Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN) is the association of professional nurses and associates who identify ambulatory care practice as essential to the continuum of high quality, cost-effective health care Their publications include ambulatory and telehealth standards, a Telehealth Nursing Practice Core Course, Guide to Ambulatory Competencies, an Annotated Staffing Bibliography, and Telehealth Resource Directory. Members receive a bi-monthly newsletter and choice of journals. AAACN holds an annual conference annually, usually in March or April.

Keywords: Primary care, Information services, Mobile health units, Nursing

Annotation: The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) is a national professional organization representing the interests of more than 125,000 nurse practitioners of all specialties. Founded in 1985, the organization provides NPs practicing in the U.S. with a unified way to network and continually advocates at the local, state, and federal levels for the recognition of NPs as providers of high-quality, cost-effective, and personalized healthcare. AANP conducts research, provides training tools, sponsors a national conference, and publishes position statements, a peer-reviewed journal, and patient education materials.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Legislation, Nursing societies

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Keywords: Nurses, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women', Workplace, s health

Annotation: American Public Health Association Public Health Nursing Section offers publications and reference information. APHA/PHNS publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Nursing, Public health

Keywords: Nursing, Pain

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Annotation: The Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing was established in 1985 to encourage and facilitate historical scholarship on health care history and nursing in the United States. The center disseminates knowledge on nursing history through education, conferences, publications, and inter-disciplinary collaboration. Current center projects range from studies on international nursing and home-based nursing to research on care of the critically ill. The center collects, processes,and catalogs primary historical materials, including books, papers, and manuscripts.

Keywords: History, Nursing

Annotation: The St. Louis-based Catholic Health Association of the United States (CHA), founded in 1915, supports the Catholic health ministry’s pursuit of the strategic directions of mission, ethics, and advocacy. As a large national group of not-for-profit sponsors, systems, and facilities, the ministry is committed to improving the health status of communities and creating quality and compassionate health care that works for everyone.

Keywords: Hospitals, Advocacy, Associations, Education, Health care systems, Leadership, Libraries, Nursing homes, Policy development, Religious organizations, Research, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: Healthy Schools Campaign advocates for policies and practices that allow all students, teachers, and staff to learn and work in a healthy school environment. HSC addresses issues of environmental health and wellness in schools by preparing stakeholders to become leaders in efforts to create change at the school, district, state, and national levels.The website contains information on programs and publications on topics such as food and fitness, environmental justice and health disparities, environmental health, and school nursing.

Keywords: Barriers, Environmental health, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, School nursing, Schools

Annotation: Organized in 1960, the Interagency Council on Information Resources for Nursing is a voluntary group made up of agencies and organizations concerned with providing library and informational resources for nursing and improving access to library services for all nurses. Each member organization appoints a representative and an alternate, usually a nurse or librarian, to serve on the council. The council produces a list of essential nursing references which is published biennially.

Keywords: Information services, Medical libraries, Nursing

Annotation: The National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN) serves as a forum for continuing education and information exchange, and it promotes legislation to improve neonatal nursing and health care for newborns and their families. Their services to consumers include referrals and reference information. NANN publishes a newsletter and journal, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Infant health, Continuing education, Health services, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal nursing, Newborn infants

Annotation: The National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON) works to advance the quality of musculoskeletal health care by promoting excellence in research, education, and nursing practice. NAON provides continuing education opportunities, posts legislative updates, and publishes a newsletter and a journal.

Keywords: Professional societies, Continuing Education, Orthopedics, Advocacy, Legislation, Musculoskeletal diseases, Nurses, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Publications

Annotation: The National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) works to improve the quality of healthcare for infants, children, adolescents, and young adults. Focus areas include child care, breastfeeding education, child maltreatment and neglect, early childhood mental health, global health care, immunization, and school-based health services. NAPNAP sponsors conferences and collaborates with a number of nurse practitioner and child health organizations. Publications include a newsletter and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Immunization, Nursing societies, Pediatric nursing, Professional societies

Annotation: The National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC) provides a forum for state-level nurse consultants to share information and develop expert consensus on issues in the practice of school nursing, as that practice relates to the overall health and educability of the nation's school children and youth. The association seeks to promote a better understanding and acceptance of comprehensive school health programs, including school health services, school health education, and a safe school environment. The Web site provides information about members, achievement awards, position statements, and links to other sources of information.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Nursing schools, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety

Annotation: The National Council of State Boards of Nursing participates in nursing regulation by assisting Member Boards, collectively and individually, to promote safe and effective nursing practice in the interest of protecting public health and welfare. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The council publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Nursing, Information services, Nursing education, Public health, Regulations, welfare programs

Annotation: The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the federal government's focal point for nursing research and research training. Funding support is provided for studies at universities, clinical sites such as hospitals, and research centers across the United States. NINR's mission is to reduce the burden of illness and disability by understanding and easing the effects of acute and chronic illness; improve health-related quality of life by preventing or delaying the onset of disease or slowing its progression; establish better approaches to promoting health and preventing disease; and improve clinical environments by testing interventions that influence patient health outcomes and reduce costs and demand for care. NINR offers referrals, reference information and publications for consumers and also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Grants, Health promotion, Nursing, Research

Annotation: The National League for Nursing (NLN) is a nonprofit association of individuals and agencies working to ensure quality health care through the continuous improvement of nursing education. Services to consumers include publications and reference information, standardized tests, and online faculty development programs. Some materials are available in Spanish. NLN publishes nursing education data, newsletters, and a peer reviewed academic journal, and sponsors conferences, seminars, workshops, and web-based courses. The NLN advances quality education that prepares the nursing work force to meet the needs of diverse populations in an ever-changing health care environment.

Keywords: Nurses, Nursing, Education, Nursing services, Nursing education

Annotation: The National Student Nurses' Association (NSNA) mentors the professional development of future nurses and facilitates their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance. The website contains a career center and information on consultants and advisors; foundation and scholarships; meetings; and publications and resources. Program focus areas include community health and disaster preparedness, education, global initiatives, and legislation.

Keywords: Students, Associations, Careers, Nurses, Nursing, Professional education

Annotation: The Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP) is a nonprofit organization committed to improving the health and well being of low-income, first-time parents and their children. NFP helps communities replicate and sustain an evidence-based program of home visiting by registered nurses. NFP sites (currently located in 20 states) are supported by a team of public health policy and administration, nursing, education and program evaluation professionals at the national office in Denver. NFP helps establish new sites and provides consultation, technical support, reporting services, and professional development for existing sites. The NFP Web site includes a directory of local sites, news updates, and fact sheets.

Keywords: Family support, Consultation, Evidence based medicine, Model programs, Nursing, Professional training, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Visting nurses