Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

A Heartbreaking Choice

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND)

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS)

Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.)

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Compassionate Friends (TCF)

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center

Annotation: The FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center aims to support the improvement of local perinatal HIV systems. The resource center offers information, training, and expert guidance to communities currently implementing, or interested in implementing, the fetal and infant mortality (FIMR) case review and community action process known as the FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology Protocol.

Keywords: Case assessment, Community action, Disease prevention, HIV, Infant mortality, Perinatal influences, Resource centers

Honored Babies

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (NSIDPSC)

Annotation: The National SIDS Sudden Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (PSC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), helps professionals and organizations at the local, state, regional, and national levels to initiate, expand, or improve their risk-reduction education and bereavement support programming. PSC provides information, training, and educational materials for families and for professionals. Programs include the African American Faith-Based Bereavement Support Initiative, the Healthy Child Care America Back to Sleep Train the Trainer Campaign, continuing education programs for nurses and pharmacists, and the Kicks Count campaign aimed at reducing stillbirths.

Keywords: Technical assistance, Curriculum development, Infant death, Infant mortality, National MCH resource center, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention programs, Resource centers, SIDS, Statistics, Training materials

PeriStats

Annotation: Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center PeriStats provides access to US state, city, and county maternal and infant health data. The new Web site features more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables; detailed data for more than 210 of the largest U.S. cities and counties; state-specific data for the Midwest, Northeast, South, and West; and brief Quick Facts summary pages defining and describing the most relevant facts for all maternal and child health topics.

Keywords: Data, Births, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Maternal mortality, Neonatal mortality, Perinatal health, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy outcome, State surveys

Resolve Through Sharing Bereavement Services (RTS)

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support (SHARE)

Annotation: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support serves those whose lives are touched by the death of an infant through early pregnancy loss, stillbirth, or in the first few months of life. SHARE contributes information packets, correspondence, and support free of charge to bereaved parents. Additional services include training and conferences, support resources such as a bimonthly newsletter, a chat room, online catalog, and message boards. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Ectopic pregnancy, Fetal death, Grief, Information services, Molar pregnancy, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (MCHB DHSPS)

Annotation: The Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (DHSPS) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division provides national leadership that promotes healthy pregnancies and births and assures quality health care for all women. DPSWH develops and implements initiatives that focus on eliminating racial and ethnic disparities in perinatal and women's health, including comprehensive preventive services and programs that promote positive health behaviors. These initiatives include demonstration programs, partnerships with provider organizations and other federal agencies and bureaus, resource centers, mortality and morbidity review processes, and development of guidelines.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Prevention programs, Title V programs, Women's health

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.