Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Annotation: The Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS) offers Certificates of Life (for a fee) to parents who have experienced miscarriage, stillbirth, or early infant death. The certificate serves as a substitute for a legal birth certificate and attests to the fact that the baby was once alive.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Grief Recovery Institute provides services to consumers that include referrals and publications. GRIEF publishes a catalog, sponsors training seminars and workshops, and provides a list service which is available to both professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Perinatal bereavement, Grief, Listservs, Pregnancy loss

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

Annotation: The Missing GRACE Foundation provides resources and support for families that have experienced a pregnancy loss, infant loss, infertility, or challenging adoption. The foundation provides links to support groups, electronic publications, and organizations, as well as an online store offering memorial and educational products. Missing GRACE also advocates for comprehensive, patient-focused prenatal care for all women. Five core areas encompass the heart of the organization's mission: Grieve, Restore, Arise, Commemorate and Educate (GRACE).

Keywords: Parent support services, Grief, Infant death , Infertility, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Annotation: The Pregnancy Loss and Infant Death Alliance (PLIDA) is a nationwide, collective community of parents and health care professionals. The alliance works together to ensure that all families experiencing the death of a baby during pregnancy, birth, or infancy will receive comprehensive and compassionate care from diagnosis through the reproductive years. Additionally, PLIDA focuses on increasing awareness about the emotional aspects of this bereavement and advocating for the provision of supportive care to parents. Support, education, and networking opportunities to the professionals who work with bereaved families is also provided. PLIDA also sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Bereavement, Family support services, Infant death, Infant mortality, SIDS

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support serves those whose lives are touched by the death of an infant through early pregnancy loss, stillbirth, or in the first few months of life. SHARE contributes information packets, correspondence, and support free of charge to bereaved parents. Additional services include training and conferences, support resources such as a bimonthly newsletter, a chat room, online catalog, and message boards. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Ectopic pregnancy, Fetal death, Grief, Information services, Molar pregnancy, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups