Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Children Now

Annotation: Children Now is a research and action organization dedicated to assuring that children grow up in economically secure families, where parents can go to work confident that their children are supported by quality health coverage, a positive media environment, a good early education, and safe, enriching activities to do after school. Children Now uses uses media advocacy and works to improve the quality of images for and about children in the news and entertainment media. Children Now is an independent, nonpartisan organization.

Keywords: Chid advocacy, Child health, Communication, Economic factors, Information sources, Parent child relations, Public awareness campaigns, Publications

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Federation for Children with Special Needs (FCSN)

Infant-Parent Institute

Annotation: The Infant-Parent Institute is a private teaching and clinical service institute that specializes in problems of attachment in infants and adults. The institute is independent and receives no public funding. Services to consumers include referrals, clinical assessment, psychotherapy, parent consultation, publications, and reference information. The Institute sponsors some conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Training materials include a newsletter and a library of 14 documentary videotapes.

Keywords: Attachment behavior, Audiovisual materials, Infants, Information services, Mental health, Parent child relations, Training

National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships (NCFPP)

Annotation: The National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships (NCFPP) is operated by Family Voices to provide technical assistance, training, and connections among Family to Family Health Information Centers (F2G HICs), Family Voices network members, and other partnering organizations. Services include electronic newsletters for the public and list services for grantees of the F2F HIC grantees. The center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Parent professional relations, Resource centers, Technical assistance, Training

National Center on Fathers and Families (NCOFF)

Annotation: The National Center on Fathers and Families (NCOFF) is an interdisciplinary policy research center which works to expand the knowledge base on father involvement and family development, strengthen practice, and contribute to the advancement of policy through research, practice, and policy analysis. NCOFF bases its work on seven core areas that affect father involvement: joblessness, father presence, father's expression of care, importance of co-parenting, transition from biological to committed parent, intergenerational learning, and systemic barriers. Research and information on each topic is accessible online through the FatherLit Research Database. Publications include full-text briefs, literature reviews, working papers, and a state policy series. The center appears to have gone dormant in 2001, but materials are still posted to the Web site.

Keywords: Family relations, Father child relations, Fathers, Online databases, Parental rights, Program descriptions, Publications, Research reviews

National PTA (PTA)

Annotation: The National PTA is a nonprofit association of parents, educators, and students whose mission is to advocate for children in the schools, the community, and before governing bodies, and to encourage parent and public involvement in the public schools. The organization sponsors Building Successful Partnerships, a parent involvement initiative which focuses on increasing the level of awareness and the implementation of the National Standards for Parent/Family Involvement Program in schools. The National PTA also provides information on parenting techniques and activities for promoting family interaction. Online information is provided on legislative issues affecting children and on local PTA activities throughout the country. The National PTA sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Family school relations, Parent education programs, Parent participation, Teachers

Parents Action for Children

Annotation: Parent Action for Children (PACt) is a nonprofit organization that works to raise awareness about the importance of early childhood development and school readiness. PAC develops, produces, and distributes resources for parents, early childhood professionals, child advocates, health care providers, policymakers and the media. The organization promotes public policies that help ensure our children have the physical wellbeing and the social, emotional and cognitive abilities they need to enter school ready to succeed.

Keywords: Infant development, Caregivers, Child development, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Information sources, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parent participation, Parenting skills, Public awareness campaigns

PAVE (PAVE)

Annotation: PAVE (Partnerships for Action Voices for Empowerment) is a parent-directed organization that provides information, training, and support for individuals with disabilities, parents, and professionals in Washington. PAVE staff comprise individuals with disabilities and parents of individuals with disabilities who have a good understanding of the challenges of accessing services. PAVE's resources include a quarterly newsletter (PAVE Pipeline), Web site, a Facebook page, You Are the Expert Conference, bilingual and bicultural staff, and free and low-cost materials in a variety of formats and languages. Programs cover a variety of areas and resources including the Family to Family Health Information Center.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Parent education programs, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parent training, Peer support programs

Reading Is Fundamental (RIF)

Annotation: Reading Is Fundamental, Inc. (RIF), founded in 1966, motivates children to read by working with them, their parents, and community members to make reading a fun and beneficial part of everyday life. RIF’s highest priority is reaching underserved children from birth to age 8. Through community volunteers in every state and U.S. territory, RIF provides 4.5 million children with 16 million new, free books and literacy resources each year. For more information and to access reading resources, visit RIF’s website.

Keywords: Educational programs, Children', Community programs, Literacy, National programs, Parent child relations, Parent education programs, Reading, s literature

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.