lending and other services are provided through the 5000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The library also publishes a newsletter and a catalog, and provides training materials on using its resources.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Libraries, Library services, Medical research, National Library of Medicine, Online databases, Online systems, Publications, Reference materials