Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Annotation: The Brookings Institution's Metropolitan Policy Program (formerly the Center on Urban and Metropolitan Policy) was launched in 1996 to provide research and policy analysis on the shifting realities of cities and metropolitan areas. The program aims to redefine the challenges facing metropolitan America, and to promote innovative solutions to help communities grow in more inclusive, competitive, and sustainable ways. The Program provides information and presents findings to decisionmakers. A variety of reports, articles, and presentations are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Urban, Community programs, Electronic publications, Policy analysis, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban health, Urban population

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Annotation: The Center for Rural Pennsylvania is a bipartisan, bicameral legislative agency that serves as a resource for rural policy within the Pennsylvania General Assembly. The center works with executive agencies and federal, regional and community organizations to maximize resources and strategies that can better serve the needs of Pennsylvania's 2.8 million rural residents. The center promotes and sustains the vitality of Pennsylvania's rural and small communities by: awarding grants for applied research and model projects; maintaining and disseminating information on rural trends and conditions; publishing research and project results; and sponsoring local, state and national forums on rural issues.

Keywords: Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Rural population, State agencies

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

Annotation: The Congenital Heart Public Health Consortium (CHPHC) is a group of organizations uniting resources and efforts in public health activities to prevent the occurrence of congenital heart disease (CHD) and to enhance and prolong the lives of those with CHD through surveillance, population-based research, education, health promotion, advocacy, and policy development. The website provides information about the consortium's history, founding organizations, logic model, structure, committees, membership, and annual meeting. Additional contents include news, a calendar of events, a fact sheet, and information on CHD prevention, screening, and research. Information is available for clients, families, and health professionals.

Keywords: Advocacy, Congenital heart defects, Consortia, Health promotion, Policy development, Population surveillance, Prevention, Public health, Research, Screening

Annotation: The Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is a state-level disability surveillance tool designed to assist partners, researchers, advocates, and the general public in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. The DHDS features three types of data: disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures. The data are presented in a variety of formats including interactive maps and data tables. The display options provide users with the ability to identify location-specific data for a single time period, along with multiple time period trends. Users can view the data by states, territories, divisions, and regions. The tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Division of Human Development and Disability at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Assessment, Data sources, Disabilities, Health care costs, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Stress

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: Harmony Health aims to advance health equity through innovative technology, empowering underserved communities. Through collaboration and advocacy Harmony Health aims to uplift marginilized populations, ensuring tangible improvements in oral health and overall community wellbeing.

Keywords: Access to health care, Minority health, Minority populations, Oral health

Annotation: The Center for Adolescent Health conducts research that focuses on the development and evaluation of programs and policies that promote health and prevent disease among adolescents, particularly inner city and rural youth. Research and educational programs address four key areas: developmental transitions which serve as opportunities for health promotion interventions; modification of risk-taking behaviors; interventions which involve the family, school, and community; and academic-community partnerships to enhance the delivery of health services to adolescents. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Inner city, Research, Risk taking, Rural population

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

Annotation: The MCH EPI Group promotes the use of data to guide public health practice and improve maternal and child health. The group supports the use of effective public health surveillance and epidemiologic practice through training, capacity development, and peer consultation. Partners include the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, the National Organization of Urban MCH Leaders (CityMatCH), and the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs.

Keywords: Data, Epidemiology, MCH training, Population surveillance

Annotation: The Health Promotion Resource Center (HPRC) at the Morehouse School of Medicine has developed a health promotion and disease prevention model for underserved populations. The center's philosophy is to increase health promotion efforts that are likely to be more successful in those populations where the community at risk identifies its own health concerns, develops its own prevention and/or intervention strategies, and forms a decision-making coalition board to make policy decisions and identify resources for program implementation. Health promotion, prevention, education, training, and information dissemination efforts are concentrated in, but are not limited to the areas of substance abuse, parenting, maternal and child health, cancer, and violence. Services to consumers include publications.

Keywords: Health promotion, Model programs, Rural population, Underserved communities, Urban population

Annotation: Established in 1974, Mountain States Group is a private nonprofit organization that works to enhance the quality and availability of human services through creative program development, with a focus on underserved rural areas. The group conducts ongoing projects in health, education, and social services. Its activities promote the goal of community responsibility for the planning, implementation, and maintenance of human services programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. MSG sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and program materials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community-based health services, Health education, Human services, Information services, Rural population, Social services

Annotation: The National Area Health Education Center Organization (NAO) supports and works to advance the Area Health Education Center (AHEC) network -- a program developed by Congress to recruit, train, and retain a health professions workforce committed to underserved populations. NAO works to improve the supply and distribution of healthcare professionals through community/academic educational partnerships. Approximately 120 medical schools and 600 nursing and allied health schools work collaboratively with 54 AHEC programs operating in states across the country. The organization publishes an electronic newsletter and a biannual bulletin and provides professional support and continuing education programs.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health education, Professional education, Underserved populations

Annotation: The National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN) is a network of individuals working at the national, state, and local level in birth defects surveillance, research, and prevention. It serves as a forum for exchanging ideas about the prevention of birth defects, developing uniform methods of birth defect surveillance and research, and providing technical support for state and local programs. It was incorporated as a 501c3 non-profit organization in 2000, and aims to improve the quality of birth defect surveillance data; promote scientific collaboration for the prevention of birth defects; provide technical assistance for the development of uniform methods of data collection; facilitate the communication and dissemination of information related to birth defects; collect, analyze and disseminate state and population-based birth defect surveillance data; and encourage the use of birth defect data for decisions regarding health services planning (secondary disabilities prevention and services). The network holds annual meetings, and publishes an annual report on birth defects surveillance and prevention, a newsletter, and other materials.

Keywords: , Population surveillance, Congenital abnormalities, Collaboration, Data, Data collection, Genetic disorders, Information dissemination, Prevention programs, Research, Research methodology, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health promotes the health and well-being of children and adolescents to enable them to become healthy and productive adults. The website provides information on coordinated school health, health and academics, and school health surveillance. Publications and information on policy, health topics, data and statistics, program evaluation, training, and funded programs and funding opportunities are also provided. Success stories and resources for parents and teachers are also available.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, Federal programs, Financing, Health behavior, Health policy, Health promotion, Population surveillance, Program development, Program evaluation, Risk taking, School age children, School health education, School health programs, Statistical data, Students, Teaching, Training

Annotation: The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) aims to support and advocate for quality, accessible health care for all American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban communities through advocacy, training, education, and leadership development. The council supports Urban Indian Health Programs (UIHP) that include comprehensive clinics and outreach centers. Information available includes newsletters, weekly news and resources update, legislative alerts, position papers on urban Indian health, and additional resources. The council presents an annual conference, workshops and training opportunities, and a membership teleconference series.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alaska Natives, Native Americans, Training, Urban health, Urban population

Annotation: The National League of Cities (NLC) is an association of U.S. municipalities and state leagues of municipalities whose mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance. It represents local governments to Congress and federal agencies, develops national municipal policy, sponsors conferences, conducts research and analysis on topics important to cities, and provides training, technical assistance, and information for elected and appointed local government officials. The Children and Families in Cities Project helps city officials to act on behalf of at-risk children and their families by providing direct technical assistance, research and policy analysis, and community support. Publications include a newspaper, Nation's Cities Weekly, and a catalog. Information services are available to member cities through the league's Municipal Reference Service. The organization also sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Local government, Policy, Technical assistance, Urban population