Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (61 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

American Association of Suicidology (AAS)

Annotation: The American Association of Suicidology (AAS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to understand and prevent suicide through research, public awareness programs, and education and training for professionals and volunteers. Members include mental health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center volunteers, and survivors of suicide. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. AAS also maintains a listserv and develops public service announcements and pamphlets on suicide prevention, and members work with the media as consultants and participants in stories involving suicide-related issues. Publications include a bi-monthly journal, Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviors; a quarterly newsletter, Newslink; a quarterly newsletter, Surviving Suicide; and conference proceedings.

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Attempted suicide, Crisis intervention, Health education, Information services, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns, Suicide, Training

American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD)

Annotation: The American Association on Health and Disability (AAHD) advances health promotion and wellness initiatives for children and adults with disabilities. AAHD accomplishes its mission through advocacy, education, public awareness, and research efforts at the federal, state, and community levels. The website contains the Health Promotion and Wellness Resource Center for People with Disabilities, which provides abstracts, best practices, data, links, fact sheets, presentations, and state resources on primary conditions, secondary conditions, and other health and disability-related topics. Additional content includes the Disability and Health Journal, news, initiatives, a public policy center, and membership and scholarship information.

Keywords: Disabilities, Access to health care, Advocacy, Education, Information dissemination, Intervention, Prevention services, Research

American Medical Association, Adolescent Health Program (AMA)

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA) Program on Child and Adolescent Health works to improve the health status of youth. Activities include the AMA National Coalition on Adolescent Health, adolescent health online Web site, Child Health Initiative, Healthy People 2010 activities, and a youth violence project. Services to consumers include reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Prevention services, Professional societies

American Trauma Society (ATS)

Annotation: The American Trauma Society (ATS), a membership organization for health care trauma personnel, works to save lives through improved trauma care and injury prevention. ATS provides critical information on trauma to its members, to policy makers, and to the public. It supports the needs of families. It is also a strong supporter of injury prevention, creating and producing programs and providing these programs to its members. ATS programs cover the life-time of a person beginning with safety for children (the “Traumaroo Program”), teen behavior (alcohol, driving, etc.), adult and senior years (falls and driving). The society provides brochures and other print materials, videos, and posters to assist members in their community injury prevention programs.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Safety education, Therapeutics, Trauma

Burn Foundation

Annotation: The Burn Foundation promotes optimal burn care and works to prevent burn injury. It provides financial and program support to four regional burn treatment centers in southeastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware. The foundation is a depository of national burn data source information and also maintains an extensive database on the injury circumstances and hospital treatment costs to its four member burn centers. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Burns, Financial support, Fires, Information services, Residential injuries, Scalds

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV)

Annotation: The Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV) was founded in 1992 with a grant from the Carnegie Corporation of New York to provide informed assistance to groups committed to understanding and preventing violence, particularly adolescent violence. CSPV works from a multidisciplinary platform on the subject of violence and facilitates the building of bridges between the research community and the practitioner and policy community. CSPV has a threefold mission. First, the Information House, the nucleus of the Center, serves to collect, evaluate, store, and disseminate violence-related information. Second, CPSV offers technical assistance for the evaluation and development of violence prevention programs. Third, CPSV maintains a basic research component through data analysis and other projects on the causes of violence and the effectiveness of prevention and intervention programs. The center sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a variety of materials including newsletters, papers and fact sheets.

Keywords: Information services, Injury prevention, Research, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Children's Hospital Los Angeles, Center for Strengthening Youth Prevention Paradigms

Annotation: The Center for Strengthening Youth Prevention Paradigms provides capacity building assistance (CBA) services to mobilize communities in the western region of the United States around HIV prevention for youth and helps community-based organizations and coalitions to increase community access to and utilization of HIV prevention services young gay men and transgender youth, with an emphasis on youth of color. Services include individualized consultation, in-person and web-based training, community mobilization toolkits, community mapping, as well as newsletters and resource lists. The Center is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and housed in the Division of Adolescent Medicine at Children's Hospital Los Angeles.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescents, HIV, Homosexuality, Prevention services, Young men

Civil Justice Foundation (CJF)

Annotation: The Civil Justice Foundation works to prevent personal injury by supporting injured citizens' organizations as well as injury prevention research efforts. Among past grant recipients are the Association of Birth Defect Children, the Educational Fund to End Handgun Violence, Agent Orange Community Support, and the Children's Advocacy Institute. Grant decisions are made by a 25-person board of consumer activists and trial lawyers. The foundation publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Funding, Health programs, Injury prevention, Services

Columbus Children's Hospital, Center for Injury Research and Policy

Annotation: Based on scientific principles, the Children's Center for Injury Research and Policy conducts research activities to address prevention, acute care, rehabilitation and biomechanics related to injury in children and to increase energy and capacity related to pediatric injury research and prevention which will have the maximum positive impact on the health and wellbeing of children, their families and communities. Goals include increasing the scientific understanding of the epidemiology, prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and biomechanics of injuries through high quality, cutting-edge, translational research; providing leadership and technical assistance for injury research and prevention from local to international levels; educating medical and public health professionals and trainees about injury research, and effective prevention strategies for injury prevention; educating the public and key public policy decision-makers regarding the importance of injury research and prevention; and providing leadership in the development, implementation, and scientific evaluation of public policy addressing the prevention of injuries.

Keywords: Child health, Emergency medical services for children, Injury prevention, Ohio

Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE)

Annotation: The Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE) builds on principles and practices of health promotion and education to strengthen public health capacity in policy and systems change to improve the health of all and achieve health equity. Resources include news, a calendar of events, community market analyses, online groups, and links to information on careers, health equity, health policy and advocacy, health policy and environmental change, health-related organizations, school employee wellness, school health, state worksite wellness programs, and training and professional development. DHPE is an affiliate of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Professional societies, Public health programs, Public health services

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC)

Annotation: The Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, provides technical assistance to Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) projects. Areas of assistance include communication strategies, cooperation with advisory boards and task forces, conversion of grant proposal objectives into action plans, identification of potential collaborators among relevant national organizations, and networking to promote awareness and advocacy of EMSC issues, injury prevention strategies, programs for children with special health care needs, public awareness strategies, and issues associated with various health insurance models. The center monitors and researches relevant federal and state legislation and disseminates information on its status through EMS Systems, EMS provider education, media outreach, its website and quarterly newsletter, EMS News. The organization also sponsors conferences and offers some materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Data, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Legislation, National MCH resource center, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, Resources for professionals, Rural health, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (FRIENDS CBCAP)

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

International Child Resource Institute (ICRI)

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Annotation: The Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University conducts international research, programs in education, and public policy initiatives in an ongoing effort to keep global populations safe from injury and illness. The school's Hopkins Population Center conducts interdisciplinary research on populations within the U.S. and abroad; brings together biodefense and public health preparedness research and training initiaitves; and monitors and predicts illness, including the progression of HIV to AIDS. The school's Institute for Vaccine Safety provides an independent assessment of vaccines and vaccine safety to help guide decision makers and educate physicians, the public, and the media about key issues surrounding the safety of vaccines. Demographic data as well as news items concerning the health and safety of America's populations (e.g., safety-seat legislation, weather emergency preparedness, and data-monitoring developments ) are posted on the Web site.

Keywords: , Immunization, AIDS, Health promotion, Injury prevention, International health, Preventive health services, Research

Maternity Care Coalition

Annotation: The Maternity Care Coalition was founded in 1980 by professionals and lay people concerned with the rate of infant mortality and morbidity in Philadelphia. MCC advocated for increased services for women and infants to health and welfare agencies and legislative bodies. As the Pennsylvania affiliate of Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies, MCC continues to advocate for families at local, state, and national levels.

Keywords: Advocacy, Infant health, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.