Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 16 (16 total).

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Developing Families Center (DFC)

Annotation: The Developing Families Center (DFC) is a collaboration between three separate nonprofit organizations: the Family Health & Birth Center, The Healthy Babies Project, and the United Planning Organization Early Childhood Development Center to provide one stop, comprehensive health, child development and social services and supports to childbearing and childrearing families in Wards 5 and 6 in Washington, DC.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Families, Family planning: Child development, Pregnancy

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

U.S. Indian Health Service, Early Childhood Caries Collaborative

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Early Childhood Caries (ECC) Initiative is a multi-faceted program designed to enhance knowledge about ECC prevention and early intervention among all health professionals and the community. The initiative provides the health care team (including oral health professionals, medical providers, community health representatives, Head Start staff, and WIC program staff) with the tools to begin a successful program. The website provides information on best practices, the Basic Screening Survey, a framework for ECC early intervention focusing on "caries stabilization," ECC programs, frequently asked questions, fluoride varnish, and other resources.

Keywords: American Indians, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Interdisciplinary approach, Native Americans, Primary care, Program planning

Links Foundation

Annotation: The Links Foundation is a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation is empowered to design support and conduct educational activities useful to individuals, groups and communities. The Foundation also provides services to youth which are directed toward upgrading both their academic and technical skills, charitable services to senior citizens, and supporting the defense of individual and group human and civil rights. The Links Foundation also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Family planning programs, Minority groups, Substance abuse prevention

Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

National Wraparound Initiative (NWI)

Annotation: The National Wraparound Initiative (NWI) is a collaborative effort that promotes the implementation of high quality wraparound (a team-based, holistic approach to service and support planning for children, youth, and their families) . NWI seeks to accomplish this work through the creation of a learning and sharing community that includes a range of stakeholders (caregivers, educators, mental health professionals, etc.) with a high level of expertise in Wraparound. NWI provides conceptional background materials, implementation and fidelity tools, and handbooks for team participants.

Keywords: Collaboration, Child health programs, Community based services, Family support services, Holistic health, Program planning, Youth services

U.S. Office of Population Affairs (OPA)

Annotation: The Office of Population Affairs (OPA) administers two grant programs, each of which has as its primary goal the prevention of unintended pregnancy. Title X, National Family Planning Program, funds family planning clinics which provide comprehensive reproductive health services to low income and minority populations at high risk for unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases. The Title XX Adolescent Family Life Program funds demonstration grants designed to develop innovative abstinence-based approaches for preventing early sexual activity and adolescent pregnancy and providing health, education and social services to pregnant and parenting adolescents and their families to help them improve their parenting skills and develop self-sufficiency. Publications are available through the Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse.

Keywords: Family planning, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Public Health Service Act, Title X, Publications, Reproductive health

Pew Charitable Trusts, Health Impact Project

Annotation: The Health Impact Project, a collaboration of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The Pew Charitable Trusts, is a national initiative designed to promote the use of health impact assessments (HIAs) as a decision-making tool for policymakers. The website provides information about the HIA process; funding opportunities, grantees, and partners; and news and events. A searchable resource database is also available, containing policy briefs and reports, case studies, presentations and webinars, training materials, toolkits and guides, and literature and data sources.

Keywords: Public policy, Assessment, Health planning, Program improvement

Population Resource Center (PRC)

Annotation: The Population Resource Center (PRC) is a nonprofit organization, founded in 1975, which serves as a resource for policymakers in government, business and the not-for-profit sector on the relationship of demographic trends to socio-economic, political, and environmental issues. The center provides briefings, discussions, presentations, and publications offered by experts in the fields of demographic research, population, international affairs, economic development, reproductive health, family planning, and the environment. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter, PRC Focus, and an annual report.

Keywords: Demography, Economics, Educational programs, Environment, Family planning, Reproductive health

Power to Decide: The Campaign to Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy

Annotation: Power to Decide, previously the National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unpllanned Pregnancy (NCPTUP), founded in 1996 as the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization which seeks to improve the well-being of children, youth, and families through reducing the rate of adolescent pregnancy by one third by the year 2005. In 2008, the mission was expanded to include unplanned pregnancies among 20-somethings. Resources for professionals include fact sheets, statistical compilations, journal articles, conference proceedings, and individual state data on adolescent pregnancy and adolescent pregnancy prevention. Services to consumers include publications addressed to parents, adolescents, and faith communities. Press releases are also provided to the media. The campaign has a resource bureau that fills requests for speakers, consultants, key contacts in each state, publications, and other resources; some materials are available in Spanish. The name was changed in December 2017.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Family planning, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Statistics, Young adults

Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches

Annotation: The Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches offers local health departments guidance for integrating the National Prevention Strategy, Healthy People 2020, The Community Guide, the National Association of County and City Health Officials' Health in All Policies Toolbox, and Community Health Improvement Planning into a uniform approach for achieving health and wellness in the jurisdictions they serve. Topics include evidence-based strategies; cross-sector collaboration; and planning, assessment, and evaluation. The site links to NACCHO's technical assistance site for each program.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning

State Family Planning Administrators (SFPA)

Annotation: State Family Planning Administrators (SFPA), a professional association of administrators of publicly subsidized state-level family planning programs, provides training for its members and for service delivery staff. Past projects have addressed preconceptional health care, maternal substance use, sexually transmitted disease services, and the impact of managed care on family planning. SFPA provides a forum to exchange ideas and strategies which improve services and promote policies which foster quality family planning as an essential component of health care for all. The association also sponsors a national conference for state administrators and their staff.

Keywords: Family planning, Healthy Start, Reproduction, Reproductive health, State programs, Women', s health

Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE)

Annotation: The Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) advises the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services on policy development in health, disability, human services, data, and science, and provides advice and analysis on economic policy. ASPE leads special initiatives, coordinates the Department's evaluation, research and demonstration activities, and manages cross-Department planning activities such as strategic planning, legislative planning, and review of regulations. Integral to this role, ASPE conducts research and evaluation studies, develops policy analyses, and estimates the cost and benefits of policy alternatives under consideration by the Department or Congress.

Keywords: Health promotion, Evaluation, Federal agencies, National programs, Program planning

U.S. Office of Adolescent Health, Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP) grant program is an evidence-based initiative to reduce adolescent pregnancy, HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases, and risky sexual behavior among adolescents by working in concert with closely aligned programs supported by other federal agencies. OAH funds replications of program models from the U.S. Health and Human Services Teen Pregnancy Prevention Evidence Review. OAH also funds TPP research and demonstration programs and provides funds for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to implement and test community-wide approaches to TPP.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Dating, Delayed childbearing, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, Financial support, Health behavior, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Reproductive health, Research, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.