Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program is dedicated to Sudden Infant Death support, awareness, and risk reduction. Information is provided on grief and bereavement, SIDS facts, and infant care practices for reducing the risk of SIDS. Information is available for SIDS professionals, SIDS Coordinators, and families. Numerous materials are available in Spanish, and occasionally in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and VIetnamese. The program is under the direction of the California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Consumer education materials, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Center for Human Resource Research maintains searchable databases and produces a newsletter for local, state, regional, and national audiences.

Keywords: Children, Cognitive development, Data collection, Employment, Followup studies, Health services, Human development, Interdisciplinary approach, Interviews, Longitudinal studies, Mothers, Parental education, Poverty, Research design, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Substance use behavior, Surveys

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC), a nonprofit organization founded in 1974, works to give parents the education and support they need, and to give the professionals who work with parents and children the latest continuing education to enable them to provide high quality parenting and child development services. CICC creates, evaluates, delivers and disseminates a variety of parenting skill-building programs that are taught in communities in the form of parenting classes, seminars and workshops. The Center delivers classes and seminars in these programs in Los Angeles and other cities throughout the United States, and it does this in cooperation with schools, childcare centers, Head Start agencies, hospitals, and civic, cultural religious and other local institutions. CICC offers a variety of books, videos, and other materials on parenting and child development issues and has an online methodology for parents and service providers to help determine whether children under five may have special needs (The CICC Discovery Tool).

Keywords: Child health, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Annotation: This publisher has easy-to-read materials on pregnancy, pregnancy hazards, postpartum, parenting, teen pregnancy, nutrition, newborns, high-risk pregnancy, labor and birth, breastfeeding, and women's health, including books, PowerPoint/CD ROMs, charts, posters,flip charts, and other materials.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Parenting, Pregnancy

Annotation: The Children's Aid Society (CAS) Carrera Adolescent Sexuality and Pregnancy Prevention Program (developed under the direction of the Bernice and Milton Stern National Adolescent Sexuality Training Center) serves as a primary pregnancy prevention model that uses a holistic aproach to help adolescents develop personal goals while increasing their sexual literacy and knowledge about the consequences of sexual activity. The program, which has been replicated across in states across the country, emphasizes the importance of education and employment. The Web site provides links to additional resources on sexuality education and adolescentr pregnancy prevention.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Family relations, Parent education, Sexuality education

Annotation: Cribs for Kids was established in 1998 under the guidance of SIDS of Pennsylvania, whose staff realized that most sudden unexpected infant deaths were among low-income families, and most of the infants who died were found on couches, chairs, or adult beds. Cribs for Kids partnered with portable crib manufacturer GRACO Pack N Play.® Currently, Cribs for Kids has more than 350 Partner Programs that provide safe sleep educational materials and portable cribs to families who cannot afford a safe place for their babies to sleep.

Keywords: State organizations, Advocacy, Consumer education, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, Pennsylvania, SIDS

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: Educating Communities for Parenting (ECP) offers a variety of programs and services for children, adolescents, and adolescent parents. ECP programs serve preschool to high school students in public, private, and alternative education sites. Workshops and programs are customized to meet the specific needs of the populations served. The website provides information on programs and services, workshops, special events, news, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Children, Community programs, Parenting education

Annotation: The Every Child Succeeds (ECS) program offers Greater Cincinnati first-time mothers and their families support to ensure an optimal start for their children. ECS is a collaborative evidence-based home visitation program that includes 14 provider agencies whose social workers, child development specialists and nurses provide services for first-time, at-risk mothers on a regular basis from the time of pregnancy until the child's third birthday.

Keywords: Community programs, Home visiting, Infants, Ohio, Parent education programs, Parent support programs, Young children

Annotation: Family Network on Disabilities (FDN) is a national network of individuals of all ages who may be at-risk, have disabilities, or have special needs, together with their families, professionals, and concerned citizens. Their mission is to provide family-driven support, education, information, and advocacy. FDN provides online learning tools (including archived webinars), a digital library, and resources at the national library and Florida state level.

Keywords: , Special education, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Education, Florida, Information services, Parent education, Parenting, Support groups

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The Federation for Children with Special Needs (FCSN) is a nonprofit organization that provides information, support, and assistance to parents of children with disabilities, their professional partners, and their communities.

Keywords: Parent professional relations, Advocacy, Agent Orange, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Information services, Parent education, Young children

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: Girls Incorporated has developed several programs and curricula to promote the health of girls and young women, including Friendly PEERsuasion and Preventing Adolescent Pregnancy. Programs may be licensed to youth-serving agencies. The Girls Incorporated National Resource Center furnishes research materials to organizations, individuals, and the media. The resource center is located at 441 West Michigan Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202; (317) 634-7546. The organization provides publications to consumers.

Keywords: Advocacy, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Curricula, Health promotion, Peer education, Peer support programs, Women

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Childbirth education, Multimedia, Parent education

Annotation: The Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (formerly the Institute for Family-Centered Care) provides leadership in advancing the understanding and practice of patient- and family-centered care. By promoting collaborative, empowering relationships among providers, patients, and families, the Institute facilitates patient- and family-centered change in all settings where individuals and families receive care and support. The Institute serves as a central resource for policy makers, administrators, program planners, direct service providers, educators, design professionals, and family members. Institute staff promote change and enhance the quality of health and other human services through the development of print and audiovisual resources, information dissemination, policy and research initiatives, training, and technical assistance. Services to consumers also include referrals. Publications include a newsletter. The Institute sponsors training seminars and international conferences.

Keywords: Community-based services, Family centered services, Parent education