Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (26 total).

Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO)

Annotation: The mission of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is to promote excellence in women's health care education and provide an exchange of information on programs of study, teaching methods and research activities among gynecologic and obstetric programs. The APGO Women's Healthcare Education Office (WHEO) is invloved in activities to strengthen undergraduate women's health education for all medical students, including a women's health care competencies project. APGO provides reference information to consumers, publishes a catalog of available publications, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Birthing the Future

Annotation: Birthing the Future is a nonprofit organization that gathers, synthesizes, and disseminates wisdom about birthing and the care of mothers and babies from pre-conception to the first birthday. Birthing the Future blends ancient feminine wisdom with modern scientific and clinical knowledge about the mother and baby within the context of their family, community, and society. The organization conducts workshops, hosts symposiums, develops multi-media materials, and maintains an online bookstore. The Web site provides links to related organizations and resources.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Family centered care, Infant care, Labor, Midwifery, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS)

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

First 5 LA

Annotation: First 5 LA is a child-advocacy organization created by California voters to invest tobacco tax revenues in programs for improving the lives of children in Los Angeles County, from prenatal through age 5. The vision is to create a future throughout Los Angeles' communities where all young children are born healthy and raised in a loving and nurturing environment so that they grow up healthy, are eager to learn, and reach their full potential. Programs include Best Start LA, community-developed initiatives; early developmental screening and intervention; family literacy; a parent hotline; Healthy Births; Healthy Kids; oral health and nutrition; partnerships for families; school readiness, universal preschool, and workforce development.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Child health, Education, Families, Infant health, Infants, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Safety, Young children

From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth (FTFT BTFT)

Annotation: From the First Tooth (FTFT) began as a pilot program of the Sadie and Harry Davis Foundation in 2008 and grew to a statewide effort in 2010 through the leadership of MaineHealth in partnership with EMHS and MaineGeneral. An Advisory Committee and National Advisors continue to guide the initiative. In 2015, the pediatric oral health initiative expanded to include a focus on pregnant and postnatal women. FTFT is now a six state collaborative located in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Each state offers slightly different assistance to medical practices but all are working together with health professionals to improve children’s oral health in the region. Before the First Tooth provides information about prenatal dental care.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Geographic regions, New England, Pediatric care, Prenatal care, State initiatives, Training

Gladney Center for Adoption

Annotation: Established in 1887, the Gladney Center for Adoption is a comprehensive maternity home and licenced placement agency that provides services to people involved in the adoption process, including adoptive parents, birth mothers and fathers, and adopted persions. Services include residential facilities, medical care, education, adoption, and post adoption services. Gladney provides adoption of infants, African-American and biracial children, children with special needs, and children in foster care, and international adoptions. The center has 10 regional offices to facilitate client access and numerous parent support groups, called auxiliaries, that conduct outreach and public information efforts. The center also maintains an adoption education Web site that focuses on the adoption choice for pregnant adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adopted children, Adoption, Adoptive parents, Outreach, Prenatal care

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies

Annotation: The Lawton and Rhea Chiles Center for Healthy Mothers and Babies is a non-profit organization working to promote and protect the health of pregnant women, infants and young children up to age five through research, education and service. The center researches maternal and child health issues to determine effective programs and strategies for health promotion and performs data collection and analysis on the status and quality of maternal and child health care services. Services to professionals include consultation and technical assistance in developing, implementing, and evaluating maternal and child health programs, policies, and delivery systems. Leadership development, education, and training are also available. Program and projects (some with public and/or private partners) are aimed at improving health care for mothers and children and support efforts such as home visiting, birthing centers, home birth assistant programs, community medical homes, Head Start and foster care. The National Friendly Access Project, focused on improving the quality of service in delivering perinatal health care to vulnerable populations, specifically addresses the Healthy People 2010 objectives in the areas of access to quality preventive, primary and prenatal care.

Keywords: Access to health care, Access to prenatal care, Child health, Evaluation, Health care utilization, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Pregnant women, Technical assistance, Training, Young children

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

March of Dimes, New Hampshire Chapter

Midwives' Alliance of North America (MANA)

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)

Annotation: The National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD) is a federal agency within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Activities include surveillance, research, technical assistance to states, and provision of information and education to the public. Topics include: causes of birth defects (including causes, having a healthy pregnancy, folic acid, and fetal alcohol syndrome); developmental disabilities (austism spectrum disorders, cerebal palsy, vision impairment, hearing loss, mental retardation), helping children develop and reach their full potential (child development, early hearing detection and intervention, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Duchenne Becker Muscular Dystrophy), and promoting health and well-being among people of all ages with disabilities (disability and health, hereditary blood disorders, and woment with disability). NCBDDD publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some publications and the Web site are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Human development, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Teratology

National Consumer Protection Week

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection Programs

Annotation: Childbirth Connection was founded in 1918 as the Maternity Center Association; its mission is to improve the quality, value, and outcomes of maternity care through consumer engagement and health system transformation. The program promotes safe, effective, and satisfying evidence-based maternity care and serves as a voice for childbearing families. Childbirth Connection is a core program of the National Partnership for Women and Families.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Family-centered maternity services, Prenatal care

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.