Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality , Health Care Innovations Exchange (AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exhcnage)

Annotation: The AHRQ Health Care Innovations Exchange is a central repository of ideas and tools for assessing, measuring, promoting, and improving the quality of health care; a standardized description of innovations and quality tools; and opportunities for learning and networking. The site’s content may be browsed by single or multiple subjects including client population, stage of care, setting of care, client care process, Institute of Medicine domains of quality, organizational purpose, and disease or clinical category. Resources to inform and guide efforts, instructions for submitting an innovation, and information about funding opportunities are also provided.

Keywords: Diffusion of innovation, Health care delivery, Networking, Program improvement, Quality assurance

American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation, Peers for Progress

Annotation: Peers for Progress is a program of the American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation and supported by the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation. The program was founded in 2006 to promote peer support as a key part of health, health care, and prevention around the world. Activities include promoting peer support programs, developing a global network of peer support programs, and hosting a global web page to circulate program materials and curricula.

Keywords: Information networks, International programs, Networking, Peer counseling, Peer education, Peer groups, Peer support programs

American Network of Oral Health Coalitions (ANOHC)

Annotation: American Network of Oral Health Coalitions is an online community of oral health coalitions from across the country. The website contains community forums for users to pose questions and engage in conversations with other members and topic experts about specific issues. Users can also post and find documents of interest, tools, samples, and presentations. The website was developed through a cooperative agreement between Oral Health America and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Keywords: Coalitions, Coordination, Networking, Oral health

Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI)

Annotation: The Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI) convenes and supports leaders from the health care, public health, community, and philanthropic sectors to help achieve shared community health goals. The association works to strengthen community health through education, peer networking, and the dissemination of practical tools such as searchable databases, audio conferences, and free downloadable community health materials. ACHI hosts an annual conference, publishes a newsletter, and posts news and updates on its website.

Keywords: Community based services, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Networking

CityMatCH

Annotation: CityMatCH is a national organization of maternal and child health (MCH) leaders working to improve the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families by strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in their communities. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Learning Network brings community stakeholders together to build consensus, support, and partnership around infant mortality data. CityMatCH convenes an annual conference, a webinar series, and leadership training for emerging and mid-level leaders in urban MCH. Resources include the CityLights newsletter, the MCH Life Course Toolbox, NewsBriefs, a Toolkit for Policy Development, and issue specific publications.

Keywords: State surveys, Health agencies, Immunization, Information sources, Local MCH programs, MCH services, Networking, Program descriptions, Publications, Urban health

Community Commons

Annotation: Community Commons is an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities' movement. Services include map-able geographic information systems for all communities in the United States; an application program interface, providing free interoperable access to data; contextualized mapping, reporting, data visualization, and sharing abilities; searchable profiles of place-based community initiatives and multi-sector collaborations; peer learning opportunities to explore similar topics and share best practices; spaces for individuals and communities to share narratives, interviews, videos, images, documents, and other online resources.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Public private partnerships, Social change, Social learning

Healthy Schools Network

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3)

Annotation: Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3) helps organizations, communities, and governments improve the understanding of, investment in, and action toward the vitality of people, places, and the natural environment. Services include data visualization and geographic information systems mapping, evidence and impact research, and storytelling and social media. IP3 supports Community Commons, an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the healthy/sustainable/livable communities' movement.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Research, Social change, Social learning

Mothers United for Moral Support National Parent to Parent Network (MUMS)

Annotation: Mothers United for Moral Support National Parent to Parent Network (MUMS) is an organization for parents or care providers of a child with any disability, rare disorder, chromosomal abnormality or health condition. MUMS's mission to provide support to parents in the form of a networking system that matches them with other parents whose children have the same or similar condition. Through a database of more than 21,000 families from 56 countries, covering over 3500 disorders, very rare syndromes or conditions can be matched. Parents can then exchange valuable medical information, the names of doctors, clinics and medical resources or research programs, and provide each other with emotional support. The Network's list serve is open to anyone. MUMS networks with other organizations which do matching, thus expanding the possibilities of finding a match. MUMS also connects parents with support groups dealing with their child's specific disability or assists them in forming a group. The newsletters allow families to share and speak out about issues affecting their lives. Donations are requested for matching service and newsletter subscription - but offered free if financial need is expressed. MUMS also is acting as a clearinghouse to distribute information about Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT) as a treatment for brain damage.

Keywords: Family support, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Parent groups, Parent networking, Rare diseases, Support groups

National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

National Center for Dental Hygiene Research & Practice (NCDHRP)

Annotation: The National Center for Dental Hygiene Research and Practice (NCDHRP) promotes the health of the public by fostering the development, implementation, and dissemination of oral health research; establishing an infrastructure to support dental hygiene research; and strengthening the scientific foundation for the discipline of dental hygiene. Activities include grant training, research projects, and educational programs. The website contains research agendas, databases, funding sources, training, practice guidelines, sources of information on oral diseases and conditions, news, position papers, and programs. The DHNet Researcher's Network explores commonalities in research interests, offers opportunities to learn about new and ongoing research programs, and promotes collaboration to systematically and purposefully advance dental hygiene practice and education through research.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental hygiene, Mentors, Model programs, Networking, Oral health, Research, Training

National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home works to ensure that all children and youth, including children with special needs, have a medical home where health care services are accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally competent. The Center provides medical home resources and advocacy materials, technical assistance, and tools to physicians, families, and other medical and non-medical providers who care for children. The Center works in cooperation with federal agencies, particularly the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and other partners and stakeholders to meet its goals and objectives. The center was formerly the National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI).

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, National MCH resource center, Networking, Resource centers, Training

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.