Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

Congenital Heart Public Health Consortium (CHPHC)

Annotation: The Congenital Heart Public Health Consortium (CHPHC) is a group of organizations uniting resources and efforts in public health activities to prevent the occurrence of congenital heart disease (CHD) and to enhance and prolong the lives of those with CHD through surveillance, population-based research, education, health promotion, advocacy, and policy development. The website provides information about the consortium's history, founding organizations, logic model, structure, committees, membership, and annual meeting. Additional contents include news, a calendar of events, a fact sheet, and information on CHD prevention, screening, and research. Information is available for clients, families, and health professionals.

Keywords: Advocacy, Congenital heart defects, Consortia, Health promotion, Policy development, Population surveillance, Prevention, Public health, Research, Screening

Disability and Health Data System (DHDS)

Annotation: The Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is a state-level disability surveillance tool designed to assist partners, researchers, advocates, and the general public in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. The DHDS features three types of data: disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures. The data are presented in a variety of formats including interactive maps and data tables. The display options provide users with the ability to identify location-specific data for a single time period, along with multiple time period trends. Users can view the data by states, territories, divisions, and regions. The tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Division of Human Development and Disability at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Assessment, Data sources, Disabilities, Health care costs, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Stress

Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW)

Annotation: The Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW) is the data hub for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Community Health Data Initiative, providing a single source for national, state, and community health indicators. The HIW meets the needs of multiple population health initiatives and facilitates harmonization of indicators across initiatives. Content and functionalities include the ability to map, graph, and trend indicators; links from indicators to evidence-based interventions; web services and peer-to-peer business application capability; and supporting descriptive indicator definitions, methods, data sources, and other descriptive data needed to facilitate appropriate use of indicators.

Keywords: Community health, Data, Federal initiatives, Population surveillance

Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

MCH Epi Group

Annotation: The MCH EPI Group promotes the use of data to guide public health practice and improve maternal and child health. The group supports the use of effective public health surveillance and epidemiologic practice through training, capacity development, and peer consultation. Partners include the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, the National Organization of Urban MCH Leaders (CityMatCH), and the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs.

Keywords: Data, Epidemiology, MCH training, Population surveillance

National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN)

Annotation: The National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN) is a network of individuals working at the national, state, and local level in birth defects surveillance, research, and prevention. It serves as a forum for exchanging ideas about the prevention of birth defects, developing uniform methods of birth defect surveillance and research, and providing technical support for state and local programs. It was incorporated as a 501c3 non-profit organization in 2000, and aims to improve the quality of birth defect surveillance data; promote scientific collaboration for the prevention of birth defects; provide technical assistance for the development of uniform methods of data collection; facilitate the communication and dissemination of information related to birth defects; collect, analyze and disseminate state and population-based birth defect surveillance data; and encourage the use of birth defect data for decisions regarding health services planning (secondary disabilities prevention and services). The network holds annual meetings, and publishes an annual report on birth defects surveillance and prevention, a newsletter, and other materials.

Keywords: , Population surveillance, Congenital abnormalities, Collaboration, Data, Data collection, Genetic disorders, Information dissemination, Prevention programs, Research, Research methodology, Technical assistance

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.