Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC), a nonprofit organization founded in 1974, works to give parents the education and support they need, and to give the professionals who work with parents and children the latest continuing education to enable them to provide high quality parenting and child development services. CICC creates, evaluates, delivers and disseminates a variety of parenting skill-building programs that are taught in communities in the form of parenting classes, seminars and workshops. The Center delivers classes and seminars in these programs in Los Angeles and other cities throughout the United States, and it does this in cooperation with schools, childcare centers, Head Start agencies, hospitals, and civic, cultural religious and other local institutions. CICC offers a variety of books, videos, and other materials on parenting and child development issues and has an online methodology for parents and service providers to help determine whether children under five may have special needs (The CICC Discovery Tool).

Keywords: Child health, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: Educating Communities for Parenting (ECP) offers a variety of programs and services for children, adolescents, and adolescent parents. ECP programs serve preschool to high school students in public, private, and alternative education sites. Workshops and programs are customized to meet the specific needs of the populations served. The website provides information on programs and services, workshops, special events, news, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Children, Community programs, Parenting education

Annotation: The Every Child Succeeds (ECS) program offers Greater Cincinnati first-time mothers and their families support to ensure an optimal start for their children. ECS is a collaborative evidence-based home visitation program that includes 14 provider agencies whose social workers, child development specialists and nurses provide services for first-time, at-risk mothers on a regular basis from the time of pregnancy until the child's third birthday.

Keywords: Community programs, Home visiting, Infants, Ohio, Parent education programs, Parent support programs, Young children

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: Girls Incorporated has developed several programs and curricula to promote the health of girls and young women, including Friendly PEERsuasion and Preventing Adolescent Pregnancy. Programs may be licensed to youth-serving agencies. The Girls Incorporated National Resource Center furnishes research materials to organizations, individuals, and the media. The resource center is located at 441 West Michigan Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202; (317) 634-7546. The organization provides publications to consumers.

Keywords: Advocacy, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Curricula, Health promotion, Peer education, Peer support programs, Women

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: The Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Prevention and Parenting and, offers information about adolescent pregnancy prevention and teen parent programs, coalitions, and experts in Minnesota. The InfoExchange has resources on community collaboration around adolescent pregnancy and distributes "InfoPacks," topic specific packets of statistics, research, and program development materials. MOAPPP sponsors training seminars and an annual conference and publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Adolescent pregnancy, Parent education

Annotation: The Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center at Children's Hospital is a statewide program that provides information, counseling, and support to anyone experiencing a sudden and unexpected infant death from any cause. In addition it is Minnesota's resource for information on sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and SIDS risk reduction, and conducts training and educational programs for health care providers, child care workers, and other professional and community groups. The center tracks infant mortality trends in Minnesota and participates in local, state, and national initiatives to reduce the risk of sudden, unexpected infant death. The center is a partnership between Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota and the Minnesota Department of Health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child death, Infant death, Minnesota, Parent education, Risk factors, SIDS, State programs

Annotation: The National Child Labor Committee (NCLC) is a private, non-profit organization that works to promote the rights, well-being, and education of children and youth as they relate to work and working. As advocates, researchers, technical assistance providers, and catalysts, the Committee works with corporations, government agencies, school systems, and others on behalf of the country's at-risk young people in the areas of youth employment and training, child labor laws, education, and youth occupational safety and health. NCLC sponsors the Lewis Hine Award for service to children and youth and seeks to inspire elementary school children about working and working through the community partnership program, Kids and the Power of Work (KAPOW).

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Advocacy, Alcohol abuse, Child abuse, Child exploitation, Child labor, Cooperative work experience programs, Education, Migrants, Pregnant adolescents, Research, Small businesses, Substance abuse, Working adolescents

Annotation: The National Parent Teacher Association (PTA) is a nonprofit association that works to support and speak on behalf of children and youth; assist parents in developing the skills they need to raise and protect their children; and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools of the nation. The PTA provides leadership training tools, as well as parent resources on topics such as child safety, health and wellness, student achievement, and media technology. The association hosts online forums, produces print and electronic publications, and sponsors a variety of meetings, conferences, and events.

Keywords: Adolescents, , Child advocacy, Child health programs Parenting, Children, Education

Annotation: The National PTA is a nonprofit association of parents, educators, and students whose mission is to advocate for children in the schools, the community, and before governing bodies, and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools. The organization sponsors Building Successful Partnerships, a parent involvement initiative which focuses on increasing the level of awareness and the implementation of the National Standards for Parent/Family Involvement Program in schools. The National PTA also provides information on parenting techniques and activities for promoting family interaction. Online information is provided on legislative issues affecting children and on local PTA activities throughout the country. The National PTA sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Family school relations, Parent education programs, Parent participation, Teachers

Annotation: The Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD) is a statewide, nonprofit organization that serves families of infants, toddlers, children, and youth with disabilities in Ohio, and the agencies who provide services to them. The coalition's mission is to ensure that every Ohio child with special needs receives a free, appropriate, public education in the least restrictive environment to enable that child to reach his/her highest potential. Programs are designed to help parents become informed and effective representatives for their children in all educational settings. PACER's Family-to-Family Health Information Center provides a single source of information, including resources and support, for families whose children have disabilities and complex health care needs. The coalition provides programs for Native American, African American, Hispanic/Latino, Somali and Southeast Asian communities, and many publications have been translated into Hmong, Somali and Spanish. Other programs focus on grandparents, housing, and bullying prevention. Through the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers, PACER offers consultation and technical assistance to the over 100 parent centers across the nation funded under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Keywords: Special education, Children with special health care needs, Early Intervention, Education programs, Family resource centers, Nuvee, Ohio, Parenting, Public policies, Support groups

Annotation: Parent to Parent USA (P2PUSA) is a national nonprofit organization committed to promoting access, quality and leadership in parent to parent support across the country. The website highlights statewide organizations that have parent to parent support as a core program and demonstrate a commitment to implementing evidence-based P2P USA endorsed practices.

Keywords: CSHN programs, Family support services, Parent education programs, Training materials

Annotation: Parent as Teachers (PAT) is a voluntary early childhood parent education and family support program designed to help parents give their children the best possible start in life. This home-school-community partnership provides parents with information on child development, from the prenatal period through age 5, and suggests learning opportunities that encourage language development, intellectual growth, and physical and social skills. Based on the philosophy that parents are their children's first and most influential teachers, PAT professionals provide information to all families through personal visits, training seminars and conferences, group meetings, screening, and a resource network. The Parents as Teachers National Center has offered training to improve the skills of its parent educators, including Issues in working with teen parents and supporting families facing critical issues. Resources for professionals who work with mothers and fathers include fact sheets, screening tools, curricula, and online help from experts. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Parent education, Programs

Annotation: PAVE (Partnerships for Action Voices for Empowerment) is a parent-directed organization that provides information, training, and support for individuals with disabilities, parents, and professionals in Washington. PAVE staff comprise individuals with disabilities and parents of individuals with disabilities who have a good understanding of the challenges of accessing services. PAVE's resources include a quarterly newsletter (PAVE Pipeline), Web site, a Facebook page, You Are the Expert Conference, bilingual and bicultural staff, and free and low-cost materials in a variety of formats and languages. Programs cover a variety of areas and resources including the Family to Family Health Information Center.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Parent education programs, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parent training, Peer support programs

Annotation: Prevent Child Abuse America (PCAA), formerly the National Committee to Prevent Child Abuse, seeks to increase public awareness of the incidence, origins, nature, and effects of child abuse. The organization serves as a national advocate to prevent the neglect and physical, sexual, and emotional abuse of children. It sponsors their state chapters and the Healthy Families America home visitor prevention program. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a number of pamphlets and brochures on parenting for consumers. Some materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Injury prevention, Parent support services, Parenting, Peer support programs, Public education

Annotation: Reading Is Fundamental, Inc. (RIF), founded in 1966, motivates children to read by working with them, their parents, and community members to make reading a fun and beneficial part of everyday life. RIF’s highest priority is reaching underserved children from birth to age 8. Through community volunteers in every state and U.S. territory, RIF provides 4.5 million children with 16 million new, free books and literacy resources each year. For more information and to access reading resources, visit RIF’s website.

Keywords: Educational programs, Children', Community programs, Literacy, National programs, Parent child relations, Parent education programs, Reading, s literature

Annotation: STOMP (Specialized Training of Military Parents) is a parent-directed program working to assist military families who have children with special health or education needs. STOMP works to connect families to other families; provides a voice to raise awareness of issues faced by military families of children with disabilities; assists parents and professionals in developing their own community parent education/support groups; and provides information and training about laws, regulations and resources for military families of children with disabilities. STOMP, which began in 1985, is a project of Washington PAVE, a parent organization providing support, advocacy, training and informational resources to empower all families and individuals with disabilities.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Family support, Federal programs, Parent support services, Special education