Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (88 total).

Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC)

Annotation: The Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC) serves as a statewide clearinghouse and network for adolescent pregnancy prevention resources and helps local communities to develop prevention councils. The coalition maintains a library and resource center of more than 1,000 pamphlets, brochures, films, videotapes, curricula, national and state reports, and other materials on adolescent pregnancy issues. Services to consumers also include referrals. APPCNC sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a catalog and newsletter. It also provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Coalition, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Referals, Self help clearinghouses

Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM)

Annotation: The Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health (AIM) is a national alliance to promote consistent and safe maternity care to reduce maternal mortality by 1,000 and severe maternal morbidity by 100,000 instances over the course of four years, 2014 – 2018 (and continuing). Over this four-year period, AIM will collaborate with eight qualified states and a large number of hospitals and hospital systems across the U.S. participating on a voluntary basis to initiate or improve a culture of maternal safety through continuous quality improvement cycles. The purpose of the AIM program is to equip, empower and embolden every state, perinatal quality collaborative, hospital network/system, birth facility and maternity care provider in the U.S to significantly reduce severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality through proven implementation of consistent maternity care practices that are outlined in maternal safety bundles (action systems). The AIM Program is designed to complement current maternal safety initiatives in progress, as well as drive continuous quality improvement on a state and birth facility level. It is funded through the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Quality assurance

American Council on Alcoholism (ACA)

Annotation: The American Council on Alcoholism (ACA) is a national nonprofit health organization dedicated to educating the public about the effects of alcohol, alcoholism, and alcohol abuse, and the need for prompt effective, readily-available, and affordable alcoholism treatment.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention programs, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Public Health Association, Center for School, Health and Education

Annotation: The American Public Health Association's Center for School, Health and Education advances school-based health care as a comprehensive strategy for preventing school dropout and improving graduation rates for students in kindergarten through grade 12. Through partnerships, policies and advocacy, the center links the education and public health communities to ensure that all students -- particularly those facing social inequities -- are supported to graduate. The center promotes school-based health centers as uniquely positioned to create a learning-friendly climate school-wide, increase access to physical and mental health care, and promote lifelong healthy behaviors for children and teens.

Keywords: Graduation, Health care delivery, Prevention programs, Public health, School based clinics, School dropouts

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

American SIDS Institute (ASI)

Annotation: The American SIDS Institute (ASI) is a national nonprofit health care organization dedicated to the prevention of sudden infant death and the promotion of infant health. ASI's mission is to: conduct research related to the cause of sudden infant death and its prevention; provide clinical services to assist pediatricians in managing high risk infants; provide education about prevention methods aimed at the public and medical community; and offer family support services including crises phone counseling, grief literature, and referrals.

Keywords: Consumer education, Family support, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Professional education, Research, SIDS

Association of Junior Leagues International (AJLI)

Annotation: The Association of Junior Leagues International (AJLI) is an educational and charitable organization of women committed to promoting voluntarism, developing the potential of women, and improving communities through the effective action and leadership of trained volunteers. There are Junior Leagues in 293 in the United States, Canada, Mexico, and the United Kingdom, with more than 170,000 members. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. The Web site features descriptions of selected community initiatives of junior leagues in specific communities.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Voluntary organizations, Volunteers, Women

Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS)

Annotation: The Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) partners with states across the country to promote the delivery of quality heatlh-care services and innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. CHCS facilitates problem-solving exchanges and peer learning among a diverse range of health care stakeholders to improve access, integrate fragmented services, reduce avoidable expenditures, and link payment with quality. CHCS works directly with state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer organizations to design and implement cost-effective strategies that improve care for people with complex and high-cost needs. The Center's technical assistance and training activities are organized under four broad priority areas: 1) Health care coverage and access; 2) Integrating care for people with complex needs; 3) quality, delivery systems, and payment reform; and 4) leadership and capacity building. CHCS maintains an online library of publications, technical tools, and other resources on accelerating health care delivery innovations.

Keywords: Health care financing, Electronic publications, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Prevention programs, State Children's Health Insurance program

Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice (CIPPP)

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning

Annotation: The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning is a five-year project designed to strengthen the capacity of child care and Head Start programs to improve the social and emotional outcomes of young children. Funded by Head Start and the Child Care Bureau in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the center will develop training and technical assistance (T/TA) materials that reflect evidence-based practices for promoting children's social and emotional development and preventing challenging behaviors. The center will then work with professional organizations and Head Start and child care T/TA providers to ensure the use of the evidence-based practices in local demonstration sites.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Head Start, Mental health, Nuvee, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Technical assistance, Training

Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Charlie's Kids Foundation

Annotation: Charlie's Kids Foundation was established to increase safe sleep awareness and education with the ultimate goal of reducing the SIDS mortality rate. The foundation provides a children's board book (story book) with a sticker listing the do's and don'ts of safe sleep.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep

Children's Trust Fund

Civil Justice Foundation (CJF)

Annotation: The Civil Justice Foundation works to prevent personal injury by supporting injured citizens' organizations as well as injury prevention research efforts. Among past grant recipients are the Association of Birth Defect Children, the Educational Fund to End Handgun Violence, Agent Orange Community Support, and the Children's Advocacy Institute. Grant decisions are made by a 25-person board of consumer activists and trial lawyers. The foundation publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Funding, Health programs, Injury prevention, Services

Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO)

Annotation: The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonprofit organization of the public officials who head the departments of elementary and secondary education in states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five extra-state jurisdictions including Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Activities of the Council's School Health Project include providing information about HIV education, school-based pregnancy prevention, successful collaboration, and other coordinated school health programs. Publications include newsletters and reports (many can be downloaded free of charge). The Directory of Coordinated School Health Program Staff (jointly published by CCSSO, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, and and the Society of State Directors of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation) is a state-by-state listing of staff in state education and health agencies whose responsibilities are related to health education, physical education, counseling and psychological services, parent/community involvement, and other aspects of school health. Copies of the directory may be ordered through the Publications section of tthe CCSSO Web site

Keywords: School health, Adolescents, Children, HIV, Health education, Listservs, Prevention programs, School personnel

Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database

Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE)

Annotation: The Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE) builds on principles and practices of health promotion and education to strengthen public health capacity in policy and systems change to improve the health of all and achieve health equity. Resources include news, a calendar of events, community market analyses, online groups, and links to information on careers, health equity, health policy and advocacy, health policy and environmental change, health-related organizations, school employee wellness, school health, state worksite wellness programs, and training and professional development. DHPE is an affiliate of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Professional societies, Public health programs, Public health services

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.