Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: California Food Policy Advocates (CFPA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to healthy food for people with low-incomes in California. The website provides information about CFPA policy actions, initiatives and campaigns, areas of focus and research and data, and news and media.

Keywords: California, Children, Food, Low income groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Schools, State programs, Water

Annotation: Communities In Schools is a nationwide network of professionals dedicated to keeping kids in school and helping them succeed in life. CIS positions site coordinators inside schools to assess students' needs and provide resources. CIS coordinates with local businesses, social service agencies, health care professionals, and volunteers and provides food, school supplies, health care, counseling, academic assistance, and positive role models.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Communities, Education, Educational attainment, Public schools, Students

Annotation: The Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) is a private, nonprofit corporation recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit schools of public health and certain public health programs offered in settings other than schools of public health. The council's focus is the improvement of health through the assurance of professional personnel who are able to identify, prevent, and solve community health problems. It seeks to promote quality in public health education through a continuing process of self-evaluation by the schools and programs that seek accreditation; to assure the public that institutions offering graduate instruction in public health have been evaluated and judged to meet standards essential for the conduct of such educational programs; and to encourage improvements in the quality of education for public health through periodic review, consultation, research, publications, and other means. Services to consumers include publications and reference information.

Keywords: Professional education, Public health education, Public health schools

Annotation: The Education Law Center (ELC) advocates on behalf of public school children for access to an equal and adequate education under state and federal laws, ELC focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, and children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and, as a last resort, legal action. ELC works to improve education for urban school children by advocating for effective implementation of the programs and reforms ordered in the landmark Abbott v. Burke school funding case, and provides direct legal assistance to lower income children in disputes involving access to an adequate, equal and appropriate education under state and federal laws. ELC focuses primarily in New Jersey and also provides information, technical assistance and support to attorneys and advocates in other states seeking to improve public education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Legal aid, New Jersey, Public education, Public schools, State organizations

Annotation: Healthy Schools Campaign advocates for policies and practices that allow all students, teachers, and staff to learn and work in a healthy school environment. HSC addresses issues of environmental health and wellness in schools by preparing stakeholders to become leaders in efforts to create change at the school, district, state, and national levels.The website contains information on programs and publications on topics such as food and fitness, environmental justice and health disparities, environmental health, and school nursing.

Keywords: Barriers, Environmental health, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, School nursing, Schools

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Annotation: The MidAtlantic Public Health Training Center provides training and continuing education opportunities for the public health workforce in the tri-state MidAtlantic network, covering Delaware, Maryland, and the District of Columbia. It is funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, and has a variety of academic and practice partners in the three jurisdictions. It offers workshops, symposia, satellite broadcasts, conferences and internships.

Keywords: Distance education, Training, Public health education, Public health programs, Public health schools, Training materials, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The Morgan State University School of Community Health and Policy received accreditation in 2005 and is the first doctorate-granting, urban practice-based public health program at a Historically Black College or University. The school comprises the Public Health Program, the Prevention Sciences Research Center, and the undergraduate Food and Nutrition Program and provides students with the opportunity to learn community-based participatory research meethods and critical analytic skills, applied to practice in urban and underserved settings, with a focus on adressing racial and ethnic health disparities.

Keywords: Public health schools, Historically black colleges and universities

Annotation: The National School Boards Association (NSBA) is a non-profit organization that works to advance the quality of public school education, to provide up-to-date information and training on education issues to state school boards association members and local school boards, and to strengthen local citizen control of public schools. Focus areas include coordinated school health programs, physical activity, food safety, healthy eating, asthma in schools, HIV/AIDS policy development, tobacco use prevention, sexual orientation issues, and adolescent pregnancy prevention. NSBA's School Health Resource Database contains abstracts of more than 3,000 items, including sample policies, articles, and training tools. NSBA offers referrals and sponsors conferences and training seminars as well.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Conferences, Health education, Prevention programs, Professional societies, Public education, Public schools, Publications, School health programs, Technical assistance, Training

Keywords: Internet, Public health schools

Annotation: Smart Start is a childhood initiative in the state of North Carolina designed to help ensure that young children enter school healthy and ready to succeed. This public-private initiative provides early education funding to all of the state's 100 counties through local nonprofit organizations. Smart Start works to improve the quality of child care, make child care more affordable and accessible, and provide access to health services and other family support, Smart Start's National Technical Assistance Center provides technical assistance to communities and states and offers a variety of publications, in both English and Spanish, describing start-up efforts, lessons learned, effective practices, and quality improvement.

Keywords: School readiness, Child care, Child health, Early childhood education, Local initiatives, North Carolina, Public private partnerships, Schools, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS) administers, coordinates, and recommends policy for improving the quality and excellence of programs and activities in the following areas: safe and supportive schools; health, mental health, environmental health, and physical education; drug and violence prevention; character and civic education; and homeland security, emergency management, and school preparedness.

Keywords: Environmental health, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mental health, Physical education, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Center to Address Disparities in Children's Oral Health (CAN DO Center) at the University of California San Francisco School of Dentistry addresses socioeconomic and cultural disparities in oral health. The center is funded by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research to launch new programs to prevent early childhood tooth decay. The programs include new research to compare methods to prevent dental caries in children, as well as efforts to integrate and implement current scientific understanding across a variety of primary care and social service settings. UCSF also serves as the Data Coordinating Center for three of NIDCR-funded centers: UCSF, Boston University, and University of Colorado, Denver.

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental education, Dental schools, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Health status, Minority health, Oral health, Public health, Racial factors, Research, State programs

Annotation: The UNC Center for Maternal and Infant health aims to improve the health of North Carolina's women and infants. The Center focuses on helping patients with high-risk pregnancies and families with medically fragile infants to navigate a complex health care system, working with them to make sure they are receiving the best care and support available. An A-Z list of fact sheets for women and families is available on the website, along with links to resources for professions.

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Professional education, Public health, Schools of public health, Universities

Annotation: The Department of Maternal and Child Health is committed to improving the health of women, children, and their families. Its mission is to integrate its teaching, research, technical assistance, and consultation programs to promote and improve the health status of specific, vulnerable population groups – women in their reproductive years, children (including those with special needs), and their families in domestic and international settings. Health is defined in the broadest sense, to include physical, political, economic, cultural, and psychosocial factors. The department addresses critical health problems, such as perinatal and infant mortality, child health policy, maternal and child nutrition, child and adolescent health promotion, and violence in the lives of women and children.

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Professional education, Public health, Schools of public health, Universities

Annotation: The University of Washington School of Public Health is one of 17 schools and colleges at the University of Washington and is the only accredited school of public health in the Northwest. The school's five departments include biostatistics, environmental and occupational health sciences, epidemiology, global health, health services. The school also offers interdisciplinary programs in health administration, maternal and child health, nutritional sciences, pathobiology, and public health genetics. The school's research centers and institutes include the Northwest Center for Public Health Practice, which focuses on enhancing public health workforce development and practice-based research through outreach within the public health community.

Keywords: Health education, Public health schools, Washington