Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (125 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Academy for Eating Disorders (AED)

Annotation: The Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) is a multidisciplinary professional organization that promotes excellence in research, treatment, and prevention of eating disorders, including anorexa nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder. Founded in 1993, AED provides education, training, and a forum for collaboration and dialogue. The academy sponsors conferences, produces a quarterly newsletter, assists in the development of professional guidelines, and identifies and rewards outstanding achievement in the field.

Keywords: Anorexia nervosa, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Health promotion, Preventive health services, Professional societies

Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine

Annotation: The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine (ABM) is an international multi-specialty physician organization, with more than 400 members from more than 25 countries. The Academy has developed a basic physician-training course on breastfeeding, (presented each year at the ABM conference); publishes a newsletter and a peer-reviewed medical journal (Breastfeeding Medicine); and continues to actively develop and share its evidence-based protocols on clinical lactation management. Members of ABM are invited to participate in the international exchange of ideas, teaching methods, and experiences on the ABM Listserv.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation management, Professional societies

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

American Academy of Neurology (AAN)

Annotation: The American Academy of Neurology (AAN), established in 1948, is an international professional association of more than 20,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals dedicated to providing the best possible care for patients with neurological disorders. AAN publishes the Patient Information Guide for Neurology, a comprehensive directory of patient- and family-oriented publications and services for people with neurologic disorders. The guide includes information sources for more than 300 neurologic disorders, and it lists the addresses, E-mail addresses, Internet sites, and telephone numbers of more than 185 organizations that provide patient information services. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, and a journal. AAN also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Neurology, Nervous system diseases, Neurologists, Professional societies

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP )

Annotation: The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is a national professional organization representing the interests of more than 125,000 nurse practitioners of all specialties. Founded in 1985, the organization provides NPs practicing in the U.S. with a unified way to network and continually advocates at the local, state, and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, and personalized healthcare. AANP conducts research, provides training tools, sponsors a national conference, and publishes position statements, a peer-reviewed journal, and patient education materials.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Legislation, Nursing societies

American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)

Annotation: The American Academy of Ophthalmology is a national association of ophthalmologists, Eye M.D.s who provide total eye care, including medical, surgical, and optical care. The organization is dedicated to helping the public maintain healthy eyes and good vision. It develops and disseminates a wide range of print and audiovisual instructional materials to assist ophthalmologists and other ophthalmic providers in the diagnosis and treatment of eye disease. The Academy also offers practice management programs, patient information materials, and a variety of publications including Ophthalmology, a monthly scientific journal, and EyeNet, a monthly clinical publication. A catalog is available. Some materials are available in other languages. The academy foundation also sponsors an annual meeting and consumer web site at www.eyesmart.org

Keywords: Eye care, Ophthalmologists, Professional societies, Vision disorders

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS)

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Council on School Health

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP) Council on School Health is responsible for policy statements from inception to education, implementation, advocacy, and evaluation. The council is a byproduct of the merger of the AAP Section and the Committee on School Health. The council's products include policy statements on soft drinks in schools and camp health. The council's Web site provides news and events, answers to frequently asked questions, policies, and resources for health professionals working with schools or caring for school-aged children in their practices, school personnel, and parents and other caregivers. Selected resources include Health, Mental Health, and Safety Guidelines; School Health Leadership Training Kit; Emergency Guidelines for Schools; HIPAA form for communicating with schools; pediatric school health contacts; school asthma materials; and the National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement.

Keywords: Professional societies, School health, Policy development, School age children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is a national medical society representing physicians who are specialists in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation. The academy sponsors educational conferences and programs; publishes Archives (a scholarly journal) and Physiatrist (a newsletter); and promotes legislative advocacy. An online discussion forum is open to members.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Professional societies

American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) works to provide quality, cost-effective,and accessible health care by supporting the professional and personal development of physician assistants (PAs). The website provides information on the PA profession, careers, and practice; continuing medical education; research activities; news and publications; and events. AAPA publishes the Journal of the American Academy of Physician's Assistants and sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Continuing education, Health occupations, Physician assistants, Professional societies

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Annotation: The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson, and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as newsletters, books, and reports. AAAS also spearheads programs in four primary areas: science and policy; international activities; education and human resources; and literacy in science, mathematics, and technology.

Keywords: Science, Professional societies, Scientists

American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE)

Annotation: The American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists (AACE) provides referrals, reference information, inquiry responses, and searchable databases. The association also sponsors conferences and training seminars and produces a newsletter and a journal. AACE's listserv is open to practicing endocrinologists.

Keywords: Endocrinologists, Endocrinology, Professional societies, Resources for professionals

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, founded in 1969, works toward a healthcare system driven by patient needs where critical care nurses make their optimal contributions. Services to consumers include referrals and publications (a catalog, newsletter and journal). The organization also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Critical care, Nurses, Professional societies

American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS)

Annotation: The American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) promotes, protects, and advances oral and maxillofacial surgery to assure excellence for surgeons and their clients. AAOMS supports its' members ability to practice their specialty through education, research, and advocacy. Major activities include a monthly publication, annual meeting, the Dental Implant Conference, hands-on skills courses, clinical education and practice management programs, programs to support professional issues, and government relations and communications programs. The website contains a tool for finding a surgeon and information about conditions and treatments such as treating and preventing facial injury and nutrition.

Keywords: Oral health, Professional societies, Surgeons

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.