Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association of State Public Health Nutritionists is a membership organization that provides state and national leadership on food and nutrition issues, programs, and services aimed at improving population health.

Keywords: Public health, Advocacy, Education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Policy development, Standards, State health agencies

Annotation: California Food Policy Advocates (CFPA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to healthy food for people with low-incomes in California. The website provides information about CFPA policy actions, initiatives and campaigns, areas of focus and research and data, and news and media.

Keywords: California, Children, Food, Low income groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Schools, State programs, Water

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Children's HealthWatch, formerly Children's Sentinel Nutrition Assessment Program (C-SNAP), Children's HealthWatch works to improve child health by bringing evidence and analysis from the front lines of pediatric care to policy makers and the public. The network of pediatricians and public health researchers collects data on children up to the age of four in emergency rooms and clinics at Boston Medical Center, the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock; Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis; and St. Christopher's Hospital in Philadelphia. Data is collected and analyzed on food security, housing stability, home environment issues, health, and other possible hardship experiences for young children, particularly in low income areas.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Collaboration, Data collection, Housing, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition assessment, Public policy, advocacy

Annotation: Healthy Eating Research (HER) is a national program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. HER supports research to identify, analyze, and evaluate environmental and policy strategies that can promote healthy eating among children and prevent childhood obesity. Special emphasis is given to research projects that benefit children and adolescents and their families, especially in lower-income and racial and ethnic populations at highest risk for obesity.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Ethnic factors, Health disparities, Health policy, Health promotion, Low income groups, MCH research, National programs, Nutrition policy, Obesity, Policy development, Risk factors

Annotation: Healthy Food America is a national 501(c)3 nonprofit launched in 2016 to act on scientific evidence to drive change in food policy and industry practice, giving people greater control over their health and reducing diet-related illnesses, such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease prevention, Nutrition, Organizational change, Policy development, Social change

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: The National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) was launched in 2009 to bring together four research funders -- the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture -- to accelerate progress in reducing childhood obesity in America. These organizations work in tandem to manage projects and reach common goals, coordinate funding to make the most of available resources, and share insights and expertise to strengthen research. The website provides information about projects, tools, webinars, publications, events, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Databases, Environmental influences, Financing, Health status, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research

Annotation: The Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity is a non-profit research and public policy organization devoted to improving the world’s diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma. The Rudd Center serves in building broad-based consensus to change diet and activity patterns, while holding industry and government agencies responsible for safeguarding public health. It also serves as a research institution and clearinghouse for resources that add to the understanding of the complex forces affecting how people eat, how people stigmatize overweight and obese people, and how people can change.

Keywords: Food, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Obesity, Physical activity, Public health nutrition, Weight management

Annotation: The Center for Public Health Nutrition (CPHN) is located within the University of Washington School of Public Health and is affiliated with the departments of Epidemiology and Health Services and the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Nutritional Sciences. CPHN's mission is to advance public health approaches to improve nutrition and physical activity through environmental and policy change; build partnerships and collaborations with practitioners, government agencies, and communities; provide technical assistance in the translation of research into policy and practice; and shape obesity and chronic disease prevention and reduction efforts. The website contains information on research projects, publications, and news and events.

Keywords: Collaboration, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Physical activity, Program improvement, Public health