Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

A Heartbreaking Choice

Annotation: A Heartbreaking Choice provides resources and support for expectant parents who have received a diagnosis that their unborn child has a serious fetal anomaly or other live-threatening health problem that makes it unlikely that the baby will survive and thrive. For those who have made the decision to end their pregnancy when faced with such a grim diagnosis, this organization provides support groups, an online discussion forum, a confidential list service, an online memorial for grieving parents, personal stories, and feature articles to help these parents cope with their loss.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND)

Annotation: Aiding Mothers and Fathers Experiencing Neonatal Death (AMEND) offers support and encouragement to parents who have lost an infant. Bereaved parents have one-to-one contact with a trained counselor who has also experienced a loss due to miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Several local chapters exist without formal national affiliation. St. Louis AMEND was established in 1974. Los Angeles AMEND was established in 1977 and can be reached at P.O. Box 30, Harbor City, CA 90710-0030; (818) 887-7999. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Grief, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups, Parent support services

Association for Recognizing the Life of Stillborns (ARLS)

Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.)

Annotation: The Center for Loss in Multiple Birth (CLIMB, Inc.) is an organization of parents who have experienced the death of one or both twins (or higher multiple births) during pregnancy, birth, infancy, or childhood. The Center provides services to individuals in the U.S., Canada, and abroad which include referrals; a quarterly newsletter; an online discussion forum; a parent contact list; samples of birth/memorial announcements; a library; publications; and assistance to twins clubs, loss groups, authors, and researchers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, Chinese, and Russian. Training seminars are sponsored upon request.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Multiple births, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Centering Corporation

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Compassionate Friends (TCF)

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Grief Recovery Institute Educational Foundation (GRIEF)

Annotation: The Grief Recovery Institute provides services to consumers that include referrals and publications. GRIEF publishes a catalog, sponsors training seminars and workshops, and provides a list service which is available to both professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Perinatal bereavement, Grief, Listservs, Pregnancy loss

Honored Babies

Annotation: Honored Babies is a support and resource organization for women whose babies have died, whether from miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, pregnancy termination, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant death. The Web site includes articles, poetry, and reflects from parents who have lost a child; a memorial page; links to online support groups and recommended reading; and a free downloadable brochure for support staff to provide to parents.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

Missing GRACE Foundation

Annotation: The Missing GRACE Foundation provides resources and support for families that have experienced a pregnancy loss, infant loss, infertility, or challenging adoption. The foundation provides links to support groups, electronic publications, and organizations, as well as an online store offering memorial and educational products. Missing GRACE also advocates for comprehensive, patient-focused prenatal care for all women. Five core areas encompass the heart of the organization's mission: Grieve, Restore, Arise, Commemorate and Educate (GRACE).

Keywords: Parent support services, Grief, Infant death , Infertility, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Support groups

National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (NSIDPSC)

Annotation: The National SIDS Sudden Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (PSC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), helps professionals and organizations at the local, state, regional, and national levels to initiate, expand, or improve their risk-reduction education and bereavement support programming. PSC provides information, training, and educational materials for families and for professionals. Programs include the African American Faith-Based Bereavement Support Initiative, the Healthy Child Care America Back to Sleep Train the Trainer Campaign, continuing education programs for nurses and pharmacists, and the Kicks Count campaign aimed at reducing stillbirths.

Keywords: Technical assistance, Curriculum development, Infant death, Infant mortality, National MCH resource center, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention programs, Resource centers, SIDS, Statistics, Training materials

Postpartum Progress

Annotation: Postpartum Progress is a national nonprofit focused on improving support for women with perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. The website offers information and community for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth including postpartum anxiety, postpartum obsessive compulsive disorder, depression during pregnancy, post-adoption depression, postpartum post-traumatic stress syndrome, depression after miscarriage or perinatal loss, and postpartum psychosis. The organization produces a blog to raise awareness, fight stigma, and provide peer support to women with maternal mental illness.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Peer support programs, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Women's health

Resolve Through Sharing Bereavement Services (RTS)

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support (SHARE)

Annotation: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support serves those whose lives are touched by the death of an infant through early pregnancy loss, stillbirth, or in the first few months of life. SHARE contributes information packets, correspondence, and support free of charge to bereaved parents. Additional services include training and conferences, support resources such as a bimonthly newsletter, a chat room, online catalog, and message boards. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Pregnancy loss, Ectopic pregnancy, Fetal death, Grief, Information services, Molar pregnancy, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Spontaneous abortion, Support groups

Sudden Infant Death Network of Ohio (SID Network)

Annotation: The Sudden Infant Death Network of Ohio was selected to act as the agent of Ohio Department of Health to assure parents are offered bereavement and supportive services and to monitor and assure that coroners and local health departments (LHDs) are compliant in responding to SIDS. The mission of the SID Network of Ohio is to work towards the reduction and eventual elimination of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) through a multidisciplinary approach of promoting infant health and wellness, community outreach, education and training, and medical research. In addition, the SID Network is dedicated to providing supportive services to those who have been affected by the loss of a child, age 2 and under, from SIDS or other sudden infant death.

Keywords: Infant death, Investigations, Neonatal death, Ohio, Perinatal bereavement, Research, SIDS, State organizations, Surveillance

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.