Search Results: MCH Organizations

Keywords: California, County agencies, Oral health, Public health

Annotation: The Association of State Public Health Nutritionists is a membership organization that provides state and national leadership on food and nutrition issues, programs, and services aimed at improving population health.

Keywords: Public health, Advocacy, Education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Policy development, Standards, State health agencies

Annotation: The Black Hawk County, Iowa, Health Department promotes optimal public health policy through education, advocacy, and effective regulatory action for the benefit of all citizens within its service area. Through ongoing assessment of public health conditions, the department works to protect community residents from disease and disability; and through provider collaboration and service delivery, strives to assure access to appropriate prevention and treatment.

Keywords: Public health, County health agencies, Iowa

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is a consortia structure based on the agency's four key lines of business including (1) Medicare health plans operations, (2) financial management and fee for service operations, (3) Medicaid and children's health operations; and (4) quality improvement and survey and certification operations. Ten regional offices represent the agency in delivering key messages; putting into practice regulations, policy, and program guidance; and monitoring programs and evaluation of contractors/grantees. The website provides information on Medicare; Medicaid; the Children's Health Insurance Program; regulations and guidance; research, statistics, data, and systems; outreach and education; and tools. CMS was previously called the Health Care Financing Administration.

Keywords: Health care financing, Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children', State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization, s health insurance program

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Annotation: Connecticut's Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education provides programs and services for students to assess, protect, and promote health; administers federal grants for child and school nutrition programs; and provides adult education instructional programs predominately through local school districts and various community and faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult education, Child health, Connecticut, Nutrition programs, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Health Care Financing Administration, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Public health

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Data, Directories, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Online databases, Public health, Social security, Statistics

Annotation: The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the lead U. S. Department of Health and Human Services agency for improving access to health care for individuals and families nationwide. The agency includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, which funds the Maternal and Child Health Block Grant, Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) activities and the Healthy Start Program. HRSA produces a catalog, and the HRSA Preview, which provides a comprehensive list of HRSA's competitive grant programs. The HRSA Geospatial Data Warehouse captures grants, scholarship and loan programs, designation of underserved areas, and service demonstration programs and integrates these with data acquired from external sources. The HRSA Information Center provides consumer information and referrals, a catalog of publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education, Federal agencies, HRSA, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy start, Models, Outreach, Policy development, Program development, Public health, Publications, SPRANS, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: The Indiana Center for Health Policy (CHP), created in 2006, is housed at the Indiana University School of Medicine Department of Health. The CHP faculty and staff collaborate with state and local governments, as well as public and private health care organizations in health policy and program development to conduct high quality program evaluation and applied research on critical health policy-related issues. CHP serves as a bridge between academic health researchers and state and local government as well as health care organizations and community leaders.

Keywords: Evaluation, Health policy, Indiana, Program development, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation that administers over twenty federal, state, and private grants and contracts in a variety of areas including health, research, and environmental quality. ITCA staff provide technical assistance, disseminates information, and conducts trainings to assist Tribal governments in operating programs that comply with federal regulations and policies and protect the health and safety of Tribal members. The membership of ITCA consists of twenty of the federally recognized Tribes in Arizona. ITCA coordinates meetings and conferences to facilitate participation of Tribal leaders and other Tribal staff in the formulation of public policy at all levels.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Arizona, Community agencies, Health policy, Health promotion, Policy development, Public policy

Keywords: State agencies, Kentucky, Public health

Annotation: The Center for Community and Preventive Health conduct a variety of programs and services designed to improve public health measures in Louisiana. Programs and services the center offers through the Louisiana Department of Health Office of Public Health include screenings, health needs assessments, laboratory testing services, infectious disease reporting and nutrition programs.

Keywords: Louisiana, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The Center for Maternal and Child Health’s mission is to protect, promote and improve the health and well-being of all women, newborns, children and adolescents in Maryland. Programs and activities strive to strengthen and support the maternal and child health infrastructure and to assure the availability and accessibility of preventive and primary care services for women, children and adolescents. Best practice standards in public health guide program planning, development and implementation. Five divisions comprise the Center: Family Planning and Reproductive Health; Maternal and Child Health which is subdivided into Maternal and Perinatal Health and Child and Adolescent Health; Women’s Health; Community-Based Initiatives and Partnerships; and Administration, Planning and Epidemiology. Programs are integrated to assure a holistic and coordinated life span approach to the enhancing the health of Marylanders. In conjunction with the Office for Genetics and Children with Special Health Care Needs, the Center is responsible for administering federal Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant funds. The Center is also responsible for administering the federal Title X Family Planning Program, the Abstinence Education Program Grant, the Maryland Asthma Control Program and other programs. The Center also collaborates and coordinates activities with other DHMH and State agencies on health issues that affect women and children. These issues include home visiting, immunizations, injury prevention, mental health care, Medical Assistance, oral health care, substance abuse, and smoking cessation.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Infant health, Maryland, Maternal and child heatlh, Public health, State agencies, Women', s health

Annotation: The Division of Community Health (DCH) is one of nine divisions within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. DCH promotes sustainable community action to improve health and achieve health equity through four core programs: Communities Putting Prevention to Work, Community Transformation Grants, Healthy Communities Program, and Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health. DCH also hosts a searchable database of practice-based tools that support environmental improvements in communities to prevent disease and promote healthy living. Resources include webinars, toolkits, guides, fact sheets, and other materials. The Community Health Media Center is an online repository of advertisements and marketing materials about preventing obesity and chronic conditions. Its purpose is to share best practices, audience research, and communication materials.

Keywords: Community action, Community health, Disease prevention, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Mass media, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Public awareness materials, Sustainability

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service that links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. The Health Information Resource Database includes organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organization provides. NHIC also provides key support for the healthfinder.gov website, a gateway to consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Health education, Databases, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC) is a service of the Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NWHIC provides a gateway to a wide variety of federal and other women's health information resources. Through its toll-free call center and Web site, NWHIC helps individuals in ordering, linking to, and downloading women's health-related material developed by the Department of Health and Human Services, other federal agencies, and private sector sources; some materials are available in Spanish. To reach NWHIC's breastfeeding helpline, dial 800/994-9662. NWHIC also provides a Web site for girls at www.girlshealth.gov and Quick Health Data Online, formerly the National Women's Health Indicators Database (NWHID), a free online tool containing extensive national health data from the year 2000 to the present. The database provides access to a breakdown of statistics on a national, regional, state and county level for various topics. The tool can be accessed at http://www.healthstatus2010.com/owh/index.html.

Keywords: Women', Federal agencies, Health statistics, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Women', Women', s health, s health services, s studies

Annotation: The National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center (NYVPRC) was established as a central source of information on prevention and intervention programs, publications, research, and statistics on violence committed by and against children and adolescents. The NYVPRC is sponsored by the White House Council on Youth Violence and is a collaboration between the Council, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and other federal agencies. The NYVPRC Web site and call center serve as a single point of access to federal information on youth violence prevention and suicide. Anyone can subscribe to the Center's listserv.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Adolescent health, Child health, Crisis intervention, Federal agencies, Information services, Information sources, Publications, Research, Suicide prevention, World Wide Web