Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (50 total).

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)

Allies Against Asthma (AAA)

Annotation: Allies Against Asthma (AAA) is a national initiative aimed at improving asthma control for children and adolescents. The program provides support to seven community-based coalitions to develop, implement, and sustain comprehensive asthma management programs that include improved access to and quality of medical services, education, family and community support, and environmental and policy initiatives. The program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. AAA responds to inquiries, provides technical assistance, and posts numerous Web resources and links to other programs.

Keywords: Asthma, Adolescents, Children, Coalitions, Community programs, Online databases

American Hospital Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Hospital Association (AHA), a membership association of individuals and health care delivery institutions, conducts research and education projects in areas such as health care administration, hospital economics, and community relations. The Resource Center offers ready reference information, research, document delivery, current awareness, and information alerting by searches of online databases. Services are directed primarily to health professionals. Some services have fees for members and nonmembers of AHA. A service and fee schedule is available through the web site at http://www.aha.org.

Keywords: American Hospital Association, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health services, Hospital administration, Hospital services, Online databases, Patient care, Professional societies, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource centers

Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count

Annotation: Kids Count, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. By providing policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, KIDS COUNT seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children. The Casey Foundation supports KIDS COUNT projects in more than 50 areas of the United States to raise public awareness and accountability for the condition of kids and families. The Kids Count project conducts surveys, collects and compiles data, hosts online data sites, including CLIKS online (a database of county, city and community level information on children), and publishes a variety of data books and pocket guides

Keywords: Statistical data, Child advocacy, Child health, Child welfare, Data collection, Online databases, Public awareness campaigns, Publications

U.S. Census Bureau

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database

DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP)

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is responsible for the federal government's health, welfare, and income security plans and programs. The department administers the Public Health Service (including the Health Resources and Services Administration, the National Institutes of Health, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services, among other agencies.

Keywords: Health policy, Data, Directories, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Online databases, Public health, Social security, Statistics

DONA International

Annotation: Doulas of North America (DONA International) is primarily a professional organization for doulas whose work is to provide physical, emotional, and educational support to women during pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period. The Web site includes an online library of downloadable publications (including some materials for consumers), as well as information on doula training, conferences, and certification. The site also hosts discussion boards and a directory of professional doulas.

Keywords: Childbirth, Childbirth educators, Alternative birth styles, Certification, Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Electronic bulletin boards, Electronic publications, Online databases, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional training

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

Genetic Alliance

Annotation: The Genetic Alliance works to build the capacity of advocacy groups and leverage the voices of the millions of individuals living with genetic conditions. The Alliance provides a forum for the discussion of cross-disability similarities and the identification of available resources; fosters a partnership among consumers and professionals to enhance education and service for and represent the needs of individuals affected by genetic disorders; and supports networking efforts of members with government agencies, professional groups, service providers, and organizations. The Alliance also provides technical assistance to genetic support groups and disseminates information to the public on available resources and referrals. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Alliance also hosts an online roundtable for genetics and health professionals; creates listservs for organizations and groups; publishes bulletins plus a quarterly e-newsletter; hosts monthly webinar series; offers the downloadable Guide to Understanding Genetics; hosts two Wiki's (WikiGenetics and WikiAdvocacy); and maintains Disease InfoSearch -- a continuously evolving online search tool and database of advocacy organizations and resources for genetic conditions.The Alliance was founded in 1986 as the Alliance of Genetic Support Groups.

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Genetic services, Genetics, Genetics education, Online databases, Support groups

Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Health Information

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Oral Health addresses the oral health needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives in hospitals and clinics throughout the United States. The Web site provides information on IHS' dental career path options (civil service employee, Commissioned Corps Officer, or tribal hire); externships; the loan repayment program; and volunteering. Information on networking and resources, a vacancy database, and recruiting events are also provided.

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Careers, Dental care, Federal programs, Financial assistance, Online databases, Oral health, Public health dental hygienists, Public health dentists, Work force

Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL)

Annotation: The Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL) contains more than 10 million documents created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities. The data in the Library is both full-text searchable and searchable through the index records created by the tobacco companies describing each document and its use in litigation. The Web site includes links to selected popular documents, digital collections, and additional resources.

Keywords: Online databases, Public health, Smoking, Tobacco

National Agricultural Library (NAL)

Annotation: The National Agricultural Library (NAL), created as the library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 1862 and designated a national library in 1962, works to increase the availability and use of current and accurate agricultural information among researchers, educators, policymakers, and consumers. Services include specialized information centers, a research collection, the AGRICOLA database, a food and nutrition information center, and publications.

Keywords: Agricultural safety, Libraries, Library services, Online Databases

National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (NACCRRA)

Annotation: The National Association of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies (NACCRRA), works with state and local child care resource and referral agencies (CCR&Rs) nationwide to ensure that all families have access to high-quality, affordable child care. NACCRRA's programs and services include training and technical assistance; the Quality Assurance Program, a national, voluntary certification system for CCR&Rs; Child Care Aware, a national toll-free information line and website for families available in English and Spanish; and an annual policy symposium. Products and resources include Early Childhood Focus, a website featuring daily news clippings about child care and child welfare issues; field studies and trend reports; and NACCRAware, an Internet-based child care referral and reporting software program that manages family, child care program, and community data. NACCRRA also hosts the Provider Appreciation Day website. NACCRRA changed its name to Child Care Aware of America in 2012.

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Online databases, Public policies, Referrals

National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)

Annotation: The National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) is a nonprofit organization that works to strengthen state leadership in educational policymaking, promote excellence in the education of all students, advocate equality of access to educational opportunity, and assure continued support for public education. NASBE's membership is kept abreast of developments in public policy via several key tools, including the weekly Headline Review, monthly Legislative Briefs, monthly Policy Updates, and monthly Legal Briefs. NASBE also produces reports and a quarterly journal; sponsors study groups, task forces, and funded research; and provides individual expertise. NASBE's Center for Safe and Healthy Schools provides guidance and assistance to state and local education policymakers and practitioners to encourage safe, healthy, and nurturing school environments for all of the nation's children and youth. Focus areas include healthy eating and HIV prevention. NASBE's State School Health Policy Database contains written state policies in key areas of school health policy.

Keywords: Online databases, School health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.