Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 17 (17 total).

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

CityMatCH

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Future of Children

Gaining and Growing: Assuring Nutritional Care of Preterm Infants

Insure Kids Now

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center (WCHPC)

Annotation: The Women's and Children's Health Policy Center (WCHPC) was established in 1991 to address current policy issues related to evolving health systems reforms impacting on the health of women, children, and adolescents. The Center's mission is to draw upon the science base of the university setting to inform policies, programs, and the practice of maternal and child health nationally. A significant emphasis is given to conducting and translating research for application in the field. WCHPC provides timely information useful to public and private sector Maternal and Child Health (MCH) professionals, and to elected officials and other policymakers. Specific activities undertaken in support of state and local public health programs involve methods and tools development, program evaluation, and providing continuing education and expert consultation.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Economic factors, Health care delivery, Health policy, Information sources, Perinatal health, Program descriptions, Public policies, Publications, Research, Women's health

Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

Mental Health America

Annotation: Formerly known as the National Mental Health Association, Mental Health America is a voluntary advocacy organization concerned with all aspects of mental health and mental illness. The association provides information on a broad range of mental illnesses and related issues through descriptions of programs and other resources to prevent mental-emotional disability. It also has a grassroots education initiative on children's mental health called Children's Mental Health Matters and promotes Children's Depression Awareness Day. Mental Health America offers information, referrals and publications, including a newsletter and a resource catalog through its resource center. Materials are available in Spanish. The association also provides public education, research, and advocacy services and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Advocacy, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Program descriptions, Publications, Spanish language materials

National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

Annotation: The National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is a national nonprofit organization representing local health departments. NACCHO promotes national policy, develops resources and programs, seeks health equity, and supports effective local public health practice and systems. Program areas include community health, environmental health, public health infrastructure and systems, and public health preparedness. The website contains information additional information about NACCHO communications, advocacy, events, publications, and tools.

Keywords: Counties, Health officials, Health promotion, Information services, Information sources, Leadership training, Listservs, Local initiatives, Professional societies, Program descriptions, Public health, Public private partnerships, Publications, Research, Technical assistance

National Center on Fathers and Families (NCOFF)

Annotation: The National Center on Fathers and Families (NCOFF) is an interdisciplinary policy research center which works to expand the knowledge base on father involvement and family development, strengthen practice, and contribute to the advancement of policy through research, practice, and policy analysis. NCOFF bases its work on seven core areas that affect father involvement: joblessness, father presence, father's expression of care, importance of co-parenting, transition from biological to committed parent, intergenerational learning, and systemic barriers. Research and information on each topic is accessible online through the FatherLit Research Database. Publications include full-text briefs, literature reviews, working papers, and a state policy series. The center appears to have gone dormant in 2001, but materials are still posted to the Web site.

Keywords: Family relations, Father child relations, Fathers, Online databases, Parental rights, Program descriptions, Publications, Research reviews

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)

Annotation: The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). NARIC collects, catalogs, and disseminates the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDRR. These projects focus on a wide range of issues, including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building. The website content can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Disabilities, Directories, Information services, Information sources, Online databases, Program descriptions, Publications, Referrals, Rehabilitation, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Annotation: The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) sets national health goals and objectives and supports programs, services, and education activities that improve the health of all Americans. ODPHP sponsors trainings (e-learning courses), visiting scholars and residencies, and the National Health Information Center and manages the health.gov, HealthyPeople.gov, and healthfinder.gov websites. ODPHP also provides information and resources on topics such as the national dietary guidelines, physical activity guidelines, health literacy and communication, and health care quality and patient safety. Congress ODPHP in 1976 to lead disease prevention and health promotion efforts in the United States. ODPHP is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Keywords: Health promotion, Consumer education, Healthy People 2010, Information sources, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses, World Wide Web

U.S. Office of Population Affairs (OPA)

Annotation: The Office of Population Affairs (OPA) administers two grant programs, each of which has as its primary goal the prevention of unintended pregnancy. Title X, National Family Planning Program, funds family planning clinics which provide comprehensive reproductive health services to low income and minority populations at high risk for unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases. The Title XX Adolescent Family Life Program funds demonstration grants designed to develop innovative abstinence-based approaches for preventing early sexual activity and adolescent pregnancy and providing health, education and social services to pregnant and parenting adolescents and their families to help them improve their parenting skills and develop self-sufficiency. Publications are available through the Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse.

Keywords: Family planning, Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Public Health Service Act, Title X, Publications, Reproductive health

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood

Annotation: Promoting Responsible Fatherhood (formerly known as the Fatherhood Initiative) was developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to support and strengthen the roles of fathers in families. The Web site links to projects related to effective parenting, healthy marriage, economic stability, incarceration, visitation and child support, research, and program developments.

Keywords: Fathers, Federal agencies, Information sources, Online databases, Outreach, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Publications

State Health Departments

ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families

Annotation: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families (formerly the National Center for Clinical Infant Programs) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the chances for healthy physical, cognitive, and social development of infants, toddlers, and their families and to create a context for improved understanding of early intervention and prevention programs. The organization offers training programs and materials; produces publications; provides technical assistance to administrators at state, community, and program levels; and sponsors seminars and conferences. Other activities include research facilitation to advance knowledge concerning infants and toddlers, communication to foster awareness of the importance of the first three years of life, and leadership development programs. Publications include a catalog, a journal, and over 200 other publications. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Infant health, Information sources, Physical development, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Publications, Research, Social development, Spanish language materials

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.