Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: Birthing the Future is a nonprofit organization that gathers, synthesizes, and disseminates wisdom about birthing and the care of mothers and babies from pre-conception to the first birthday. Birthing the Future blends ancient feminine wisdom with modern scientific and clinical knowledge about the mother and baby within the context of their family, community, and society. The organization conducts workshops, hosts symposiums, develops multi-media materials, and maintains an online bookstore. The Web site provides links to related organizations and resources.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Family centered care, Infant care, Labor, Midwifery, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Annotation: First 5 LA is a child-advocacy organization created by California voters to invest tobacco tax revenues in programs for improving the lives of children in Los Angeles County, from prenatal through age 5. The vision is to create a future throughout Los Angeles' communities where all young children are born healthy and raised in a loving and nurturing environment so that they grow up healthy, are eager to learn, and reach their full potential. Programs include Best Start LA, community-developed initiatives; early developmental screening and intervention; family literacy; a parent hotline; Healthy Births; Healthy Kids; oral health and nutrition; partnerships for families; school readiness, universal preschool, and workforce development.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Child health, Education, Families, Infant health, Infants, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Safety, Young children

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies is a non-profit organization working to promote and protect the health of pregnant women, infants and young children up to age five through research, education and service. The center researches maternal and child health issues to determine effective programs and strategies for health promotion and performs data collection and analysis on the status and quality of maternal and child health care services. Services to professionals include consultation and technical assistance in developing, implementing, and evaluating maternal and child health programs, policies, and delivery systems. Leadership development, education, and training are also available. Program and projects (some with public and/or private partners) are aimed at improving health care for mothers and children and support efforts such as home visiting, birthing centers, home birth assistant programs, community medical homes, Head Start and foster care. The National Friendly Access Project, focused on improving the quality of service in delivering perinatal health care to vulnerable populations, specifically addresses the Healthy People 2010 objectives in the areas of access to quality preventive, primary and prenatal care.

Keywords: Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Child health, Evaluation, Health care utilization, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Technical assistance, Training, Young children

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth

Keywords: Prenatal care, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Federal agencies, Information sources, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Spanish language materials, Weight management

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: The National Perinatal Association (NPA) is a multidisciplinary membership organization concerned with perinatal health issues from preconception through infancy, within a multicultural perspective. The association works to foster optimal perinatal health and quality health care by promoting education, supporting research, influencing national priorities, and encouraging collaboration among all concerned constituencies, including health care providers and consumers. NPA sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter. It provides a map of state perinatal associations and a list of these associations' conferences. It also has a database of support groups across the United States.

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Patient education, Perinatal care, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The Pregnancy Foresight Project is a March of Dimes sponsored project administered by Swedish Medical Center aimed at assessing the current practice and improving the nature and scope of Washington State primary care providers (PCPs) education in four key areas: (1) discussion of family history of birth defects/genetic disorders; (2) prenatal testing for birth defects/genetic disorders;  (3) benefits of folic acid in preventing birth defects; and  (4) effects of alcohol and smoking on babies. The project's Web site provides professional resources and patient education materials in numerous languages, including Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese, Croatian, Farsi / Persian, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer / Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Non English language materials, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Infant mortality and morbidity are alarming concerns in the Saginaw community, particularly in high-risk women and minorities within the city of Saginaw. The purpose of this project is to develop a program to reduce specific identified risk and high-risk behaviors; improve pregnancy outcome and infant mortality in the community; and provide needed ancillary services that emphasize comprehensive, culturally competent care. The program will promote a continuum of family health that includes preconception, prenatal, postpartum, and interpartum periods involving mothers, infants, and fathers. The program will enhance the existing perinatal care system and develop creative new programs and services to fill gaps in care.

Keywords: Adolescent Health Programs, African American/ Black, Cultural Sensitivity, Data Collection, Domestic Violence, Health Education, Infant Mortality, Infant Morbidity, Prenatal Care, Provider Training, Risk Assessment, Smoking During Pregnancy.

Annotation: Originating from the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry's Department of Pediatric Dentistry and School of Medicine's Department of OBGYN, the Prenatal Oral Health Program educates and provides resources for medical and dental health care providers on the principles of prenatal oral health.

Keywords: Dental education, Dental schools, North Carolina, Oral health, Prenatal care, State programs

Keywords: Pregnancy, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Guidelines, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials