Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists (ASPHN)

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)

Annotation: The Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) is a national consumer organization that focuses on health and nutrition issues, including alcohol policy, biotechnology, food safety, integrity in science, international issues, and nutrition policy. The organization publishes books, posters, and a magazine, Nutrition Action Healthletter.

Keywords: ? Public health, Consumer satisfaction, ?Child, Advocacy, Nutrition, Science

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Children's HealthWatch

Annotation: Children's HealthWatch, formerly Children's Sentinel Nutrition Assessment Program (C-SNAP), Children's HealthWatch works to improve child health by bringing evidence and analysis from the front lines of pediatric care to policy makers and the public. The network of pediatricians and public health researchers collects data on children up to the age of four in emergency rooms and clinics at Boston Medical Center, the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock; Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis; and St. Christopher's Hospital in Philadelphia. Data is collected and analyzed on food security, housing stability, home environment issues, health, and other possible hardship experiences for young children, particularly in low income areas.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Collaboration, Data collection, Housing, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition assessment, Public policy, advocacy

Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database

Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE)

Annotation: The Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE) builds on principles and practices of health promotion and education to strengthen public health capacity in policy and systems change to improve the health of all and achieve health equity. Resources include news, a calendar of events, community market analyses, online groups, and links to information on careers, health equity, health policy and advocacy, health policy and environmental change, health-related organizations, school employee wellness, school health, state worksite wellness programs, and training and professional development. DHPE is an affiliate of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Professional societies, Public health programs, Public health services

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Health Information

Healthy Kids, Healthy Future

Annotation: Healthy Kids, Healthy Future is a partnership of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, and Nemours that works to advance research, policies, and practices that promote obesity prevention in child care. The website, hosted by the Nemours Foundation, is designed to help child care providers promote healthy habits. Contents include proven tools, promising practices, policies, and presentations on topics such as healthy eating and physical activity.

Keywords: Child care, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Model programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships

International Life Sciences Institute (ILSI)

Annotation: The International Life Sciences Institute (ILSI) conducts and supports research on nutrition, toxicology, food safety, and environmental safety. Its divisions include the Human Nutrition Institute, Risk Science Institute, Health and Environmental Sciences Insitute, ILSI North America and ILSI Center for Health Promotion (Atlanta, GA). ILSI sponsors workshops, international conferences, and a research awards program, and produces publications including a catalog, newsletter, and journal. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, searchable databases, and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Food safety, Nutrition research, Public health, Toxicology

Let's Move

Annotation: The Let’s Move! campaign, started by First Lady Michelle Obama, has an ambitious national goal of solving the challenge of childhood obesity within a generation so that children born today will reach adulthood at a healthy weight. Let’s Move! will combat the epidemic of childhood obesity through a comprehensive approach that will engage every sector impacting the health of children and will provide schools, families and communities simple tools to help kids be more active, eat better, and get healthy.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Child health, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public awareness campaigns

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women's health

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Annotation: The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a national resource for vital statistics and health-related information and is part of the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The center collects and disseminates data on major health and nutrition indicators affecting the population. Data are presented so that specific groups, such as children and adolescents, can be isolated. Publications include statistical reports and information on morbidity and mortality, use of health resources, nutritional status, and survey research.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Public health, Publications, Research

National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR)

Annotation: The National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) was launched in 2009 to bring together four research funders -- the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture -- to accelerate progress in reducing childhood obesity in America. These organizations work in tandem to manage projects and reach common goals, coordinate funding to make the most of available resources, and share insights and expertise to strengthen research. The website provides information about projects, tools, webinars, publications, events, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Databases, Environmental influences, Financing, Health status, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research

National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA)

Annotation: The National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA) is a partnership of over 80 national organizations and associations, state folic acid councils, and government agencies whose mission is to improve health by promoting the benefits and consumption of folic acid. NCFA is managed by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The council distributes guidelines on folic acid consumption for women of childbearing age and promotes emerging and new science on folic acid (especially as it relates to maternal and child health). NCFA distributes monthly news alerts and provides electronic access to sources of information on folic acid (available in multiple languages).

Keywords: Nutrition, . Foreign language materials, Consumer education, Folic acid, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Neural tube defects, Preventive health services, Public health nutrition

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Annotation: The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the principal medical research arm of the federal government. Its programs focus on basic and applied research on the causes, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of human diseases and disabilities; the fundamental biological process of growth, development, and aging; and the biological effects of the environment. NIH conducts research in its own laboratories and supports research in universities, hospitals, and other institutions across the country; it also supports the training of career researchers, and promotes effective ways to communicate biomedical information to scientists, health practitioners, and the public. NIH is organized into 27 components, including 19 research institutes. It also encompasses the National Library of Medicine, the Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, the John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences, and the National Center for Research Resources. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a catalog and Almanac. Some materials are available in Spanish. An A-Z index of NIH health resources, clinical trials, health hotlines, MEDLINEplus, and drug information is posted on the NIH Web site. A data tool, RePORT, provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities.

Keywords: Medical research, Disabilities, Diseases, Nutrition, Public health

National Institutes of Health, Division of Nutrition Research Coordination (DNRC)

Annotation: The Division of Nutrition Research Coordination (DNRC) advises the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director and others on nutrition research issues and works with the NIH organizational components to coordinate nutrition research and research training initiatives. The DNRC also represents the NIH and provides liaison at the DHHS and interagency level on various committees on nutrition research and policy issues such as the Interagency Committee on Human Nutrition Research and Nutrition Policy Board. Located within the DNRC is the NIH Nutrition Coordinating Committee (NCC) which operates as an NIH-wide forum to review, stimulate, and encourage the support of nutrition research and training to better define the role of nutrition in the promotion and maintenance of health and in the prevention and treatment of disease. The NCC also plays a key role in the development of nutrition research policy at the NIH. Further, the DNRC maintains the Human Nutrition Research Information Management (HNRIM) system. HNRIM is a searchable database of nutrition research and research training activities supported by the federal government. Data for the system is prepared and submitted by participating agencies, and is updated annually.

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition research, Public health, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.