Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, CHIPRA Pediatric Quality Measures Program (PQMP)

Annotation: The CHIPRA Pediatric Quality Measures Program is the dedicated home for information on the development and enhancement of children's health care quality measures as directed under the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA). The website provides information on the program's process and timeline, as well as the Centers of Excellence (COE) funded to develop or enhance pediatric quality measures and test the performance of those measures against specific criteria.

Keywords: Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Measures, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Quality assurance

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Home Resource Center

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (AAP SODBP), founded in 1960, works to optimize the relationship between primary care and subspecialists, provide education and disseminate strategies to support quality clinical practice, and advocate on behalf of children and providers. The website provides information about educational activities and a toolbox of resources and tools to help physicians advocate for children at the federal, state, or local practice level; screen and assess developmental and behavioral concerns; and support developmental and behavioral services and policies related to developmental and behavioral pediatrics. Additional contents include the Learning Disabilities Navigator, a comprehensive resource guide for learning difficulties and disabilities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior development, Child development, Continuing education, Developmental screening, Emotional development, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

American Academy of Pediatrics, Illinois Chapter

Annotation: The Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (ICAAP) is an organization of approximately 2,300 pediatricians in Illinois. Primary activities include advocacy on behalf of children, families, and health professionals in Illinois; the provision of continuing medical education and other resources for pediatricians, pediatric specialists, and other child health care providers; and collaboration with other state organizations and agencies on programs and projects that improve the health and well-being of children.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Illinois, Pediatric care, Pediatricians

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics' Section on Oral Health is a group of pediatric dentists, pediatricians, and other allied health professionals interested in learning about and improving children's oral health through collaborative efforts. The Section focuses on educating pediatricians through multiple forums, advocacy for children's oral health, and improving relationships and communication between the dental and medical homes. Learn about our leaders, how to become a member, our policy statements, and other resources for Section members.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Collaboration, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Oral health, Pediatric care

Children's Hospital Association (CHA)

From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth (FTFT BTFT)

Annotation: From the First Tooth (FTFT) began as a pilot program of the Sadie and Harry Davis Foundation in 2008 and grew to a statewide effort in 2010 through the leadership of MaineHealth in partnership with EMHS and MaineGeneral. An Advisory Committee and National Advisors continue to guide the initiative. In 2015, the pediatric oral health initiative expanded to include a focus on pregnant and postnatal women. FTFT is now a six state collaborative located in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Each state offers slightly different assistance to medical practices but all are working together with health professionals to improve children’s oral health in the region. Before the First Tooth provides information about prenatal dental care.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Geographic regions, New England, Pediatric care, Prenatal care, State initiatives, Training

National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP)

Annotation: The National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) works to improve the quality of healthcare for infants, children, adolescents, and young adults. Focus areas include child care, breastfeeding education, child maltreatment and neglect, early childhood mental health, global health care, immunization, and school-based health services. NAPNAP sponsors conferences and collaborates with a number of nurse practitioner and child health organizations. Publications include a newsletter and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Immunization, Nursing societies, Pediatric nursing, Professional societies

Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC)

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

University of Alabama at Birmingham, Pediatric Pulmonary Center (UAB PPC)

Annotation: The University of Alabama at Birmingham Pediatric Pulmonary Center (UAB PPC) provides interdisciplinary leadership training to health care professionals to equip them to improve the health of children with respiratory conditions through the provision of family-centered care.The Center offers graduate-level and post-doctoral training, patient and family care and education, research, consultation, and the provision of continuing education and technical assistance. UAB-PPC is one of six Pediatric Pulmonary Centers funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration.

Keywords: Continuing education, Needs assessment, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Professional education, Respiratory diseases, Spanish language materials

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.