Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (24 total).

Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK)

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Alliance for a Healthier Generation

Annotation: The Alliance for Healthier Generation works to reduce the prevalence of childhood obesity in the United States and to empower children nationwide to make healthy lifestyle choices. Founded in 2005 by the American Heart Association and the William J. Clinton Foundation, the alliance works to positively affect the places that can make a difference in a child's health: homes, schools, doctor's offices, and communities. The alliance's Healthy Schools Program supports schools across the U.S. in their efforts to create environments where physical activity and healthy eating are accessible and encouraged. The alliance also works with leading companies in the industries (food, beverage, fitness, gaming, technology, and others) to help families stay active and eat healthier. The website provides media resources, a newsletter (the Alliance Byte), and documents such as school beverage and competitive food agreements and memorandums of understanding for school meals.

Keywords: Business, Child health, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, School health

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

Annotation: The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life. ACSM offers members informational publications and video materials, meetings, and continuing education. Membership is open to interested individuals as well as health professionals.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Physical activity, Professional education

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Bright Futures at Georgetown University

Annotation: Bright Futures at Georgetown University provides online and print access to the Bright Futures child health supervision materials sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration. The Georgetown project serves as liaison to the Bright Futures Distribution Center; provides access to content experts and to electronic training tools; maintains historical archives; and provides distance education for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Bright Futures Pediatric Implementation Project

Annotation: The Bright Futures Pediatric Implementation Project examines barriers to health professionals' (e.g., pediatricians, nurses, family physicians, dentists, nurse practitioners) implementation of Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents and develops new strategies to improve implementation of the guidelines. The project is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Bright Futures™ at AAP

Annotation: The Bright Futures Education Center focuses on improving awareness of the importance of preventive services among health care professionals, public/private partners, communities, and families; revising Bright Futures: Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children, and Adolescents; and developing materials to assist in implementation of the guidelines. The center is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Spanish language materials

Choosy Kids

Annotation: Choosy Kids offers training and educational materials for health professionals, teachers, and parents to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. The site also provides news, information about events, links to resources by topic and by audience such as Head Start and WIC programs, and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Consumer education matrerials, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program

Healthy Kids, Healthy Future

Annotation: Healthy Kids, Healthy Future is a partnership of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, and Nemours that works to advance research, policies, and practices that promote obesity prevention in child care. The website, hosted by the Nemours Foundation, is designed to help child care providers promote healthy habits. Contents include proven tools, promising practices, policies, and presentations on topics such as healthy eating and physical activity.

Keywords: Child care, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Model programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships

International Food Information Council Foundation (IFIC)

Annotation: The International Food Information Council (IFIC) is a nonprofit organization that serves as an information and educational resource on nutrition and food safety. IFIC provides science-based information to journalists, health professionals, government officials, and other opinion leaders who communicate with the public. Wherever possible, IFIC works in partnership with leading nutrition organizations. IFIC programs receive support from a broad base of food, beverage and agricultural companies. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The council also publishes a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The foundation produces a Web site for children and parents called Kidnetic.com, which provides activities for children and information for parents to promote physical activity, exercise, and good eating.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Exercise, Food safety, Materials for children, Nutrition, Physical activity

Let's Move

Annotation: The Let’s Move! campaign, started by First Lady Michelle Obama, has an ambitious national goal of solving the challenge of childhood obesity within a generation so that children born today will reach adulthood at a healthy weight. Let’s Move! will combat the epidemic of childhood obesity through a comprehensive approach that will engage every sector impacting the health of children and will provide schools, families and communities simple tools to help kids be more active, eat better, and get healthy.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Child health, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public awareness campaigns

National Association for Health and Fitness (NAHF)

Annotation: The National Association for Health and Fitness (NAHF), a nonprofit organization, seeks to improve the quality of of life for individuals in the United States through the promotion of physical fitness, sports, and healthy lifestyles and by fostering and supporting state Governor's Councils on Physical Fitness and Sports in the United States and its territories. Membership consists of state governor's councils. NAHF sponsors National Employee Health and Fitness, a work site health and fitness event, and Let's Get Physical, the national fitness challenge.

Keywords: Physical fitness, Consumer education, Health promotion, Physical activity, Sports

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

National Center on Physical Activity and Disability (NCPAD)

Annotation: The National Center on Physical Activity and Disability's mission is to encourage and support people with disabilities who wish to become more active. NCPAD works to promote health benefits among people with disabilities through increased participation in all types of physical activity, including recreational programs, specific sports, exercise techniques, fitness activities, and adaptive equipment. It is a comprehensive electronic information center that offers telephone and online access to resources. The Web site offers downloadable fact sheets and monographs; video clips; discussion groups; a calendar of upcoming conferences, events, and meetings; summaries of important research findings; a monthly newsletter; and a searchable database of programs and services available nationwide.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Physical activity

National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR)

Annotation: The National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) was launched in 2009 to bring together four research funders -- the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture -- to accelerate progress in reducing childhood obesity in America. These organizations work in tandem to manage projects and reach common goals, coordinate funding to make the most of available resources, and share insights and expertise to strengthen research. The website provides information about projects, tools, webinars, publications, events, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Databases, Environmental influences, Financing, Health status, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research

National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA)

Annotation: The National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) is a nonprofit service organization that works to promote the importance of parks and recreation. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. The association sponsors the National Playground Safety Institute, a continuing education program created in 1989 to serve as a national clearinghouse. The institute promotes the importance of play in child development, the rights of children to play in a safe environment, and industry standards and guidelines for public playgrounds. NRPA sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Recreation, Injury prevention, Physical activity, Playground safety

Nutrition.gov

Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity

Annotation: The Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity is a non-profit research and public policy organization devoted to improving the world’s diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma. The Rudd Center serves in building broad-based consensus to change diet and activity patterns, while holding industry and government agencies responsible for safeguarding public health. It also serves as a research institution and clearinghouse for resources that add to the understanding of the complex forces affecting how people eat, how people stigmatize overweight and obese people, and how people can change.

Keywords: Food, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Obesity, Physical activity, Public health nutrition, Weight management

Salud America!

Annotation: Salud America!: The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Research Network to Prevent Obesity Among Latino Children is a national online network of researchers, community group leaders, decision-makers, and members of the public working together to support healthy policy and environmental changes that can help reverse the Latino childhood obesity epidemic. Salud America! serves as a clearinghouse—with news, research, maps, videos, resources, and successful stories of change—on making healthy changes in Latino communities across the nation. Salud America! focuses on these topics as they relate to Latino childhood obesity: promoting healthier food in schools and neighborhoods, increasing access to local places and more opportunities to be active, decreasing unhealthy food and beverage advertising, and reducing consumption of sugary drinks.

Keywords: Obesity, Child health, Children, Hispanic Americans, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight management

Strategic Alliance Promoting Healthy Food and Activity Environments (Prevention Institute)

Annotation: The Strategic Alliance for Healthy Food and Activity Environments is a coalition of nutrition and physical activity advocates in California which serves as an independent voice that is separate from, but able to influence, government and industry.

Keywords: Advocacy, Nutrition, Physical activity

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.