Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: ASTM International is a nonprofit organization founded in 1898 that provides a forum for industry, consumers, government representatives, and academia to develop standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM's consumer products committee develops standards for playground equipment, infant furniture, bunk beds, toys, high chairs, helmets, toy chests, toxicity testing, and safety characteristics for a variety of consumer products. The society publishes a catalog, newsletter and monthly magazine, Standardization News. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The society sponsors workshops and training programs.

Keywords: Consumers, Injury prevention, Product safety

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, National organization, Residential injuries

Annotation: The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline or its website. Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The website also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System( a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the website is designed for children.

Keywords: Safety, Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

Annotation: The International Consumer Product Health and Safety Organization, founded in 1993, is dedicated to promoting the safety of consumer products. The organization has six active technical committees: Laws and Regulations; Consumer Information and Education; Recall Effectiveness; Emerging Hazards and Trends; Professional Education and Training; and Health and Safety. It conducts an annual symposium, and produces a membership directory and newsletter.

Keywords: Consumer education, Injury prevention, Product safety

Annotation: Kids In Danger (KID) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting children by improving children's product safety. Services include consumer awareness alerts, fact sheets, brochures, recall information, advocacy, and workshops.

Keywords: Child health, Infant equipment, Product safety

Annotation: Public Citizen, a nonprofit organization founded in 1971, represents consumer interests through lobbying, litigation, research and publications. The organization works for consumer rights in the marketplace, safe and secure health care, clean energy sources and for corporate and government responsibility. Among its five divisions is the Health Research Group which fights for safe foods, drugs and medical devices, for consumer control over personal health decisions, and for universal access to quality health care. Publications include books, special reports, expert testimony on current issues in health, the law, and energy policy as well as the bimonthly Public Citizen magazine, the monthly Health Letter, and Worst Pills Best Pills News, a monthly newsletter on prescription drugs.

Keywords: Consumer rights, Health services, Injury prevention, Product safety

Annotation: Mandated by law as part of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act, SaferProducts. gov provides an online database for consumers to submit reports of injury or risk from products or substances, to review safety reports alongside manufacturers’ comments about those reports, and to search for safety information. A video provides step-by-step instructions for filing reports. The Consumer Product Safety Commission reviews all reports, transmits qualifying reports to the manufacturer, and allows 10 days for response and comments. At that time (if all requirements are met), the report and the manufacturer's comments are posted on the site. The database is publicly available and searchable by product and/or by date.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Injuries, Product safety

Annotation: The Sleep Products Safety Council (SPSC) is a nonprofit service organization established in 1986, whose mission is to provide consumer safety information, support research and promote activities aimed at reducing hazards associated with sleep products. The council is primarily funded through sales of safety hangtags that warn consumers of the potential fire and bedroom safety hazards that may result from improper use of sleep products. The SPSC Web site includes a children's page with interactive games and quizzes, which targets the "at risk" population responsible for the majority of bedroom fires: children under age 14. It also contains information for teachers, parents, and caregivers. In recent years, the council has also supported open-flame mattress research, in cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, that will be utilized to develop a tougher standard for residential mattresses. Some materials are available in French or Spanish.

Keywords: Fires, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Product safety, Sleep products, Spanish language materials