Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

Annotation: The New Mexico Association for Infant Mental Health (NMAIMH) promotes and supports healthy development and nurturing relationships for all infants and young children in New Mexico. NMAIMH provides a forum for interdisciplinary collaboration by advocating for the application of infant mental health principles in services for infants, young children and caregivers. The NMAIMH works to facilitate, support and encourage cooperation, coordination and collaboration among those concerned with promoting the optimal development of infants, toddlers and families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Cognitive development, Infant development, Infants, Mental health, New Mexico, State organizations, Young children

Annotation: The department provides an array of prevention, intervention, rehabilitative and after-care services to New Mexico children and their families. CYFD protects abused and neglected children, rehabilitates delinquent and incarcerated youth and provides child care subsidies, promotes and supports quality child care and administers statewide domestic violence programs.

Keywords: New Mexico, Child abuse, Child care, Child health, Child welfare, State agencies

Annotation: The New Mexico Office of Oral (OOH) Health goal is to increase the awareness of families, individuals, and organizations as to the importance of good oral health. The services provided by the Office of Oral Health are to reduce the incidence of and increase access for those who are experiencing dental disease along with promoting oral health as part of general health. Its mission is to ensure that all New Mexicans are provided opportunities for improving their oral health and overall health through access to prevention and treatment services and health education.

Keywords: Dental care, New Mexico, Public health agencies, State agencies

Annotation: The Early Childhood Action Network, begun in 2003, is a statewide policy forum invited to make recommendations on how to improve the well being of young children, birth to five, and their families. The Early Childhood Action Network, supported by the Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems grant, works to develop comprehensive, coordinated action plans related to the following five Children’s Cabinet-related outcomes: for all New Mexico children: birth to five and their families to (1) be physically and mentally healthy; (2) be safe and supported in their families and communities; (3) learn the skills they need to support their individual goals; (4) be able to transition to school successfully; and (5) have their families valued and their active participation promoted in their communities.

Keywords: Child health, Child mental health, Children, Families, New Mexico

Annotation: The state library serves state government, citizens, and other libraries through specialized collections emphasizing government and public policy issues. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Libraries, New Mexico, State agencies

Annotation: The Southwest Region National Child Protection Training Center (SWR-NCPTC) promotes and develops Child Advocacy Studies (CAST) programs at colleges, universities, seminaries, and medical and law schools within the region. The Center also develops ‘‘laboratory’’ training facilities that include mock houses, medical facilities, courtrooms, and forensic interview rooms that provide a real world experience to students and professionals; offers training and technical assistance in the areas of child maltreatment and advocacy, and builds a continuum of sustainable trauma-informed care and training systems.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child safety, New Mexico, Professional training, Regional agencies, Trauma

Annotation: The University of New Mexico's Center for Development and Disability (CDD) seeks to include people with disabilities and their families in their community by engaging individuals in making life choices; partnering with communities to build resources, and improving systems of care. The CDD accomplishes this mission through innovative interdisciplinary training, dissemination of information, provision of direct service and technical assistance, and applied research. The Center for Development and Disability (CDD) is one organization in the national network of University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Research, Education and Service.

Keywords: Advocacy, Disabilities, Interdisciplinary training, New Mexico, Research, Special health care needs, State agencies

Annotation: The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center provides health care to a diverse population; academic education for a variety of health professions including medicine, population health, pharmacy and nursing; and medical research.

Keywords: Health services, Medical education, Medical research, New Mexico, State agencies

Annotation: The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center, the only publicly accessible academic health sciences library in New Mexico, provides health information access and health literacy skills and training for the community. It includes distance services, Native American health information services, and the Native Health Database, a curated collection of resources on all aspects of health for the Indigenous peoples of North America.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Native Americans, New Mexico, State agencies