Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 16 (16 total).

ACT for Youth

Annotation: ACT (Assets Coming Together) for Youth connects positive youth development resources and research to practice in New York State and beyond. The ACT for Youth Center of Excellence provides technical support, training, and evaluation for youth-serving programs funded by the NYS Department of Health, youth development and adolescent sexual health resources housed on the ACT for Youth Web site, a home base for the ACT Youth Network, which connects young community activists across New York State.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, New York, Sexual health, State initiatives, Youth development, Youth services

Cancer Care

Annotation: Cancer Care is a nonprofit organization that helps people with cancer and their families to cope with the disease. The organization provides psychological, social, and educational services and financial assistance for people in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. Individual counseling, information, and referrals and group counseling and education programs are offered nationally through the Cancer Care Counseling Line (1 800 813-HOPE). Services are also offered online. Cancer Care also provides publications, including a newsletter, and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish. All services are free of charge.

Keywords: Cancer, Family support services, Support groups, Financial support, New York, New jersey, Connecticut

Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, School of Dental and Oral Surgery

Dickerman Library

Annotation: The Dickerman Library offers electronic searching of its library catalog, journal title searching for users of the New York State Department of Health, a new books display, and links to catalogs of other libraries. The Wadsworth Center is New York's state health laboratory.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, New York, State agencies

HIV Law Project

Annotation: The HIV Law Project provides legal and advocacy services to low-income HIV-positive residents of Manhattan and the Bronx, particularly women and people of color. The project provides advice and representation to clients in their day-to-day legal problems, including discriminatory treatment, HIV-related confidentiality issues, housing and eviction prevention, denial of financial and medical benefits, immigration law, public and private health insurance issues, consumer and creditor/debtor law, employment law and benefit issues, last wills and testaments and advanced planning, and permanency planning and other family law matters.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, HIV, Local organizations, New York, Patient rights

New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM)

Annotation: The New York Academy of Medicine, founded in 1847, is an independent nonprofit institution whose mission is to enhance the health of the public. The academy serves as a center for urban health policy and works to ehance the health of people living in cities worldwide through research, education, advocacy, and prevention. The academy's agenda focuses on safeguarding children's health, educating young scientists, curtailing the spread of HIV/AIDS and improving care, helping consumers access reliable helth information, improving the public's ability to come with disasters, and caring for older adults. In addition, the academy provides health education programs and has a library open to the general public (the bibliographic catalog and other electronic resources are available online). The library sponsors research fellowships, academic programs, and public lectures on medical history and related fields.

Keywords: Epidemiology, Health care reform, Health education, Health policy, New York, Poverty, Public health, Urban population

New York City Human Resources Administration

Annotation: The New York City Human Resources Administration/ Department of Social Services (HRA/DSS) provides temporary help to individuals and families with social service and economic needs to assist them in reaching self-sufficiency. HRA serves more than 3 million New Yorkers through essential and diverse programs and services that include: temporary cash assistance, public health insurance, food stamps, home care for seniors and the disabled, child care, adult protective services, domestic violence, HIV/AIDS support services and child support enforcement.

Keywords: Health insurance, Local government, Low income groups, New York

New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program ( )

Annotation: New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program coordinates state grants to comprehensive and noncategorical clinical genetics units throughout the state. This assures that all residents of the state can access genetic diagnosis, testing, counseling and treatment regardless of their social, economic, or geographic circumstances. The state newborn screening program tests all newborns born in New York State for 40 congenital diseases and HIV. Program follow-up assures that all children identified by the program are properly referred to specialty care centers. These centers are approved by New York state to provide quality medical care to all children identified by the program. Educational materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese, and other languages.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Medical research, New York, Spanish language materials, Virgin islands

New York State Health Foundation (NYSHealth)

Annotation: The New York State Health Foundation (NYSHealth) is a private, statewide foundation that aims to improve New York’s health care system by expanding health insurance coverage, containing health care costs, increasing access to high-quality services, and addressing public and community health. NYSHealth concentrates its initiatives in three strategic priority areas: expanding health care coverage, improving diabetes prevention and management, and advancing primary care.

Keywords: Community health services, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health insurance, Health promotion, New York, Access to health care, Public health, State agencies, Uninsured persons

New York State Library

Annotation: The New York State Library contains a medical library and strong collections in law and social sciences, as well as many other subject areas. Reference searches are done and extensive database searches may be requested for a fee. Referral services are provided to consumers.[In addition, public, not-for-profit and medical libraries in New York State are eligible to access free of charge the statewide NOVEL (LSTA funded) database program. For additional information contact the NOVEL Help Desk Toll Free number @877/277-0250.]

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, New York, State agencies

New York State Office of the State Comptroller

Annotation: The Comptroller's Office is responsible for managing the State’s pension fund, auditing the spending practices of all State agencies and local governments, overseeing the New York State and Local Retirement System, reviewing the New York State and City budgets, approving State contracts, and administering the State Oil Spill Fund.

Keywords: Fiscal management, New York, State agencies

New York University Child Study Center

Annotation: The NYU Child Study Center offers science-based, research-driven psychiatric care to children and adolescents with learning, behavior and emotional disorders. Research initiatives advance the understanding of the causes and treatments of child mental disorders, and these findings are then integrated into clinical care to provide state-of-the-art service. Outreach programs translate scientific research into everyday skills for parents and educators and into practical applications for pediatricians and mental health professionals around the country. Advanced training efforts prepare the next generation of mental health professionals to meet the demands of a complex and expanding field and help ensure that tomorrow's children will continue to benefit from the translation of research into advanced clinical care and effective treatments.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child psychiatry, Children, Mental health services, New York

New York Zero-to-Three Network

Annotation: The New York Zero-to-Three Network promotes the optimal development of young children, their families, and their communities in the New York region. Participants in the Network include practitioners and researchers in diverse fields such as education, child care, health care, nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy, psychology, child psychiatry, rehabilitation therapies, mental health, social services, research, as well as representatives from the legal, business and philanthropic communities. Activities include the fostering and disseminating of a developing, clinically sensitive, state-of-the-art body of knowledge to zero to three practitioners, public and voluntary institutions, policymakers, universities and professional organizations; encouraging training that integrates the perspectives of various disciplines to achieve a comprehensive and reflective approach to intervention; providing a forum for the exchange of information emanating from infant and early childhood practitioners, researchers and programs; fostering networks across service delivery systems in order to improve effectiveness and quality and comprehensiveness; diminishing social and professional isolation by facilitating collegial support among members of different disciplines; stimulating research partnerships; and promoting public awareness about and advocates for the needs of children, parents, caregivers and families.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child development, Collaboration, Infants, New York, Young children

New York-Mid-Atlantic Consortium for Genetic and Newborn Screening Services (NYMAC )

Annotation: The New York-Mid-Atlantic Consortium for Genetic and Newborn Screening Services (NYMAC) was established in September 2004 as one of seven regional collaboratives in the country funded by the Genetic Services Branch in the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)'s Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The charge of this group is to develop a regional approach to address the maldistribution of genetic resources in the New York-Mid-Atlantic region, which includes Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. The Wadsworth Center, New York State Department of Health is the lead institution for this project.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Federal programs, Genetic services, Genetics, Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia., Public health

Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy

Annotation: The Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy is a statewide, nonprofit, policy analysis and advocacy organization working to shape policies to improve health, welfare and human services for all New Yorkers, especially those who are poor or vulnerable. SCAA works with many partners including civic, business, religious, human service and government agencies to identify problems confronting the poor and design compassionate and cost effective solutions. Primary issues of concern to SCAA include: child care and early education, child support, child welfare, education policy and finance, employment training and workforce development, health care policy and finance, mental health services, low income tax policy, and welfare and income maintenance. SCAA works to change policies through reports, collaborations, forums and technical assistance.

Keywords: Health policy, New York, State organizations

Vera Institute of Justice

Annotation: The Vera Institute of Justice is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to making government policies fairer, more humane, and more efficient for all people. Working in collaboration with government and local communities, Vera designs and implements innovative projects that expand the practice of justice and improve the quality of urban life. Vera operates demonstration projects in partnership with government, conducts original research, and provides technical assistance to public officials in New York and throughout the world. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The organization publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Criminal justice system, New York, Research, Social services, Urban environment

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.