Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists (ASPHN)

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Center to Prevent Childhood Malnutrition

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Choosy Kids

Annotation: Choosy Kids offers training and educational materials for health professionals, teachers, and parents to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. The site also provides news, information about events, links to resources by topic and by audience such as Head Start and WIC programs, and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Consumer education matrerials, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program

Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE)

Annotation: The Directors of Health Promotion and Education (DHPE) builds on principles and practices of health promotion and education to strengthen public health capacity in policy and systems change to improve the health of all and achieve health equity. Resources include news, a calendar of events, community market analyses, online groups, and links to information on careers, health equity, health policy and advocacy, health policy and environmental change, health-related organizations, school employee wellness, school health, state worksite wellness programs, and training and professional development. DHPE is an affiliate of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Professional societies, Public health programs, Public health services

International Food Information Council Foundation (IFIC)

Annotation: The International Food Information Council (IFIC) is a nonprofit organization that serves as an information and educational resource on nutrition and food safety. IFIC provides science-based information to journalists, health professionals, government officials, and other opinion leaders who communicate with the public. Wherever possible, IFIC works in partnership with leading nutrition organizations. IFIC programs receive support from a broad base of food, beverage and agricultural companies. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The council also publishes a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The foundation produces a Web site for children and parents called Kidnetic.com, which provides activities for children and information for parents to promote physical activity, exercise, and good eating.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Exercise, Food safety, Materials for children, Nutrition, Physical activity

Mayo Clinic

Annotation: Mayo Clinic is an integrated, not-for-profit group practice comprising staff physicians and scientists; residents, fellows, and students; and administrative and allied health personnel. The practice provides health services, health information, and education and research in clinics and hospitals in Rochester, Minnesota; Jacksonville, Florida; and Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona. The websites, MayoClinic.com, MayoClinic.edu, and MayoClinic.org, provide information and resources for clients and professionals. Health information topics include diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy lifestyle, and first aid. E-newsletters and a personalized health guidance tool are also available.

Keywords: Child health promotion, Consumer education, Development, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Nutrition, Therapeutics, Women's health

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women's health

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

National Consumer Protection Week

National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA)

Annotation: The National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA) is a partnership of overĀ 80 national organizations and associations, state folic acid councils, and government agencies whose mission is to improve health by promoting the benefits and consumption of folic acid. NCFA is managed by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The council distributes guidelines on folic acid consumption for women of childbearing age and promotes emerging and new science on folic acid (especially as it relates to maternal and child health). NCFA distributes monthly news alerts and provides electronic access to sources of information on folic acid (available in multiple languages).

Keywords: Nutrition, . Foreign language materials, Consumer education, Folic acid, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Neural tube defects, Preventive health services, Public health nutrition

National Dairy Council (NDC)

Annotation: The National Dairy Council (NDC) is the nutrition marketing arm of Dairy Management Inc. devoted to nutrition education. It works to encourage food selection patterns that include dairy foods and other major food categories, in accordance with scientific recommendations. Services include nutrition education programs and materials. The council publishes a variety of print and audiovisual materials, including a scientific review newsletter available on-line, Dairy Council Digest , a pregnancy calendar, Great Beginnings, and a feeding guide, Airplane, Choo-Choo and Other Games Parents Play. A free catalog is available upon request. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescents, Educational materials, Food preferences, Nutrition education, Young children

National WIC Association (NWA)

Annotation: The National WIC Association (NWA), formerly the National Association of WIC Directors, supports the WIC community through promoting quality nutrition services, advocating for services for all eligible recipients, and assuring sound and responsive management of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC). NWA represents the 87 state, territorial, and Native American WIC directors, 2,088 state and local agencies that provide quality nutrition education, breastfeeding support, health care and other services to nearly 7.5 million women, infants, and children in over 10,000 WIC clinics nationwide. The association publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: WIC Program, Advocacy, Health services, Low income groups, Nutrition education, Professional societies, State health agencies, Women

Society for Nutrition Education (SNE)

Annotation: The Society for Nutrition Education (SNE) represents the professional interests of nutrition educators in the United States and worldwide. SNE is dedicated to promoting healthy, sustainable food choices and has a vision of healthy people in healthy communities. SNE provides forums for sharing innovative strategies for nutrition education, expressing a range of views on related issues, and disseminating research findings. Members of SNE educate individuals, families, fellow professionals, and students, and influence policy makers about nutrition, food, and health. The Society publishes a journal and also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Team Nutrition

Annotation: Team Nutrition is an initiative of the USDA Food and Nutrition Service to support child nutrition programs through training and technical assistance for foodservice, nutrition education for children and their caregivers, and school and community support for healthy eating and physical activity. The initiative provides resources to schools and child care facilities participating in the federal child nutrition program including educational materials and a newsletter. The website contains a graphics library, information on local wellness policy and training grants, and other resources.

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition programs, Communities, Federal programs, Food consumption, Food service, Grants, Nutrition education, Physical activity, School age children, Schools, Students, Technical assistance, Training

U.S. Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (USDA)

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Training

Wellstart International

Annotation: Wellstart International strives to advance the knowledge, skills, and ability of health care providers regarding the promotion, protection, and support of optimal infant and maternal health and nutrition from conception through the completion of weaning. The Web site provides access to a wide variety of lactation management teaching tools for health are providers and a list of manuals, reports, parent education materials, and other print publications that can be purchased from Wellstart.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Parent education, Professional education

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.