Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annotation: The American Institutes for Research conduct and apply the best behavioral and social science research and evaluation towards improving peoples’ lives, with a special emphasis on the disadvantaged. Within the United States and internationally, AIR produces improvements in education, health, and the workforce; addresses the needs of individuals, organizations, and communities; designs and advances statistical and research methods; helps practitioners and organizations to adopt evidence-based practices; and informs public understanding and policymaking by the best evidence. Topics include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education.

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Information services, Listservs, Model programs, Program development, Public policy, Research

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) is a non-profit association that represents the public health agencies of the U.S. and territories and is engaged in a wide range of legislative, scientific, educational, and programmatic issues and activities on behalf of public health. Its mission is to formulate and influence sound national public health policy and to service state health departments in the development and implementation of programs and policies to promote heath and prevent disease. Program areas include access, infectious disease, preparedness, standards, workforce development, environmental health, public health informatics, state health services, accreditation and performance, and prevention and health promotion. Services to consumers include publications, newsletters (including the electronic Primary Care and Prevention Network News), and reference information. The Web site includes resources on evidence-based public health interventions and links to each state's public health department.

Keywords: Public Health, Access to health care, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Legislation, Policy development, Professional societies, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Public policies, Publications, State programs

Annotation: The Association of State Public Health Nutritionists is a membership organization that provides state and national leadership on food and nutrition issues, programs, and services aimed at improving population health.

Keywords: Public health, Advocacy, Education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Policy development, Standards, State health agencies

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Annotation: California Food Policy Advocates (CFPA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to healthy food for people with low-incomes in California. The website provides information about CFPA policy actions, initiatives and campaigns, areas of focus and research and data, and news and media.

Keywords: California, Children, Food, Low income groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Schools, State programs, Water

Annotation: The Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) is a not-for-profit organization that works to expand educational opportunities for individuals with disabilities through innovative uses oftechnology. CAST focuses on the development of learning models and tools that are usable by a wide range of learners and specifically promotes Universal Design for Learning (UDL), an approach to teaching, learning and curriculum development that draws on current brain research and new technology to respond to individual differences in learning styles. CAST promotes UDL through leadership in the National Center on Accessing the General Curriculum, and through presentations and participation in national education forums. Books, journal articles, videotapes and newsletters that discuss both UDL and technology in learning are available. CAST also develops software and Web sites that support UDL. CAST is the developer of Bobby (acquired by Watchfire in July 2002),a Web-based program that assists designers in making Web sites accessible to disabled people. CAST offers professional development and curriculum planning support in schools and other educational settings.

Keywords: Educational materials, Curriculum development, Disabilities, Educational programs, Special education

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Annotation: The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning is a five-year project designed to strengthen the capacity of child care and Head Start programs to improve the social and emotional outcomes of young children. Funded by Head Start and the Child Care Bureau in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the center will develop training and technical assistance (T/TA) materials that reflect evidence-based practices for promoting children's social and emotional development and preventing challenging behaviors. The center will then work with professional organizations and Head Start and child care T/TA providers to ensure the use of the evidence-based practices in local demonstration sites.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Head Start, Mental health, Nuvee, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Annotation: The Child and Family Policy Center (CFPC) is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization promoting outcome-based policies that improve child well-being. The center focuses on a range of policy areas in Iowa, including child care and early education, health and well-being, and family economic success. CFPC also conducts national evaluation work focused on early-childhood system building and policy development promoting comprehensive, asset-based approaches to supporting children and families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Evaluation, Families, Family economics, Iowa, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development

Annotation: The Committee for Children promotes the safety, well-being, and social development of children through developing bullying, youth violence, and child abuse prevention curricula and videos for educators, families, and communities. The Committee sponsors Steps to Respect, a bullying prevention program geared towards children in the upper elementary grades; Second Step, a curriculum for preschool to junior high students which teaches social skills to reduce impulsive and aggressive behavior in children and increase their level of social competence; and Talking About Touching, a personal safety curriculum. Information is provided on foundations of research and outcome evaluations for individual programs. Consultation and technical assistance on program implementation is also available. Links to related conferences, funding opportunities, and statistics are provided.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Audiovisual materials, Bullying, Child abuse, Curriculum development, Program evaluation, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) offers consultation, accreditation, training and certification services to organizations and systems that share the vision of dignity, opportunity and community for all people, focusing on improving the quality of life for people with disabilities, people with mental illness, and older adults. It is an international not-for-profit organization.

Keywords: Accreditation, Advocacy, Alternative medicine, Children, Developmental disabilities, Disabilities, Hospitalization, Quality Enhancement Certificate Program, Special health care needs

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Annotation: The Developing Families Center (DFC) is a collaboration between three separate nonprofit organizations: the Family Health & Birth Center, The Healthy Babies Project, and the United Planning Organization Early Childhood Development Center to provide one stop, comprehensive health, child development and social services and supports to childbearing and childrearing families in Wards 5 and 6 in Washington, DC.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Families, Family planning: Child development, Pregnancy

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECCS CoIIN) is a five-year initiative that supports 12 states and their communities in an effort to enhance early childhood systems and demonstrate improved outcomes in population-based children’s developmental health and family well-being indicators.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Model programs, Provider networks, Service delivery systems, Young children