Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Early Childhood Caries (ECC) Initiative is a multi-faceted program designed to enhance knowledge about ECC prevention and early intervention among all health professionals and the community. The initiative provides the health care team (including oral health professionals, medical providers, community health representatives, Head Start staff, and WIC program staff) with the tools to begin a successful program. The website provides information on best practices, the Basic Screening Survey, a framework for ECC early intervention focusing on "caries stabilization," ECC programs, frequently asked questions, fluoride varnish, and other resources.

Keywords: American Indians, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Interdisciplinary approach, Native Americans, Primary care, Program planning

Annotation: The National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) aims to support and advocate for quality, accessible health care for all American Indians and Alaska Natives living in urban communities through advocacy, training, education, and leadership development. The council supports Urban Indian Health Programs (UIHP) that include comprehensive clinics and outreach centers. Information available includes newsletters, weekly news and resources update, legislative alerts, position papers on urban Indian health, and additional resources. The council presents an annual conference, workshops and training opportunities, and a membership teleconference series.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alaska Natives, Native Americans, Training, Urban health, Urban population

Annotation: The National Indian Health Board (NIHB) is a nonprofit organization that advocates on behalf of tribal governments and and American Indians/Alaska Natives in their efforts to provide quality health care. NIHB provides a variety of services to tribes, tribal organizations, area health boards, federal agencies, and provide foundations, including policy analysis and formation, training and technical assistance programs, communication with tribes, legislative tracking, program development, and project management. The Board publishes a variety of electronic newsletters and hosts health summits and conferences.

Keywords: Health promotion, Minority groups, Native Americans

Annotation: The National Native American AIDS Prevention Center (NNAAPC) strives to stop the spread of HIV and related diseases among American Indians, Alaskan Natives, and Native Hawaiians, and to improve the quality of life for those infected and affected by HIV/AIDS. NNAAPC provides referrals, printed materials, and information about AIDS and AIDS prevention in the Native American communities. Publications include a newsletter, guidebooks and training materials. The agency also hosts a list serve and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Health services, Minority groups, Native Americans

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Annotation: The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center, the only publicly accessible academic health sciences library in New Mexico, provides health information access and health literacy skills and training for the community. It includes distance services, Native American health information services, and the Native Health Database, a curated collection of resources on all aspects of health for the Indigenous peoples of North America.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Native Americans, New Mexico, State agencies

Annotation: the Urban Indian Health Institute (UIHI) was established in 2000 as a division within the Seattle Indian Health Board (SIHB), a community health center targeting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. The UIHI provides centralized nationwide management of health surveillance, research, and policy considerations regarding the health status deficiencies affecting urban American Indians and Alaska Natives. Its principal components are the Urban Indian Information Center, the Urban Indian Epidemiology Center, and the Center for Tele-Health / Tele-Education and Advanced Communication.

Keywords: Native Americans, Urban health, Urban populations