Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is an association of nurses dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education and research to improve the health and health care of women, newborns, and families. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Advocacy, Guidelines, Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Annotation: Cayaba Care is a community-based maternity program that provides wrap-around support throughout pregnancy and postpartum to improve maternal health outcomes. The program offers personalized maternal healthcare support through Maternity Navigators who are community health workers and certified doulas working closely with members both in-home and virtually. Founded in 2020 by obstetricans, mothers, and maternity care experts to address maternal health inequities in Black and Brown communities in Philadelphia, Cayaba Care offers prenatal support, mental and emotional support, labor and birth support, breastfeeding resources, postpartum care coordination, and nutritional counseling. The program currently serves select counties in Philadelphia, Delaware, and New Jersey.

Keywords: Community based services, Community health workers, Delaware, Doulas, Local initiatives, Maternal health, New Jersey , Pennsylvania, Perinatal care

Annotation: The Center for Black Women's Wellness (CBWW) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the health and well-being of underserved Black women and their families. Established in 1988 as a program under the National Black Women's Health Project (now the Black Women's Health Imperative), CBWW has created a 36-year legacy in the Atlanta community focusing on providing access to quality healthcare. Initially serving the Mechanicsville neighborhood, the organization has expanded its reach throughout Metropolitan Atlanta. CBWW offers programs and services aimed at optimizing health, strengthening families and communities, and advancing health equity, with the vision of eradicating inequities preventing women from being whole, healed, and well. The organization believes that physical, mental, emotional, and financial health forms the foundation for full and productive lives.

Keywords: Blacks, Family support services, Fathers, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Women', s health

Annotation: The Women's and Children's Health Policy Center (WCHPC) was established in 1991 to address current policy issues related to evolving health systems reforms impacting on the health of women, children, and adolescents. The Center's mission is to draw upon the science base of the university setting to inform policies, programs, and the practice of maternal and child health nationally. A significant emphasis is given to conducting and translating research for application in the field. WCHPC provides timely information useful to public and private sector Maternal and Child Health (MCH) professionals, and to elected officials and other policymakers. Specific activities undertaken in support of state and local public health programs involve methods and tools development, program evaluation, and providing continuing education and expert consultation.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Economic factors, Health care delivery, Health policy, Information sources, Perinatal health, Program descriptions, Public policies, Publications, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: Mahmee is a maternal healthcare company providing comprehensive wraparound pregnancy and postpartum support services through an integrated team approach. The company combines doulas, lactation consultants, nurses, nutritionists, and mental health coaches to deliver coordinated care addressing the physical, emotional, and mental wellbeing of pregnant and postpartum individuals. Mahmee offers both virtual services nationwide and in-person care at multiple California locations, partnering with major health insurance providers including Aetna, Kaiser Permanente, and United Healthcare. The company employs a data-driven monitoring system for proactive health tracking and provides various service packages at different price points, from virtual postpartum support to comprehensive in-person pregnancy through postpartum care.

Keywords: California, Childbirth, Doulas, Family support services, Lactation, Maternal health, Nursing, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Service integration, Telemedicine

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Annotation: Maven Clinic is a women's and family healthcare company founded in 2014 to address gaps in maternal and family healthcare. The company provides a digital platform connecting users with specialized healthcare providers across more than 30 specialties, including Ob/Gyns, midwives, pediatricians, mental health providers, lactation consultants, and fertility specialists. Maven offers both virtual appointments and in-person care, serving families across 175 countries. The company partners with employers and health plans to deliver personalized care and benefit management, with particular focus on fertility and family building, maternity and newborn care, parenting and pediatrics, and menopause support.

Keywords: Family support services, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Service integration, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: The National Network of Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (NNPQC) provides resources and expertise to nationwide state-based perinatal quality collaboratives (PQCs) with the goal of deepening and accelerating improvement efforts for maternal and infant health outcomes The mission of the NNPQC is to support the development and enhance the ability of state perinatal quality collaboratives to make measurable improvements in statewide maternal and infant healthcare and health outcomes.

Keywords: Collaboration, Networks, Perinatal health, Quality improvement

Annotation: The mission of the Perinatal Foundation is to secure and provide resources to improve the health of babies, mothers, and families from preconception to early childhood. The foundation pursues this mission by identifying current and emerging needs across the spectrum of perinatal health concerns, and awarding grants in support of research, education, and model projects to meet those needs; working collaboratively with the Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care to promote and implement effective perinatal practices; and building and managing the endowment fund that makes the foundation’s work possible. A major focus of the foundation is perinatal mood disorders. The foundation works within the state of Wisconsin.

Keywords: Perinatal health, Affective disorders, Depression, State initiatives, Wisconsin

Annotation: Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center PeriStats provides access to US state, city, and county maternal and infant health data. The new Web site features more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables; detailed data for more than 210 of the largest U.S. cities and counties; state-specific data for the Midwest, Northeast, South, and West; and brief Quick Facts summary pages defining and describing the most relevant facts for all maternal and child health topics.

Keywords: Data, Births, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Maternal mortality, Neonatal mortality, Perinatal health, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy outcome, State surveys

Annotation: Postpartum Progress is a national nonprofit focused on improving support for women with perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. The website offers information and community for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth including postpartum anxiety, postpartum obsessive compulsive disorder, depression during pregnancy, post-adoption depression, postpartum post-traumatic stress syndrome, depression after miscarriage or perinatal loss, and postpartum psychosis. The organization produces a blog to raise awareness, fight stigma, and provide peer support to women with maternal mental illness.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Peer support programs, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Women', s health

Annotation: The Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research (SPER) is an organization of individuals from a wide variety of disciplines who share a common interest: the epidemiology of pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. The objective of the Society is to foster pediatric and perinatal epidemiologic research. This research includes the study of any factors that influence maternal health and the health and development of children, from their conception through their adolescence. The Society was formed in 1988, and holds an annual meeting each June, immediately preceding the meeting of the Society for Epidemiologic Research (SER). The website contains SPER's newsletter and information on SPER officers, membership, jobs, and fellowships.

Keywords: Children, Epidemiology, Infants, Interdisciplinary approach, MCH research, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Professional societies

Annotation: The Division of Healthy Start and Perinatal Services (DHSPS) is one of five divisions of the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). The division provides national leadership that promotes healthy pregnancies and births and assures quality health care for all women. DPSWH develops and implements initiatives that focus on eliminating racial and ethnic disparities in perinatal and women's health, including comprehensive preventive services and programs that promote positive health behaviors. These initiatives include demonstration programs, partnerships with provider organizations and other federal agencies and bureaus, resource centers, mortality and morbidity review processes, and development of guidelines.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Prevention programs, Title V programs, Women', s health