Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention Coalition of North Carolina (APPCNC) serves as a statewide clearinghouse and network for adolescent pregnancy prevention resources and helps local communities to develop prevention councils. The coalition maintains a library and resource center of more than 1,000 pamphlets, brochures, films, videotapes, curricula, national and state reports, and other materials on adolescent pregnancy issues. Services to consumers also include referrals. APPCNC sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a catalog and newsletter. It also provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Coalition, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Referals, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: Child Care Resources (CCRI) is a private, non-profit child care resource and referral agency that works with families and communities to ensure that all children have access to high quality, affordable early learning and school-age opportunities and experiences that enable them to succeed in school and life. Centers of expertise include family information services, program and business consultation, financial aid, and research and policy development. It serves Mecklenburg, Cabarrus, Union, Rowan, and Stanly counties in North Carolina.

Keywords: Child care, County initiatives, North Carolina, Referrals, State organizations

Annotation: The mission of the Family Support Network of North Carolina (FSN-NC) is to enhance the lives of North Carolina's children who have special needs or are at risk by providing support and information to families, by promoting family support, and by encouraging collaboration among families and service providers in the design and delivery of services. The Central Directory of Resources (CDR) provides printed information about disabilities and disability-related issues, and referrals to service agencies, support groups and advocacy organizations at the local, state and national level. Printed information is available to callers in North Carolina, and some materials are available in Spanish. Local Family Support Network programs provide a variety of community-based services, including peer support, workshops, NICU programs, sibling activities, and outreach to foster families with children with special needs throughout North Carolina. Family Support Network of North Carolina publishes a summer camp directory for children with special health needs in North Carolina.

Keywords: Family resource centers, Family support services, Medically fragile children, North Carolina, Stress management

Annotation: The mission of NC Child is to advance public policies that improve the lives of North Carolina’s children. The organization works statewide to ensure all children are healthy, safe, well-educated, and economically secure by engaging communities, and informing and influencing decision-makers.

Keywords: Children, North Carolina, Public policies, State organizations

Annotation: Activities of the Nutrition Services Branch promote sound nutrition habits among infants, children and women in their child-bearing years. Branch staff work with county, state and private agencies to improve health status by reducing the incidence of nutritional risk factors, improving pregnancy outcomes, and hastening recovery from illness and injury through the provision of technical assistance, education and supplemental foods. The Branch has six units: (1) the Audit Unit for Special Nutrition Programs conducts audits and agreed upon procedures to obtain reasonable assurance that CACFP and SFSP providers administer the program in compliance with applicable regulations and guidelines; (2) the Clinical Services Unit is responsible for planning and implementing nutrition services provided through the Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); providing leadership in developing nutrition policy, clinical guidance, and outreach efforts, particularly for women and preschool children; and administering the North Carolina Pediatric and Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance Systems; (3) the Information Systems Unit manages all software changes to the WIC/HSIS and NCCares applications and provides oversight to the security of the data. The NSB Helpdesk provides user support for connecting to and using these applications; (4) the Special Nutrition Programs Unit administers the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) and the Summer Food Service Program for Children (SFSP). As the administering agency, this unit provides training, technical assistance, monitoring, interpretation of federal regulations, and audits. This assistance helps institutions operate effective CACFPs and SFSPs ; (5) the Training and Field Services Unit provides consultation and technical assistance local health departments, public schools, and other public and private community agencies. This unit is also responsible for the Nutrition Education and Training (NET) program and for local agency nutritionist recruitment. This unit develops nutrition education tools for the WIC Program, CACFP and NET Programs as well as coordinates Branch training efforts for these programs; and (6) the Vendor Unit administers all aspects of the Vendor component of the WIC Program including vendor contracting, training, and surveillance. The WIC Farmers' Market Nutrition Program (FMNP) is also administered by this Unit.

Keywords: North Carolina, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, State agencies, WIC Program

Annotation: The mission of the North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation is to reduce infant mortality and morbidity and to improve the health of young children in North Carolina. NC Healthy Start manages statewide public education and awareness campaigns and provides technical assistance and leadership to community leaders, organizations, and health and human health service professionals to accomplish its mission. Media campaigns include topics related to child health insurance enrollment, reducing the risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome; preventing birth defects; and promoting healthy birth weights and healthy birth dates in an effort to reduce pre-term and low birth weight births. The Foundation is home to several national award-winning maternal and child health related media campaigns. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, and publications, and workshops are offered. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Healthy Start, Infant mortality, North Carolina, Prevention programs, State programs

Keywords: North Carolina, Oral health, State initiatives

Annotation: Smart Start is a childhood initiative in the state of North Carolina designed to help ensure that young children enter school healthy and ready to succeed. This public-private initiative provides early education funding to all of the state's 100 counties through local nonprofit organizations. Smart Start works to improve the quality of child care, make child care more affordable and accessible, and provide access to health services and other family support, Smart Start's National Technical Assistance Center provides technical assistance to communities and states and offers a variety of publications, in both English and Spanish, describing start-up efforts, lessons learned, effective practices, and quality improvement.

Keywords: School readiness, Child care, Child health, Early childhood education, Local initiatives, North Carolina, Public private partnerships, Schools, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Southeastern Regional Genetics Group (SERGG) is a network of providers of clinical genetic services, public health departments, consumers, and related laboratory services working together with affected individuals and their families. SERGG collects and disseminates information about genetic services, newborn screening programs, and other public health services related to genetics in the region, and supports research to promote better genetic services. The Group works to enhance the quality of genetic services in the Southeastern Region which includes the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands and to provide a forum for exchange of information among professionals who provide genetic services and the consumers of these services in the southeastern region of the United States.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Alabama, Consortia, Data collection, Florida, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Georgia, Information services, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Problem solving, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands

Keywords: Dental education, Dental schools, North Carolina, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: The University of North Carolina Health Sciences Library is the primary library for the UNC-Chapel Hill Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Public Health and the University of North Carolina Hospitals,. It also serves the health information needs of the entire university. The library serves the state's health professionals through the Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Library and Information Services Network. The library is open to the public and users have free access to the open collections. Some electronic databases are only available to patrons affiliated with the university. The Web site provides guides to conducting research, and users can submit questions to the reference librarians electronically.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, North Carolina, State agencies

Annotation: Originating from the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry's Department of Pediatric Dentistry and School of Medicine's Department of OBGYN, the Prenatal Oral Health Program educates and provides resources for medical and dental health care providers on the principles of prenatal oral health.

Keywords: Dental education, Dental schools, North Carolina, Oral health, Prenatal care, State programs