Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Association of Suicidology (AAS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to understand and prevent suicide through research, public awareness programs, and education and training for professionals and volunteers. Members include mental health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center volunteers, and survivors of suicide. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. AAS also maintains a listserv and develops public service announcements and pamphlets on suicide prevention, and members work with the media as consultants and participants in stories involving suicide-related issues. Publications include a bi-monthly journal, Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviors; a quarterly newsletter, Newslink; a quarterly newsletter, Surviving Suicide; and conference proceedings.

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Attempted suicide, Crisis intervention, Health education, Information services, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns, Suicide, Training

Annotation: The American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) provides education, resources, and representation for the medical genetics profession. ACMG promotes the development and implementation of methods to diagnose, treat and prevent genetic disease and establishes uniform laboratory standards, quality assurance, and proficiency testing. The college develops clinical practice guidelines and produces laboratory-services directories, databases, position papers, and population screening guidelines.

Keywords: Genetics, Advocacy, Diagnosis, Genetics education, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Publications, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Annotation: The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is a society of physicians, surgeons, scientists, and other individuals within the healthcare community who have a demonstrated a continued interest in the functions and disorders of the digestive system. As a professional association, AGA serves as an advocate for its members and their patients; supports members’ practices and scientific needs; and promote the discovery, dissemination, and application of new knowledge leading to the prevention, treatment and cure of digestive diseases. AGA offers training and career development opportunities, publishes periodicals, and provides member resources such as patient education materials and an online supply store.

Keywords: Professional training, Gastroenterology, Advocacy, Disease prevention, Gastrogenterologists, Gastrointestinal diseases, Health promotion, Information sources, Patient education, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications

Annotation: The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is an association of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. AGS advocates for high quality, comprehensive accessible care and promotes research that expands knowledge of the aging process and the health care problems of older adults. The society provides public education and information and conducts education programs for health professionals. Publications include patient education materials, periodicals including the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, and AGS's Complete Guide to Aging and Health (for lay audiences). Membership is open to anyone with an interest in geriatric health care.

Keywords: Older adults, Advocacy, Aging, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Information sources, Patient education, Policy development, Professional education, Public education, Public policy, Publications , Resources for professionals

Annotation: The American Institute of Dental Public Health (AIDPH) promotes and disseminates evidence-based health promotion practices to advanced education students and practitioners in dental public health. It serves as a platform for creative programming that centers health equity as a cornerstone of oral health education and training.

Keywords: Health equity, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Public health dentistry

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and publishes reports that detail the effects of tobacco, pollutants, and other environmental factors on the air, our communities, and our world. The Web site provides access to downloadable reports; indepth resources related to lung health, lung disease, and air quality at home, at school, outdoors, and at work. Anyone can register to receive ALA's free electronic newsletters.

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

Annotation: The American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC) brings together psychologists, social workers, physicians, attorneys, nurses, law enforcement officers, child protective services workers, administrators, researchers, and allied professionals who have dedicated a substantial portion of their professional lives to alleviating the problems caused by child maltreatment. The mission of APSAC is to ensure that everyone affected by child abuse and neglect receives high quality professional response. APSAC is committed to providing continuing professional education which promotes effective, culturally sensitive, and interdisciplinary approaches to the identification, intervention, treatment and prevention of child abuse and neglect; to educating the public about the complex issues involved in child abuse and neglect; and to ensuring that public policy affecting America's response to child maltreatment is well informed and constructive. Publications include the quarterly APSAC Advisor and the journal Child Maltreatment as well as numerous practice guidelines and other books. The society also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Health education, Public policies

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Annotation: The Anxiety Disorders Association of America (ADAA) promotes research on the prevention and cure of anxiety disorders and works to improve the lives of people with anxiety disorders. The association conducts public awareness campaigns, fosters the exchange of scientific information, advocates health care system improvements, sponsors an annual conference, and coordinates a national self-help group network. Publications include educational materials and a bi-monthly newsletter, the ADAA Reporter.

Keywords: Phobias, Advocacy, Anxiety, Educational materials, Medical research, Mental health, Obsessive-compulsive disorder, Panic disorder, Post traumatic stress disorder, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: The Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM) is an international multidisciplinary organization of professionals commtted to reducing motor vehicle trauma and improving highway safety through education, research, information exchange, and public policy development. AAAM sponsors workshops and publishes a quarterly journal.

Keywords: Education, Engineering, Epidemiology, Injury prevention, Legislation, Motor vehicle safety, Public policies, Research