Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Keywords: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Health statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, State health agencies, State programs

Annotation: Free To Grow is a national demonstration program aimed at strengthening Head Start's organizational capacity and local partnerships to implement integrated family and community strengthening strategies to reduce young children's vulnerability to substance abuse, child abuse and other destructive behaviors. Free to Grow works to identify the best ideas and practices in the field of prevention in general, and substance abuse and child abuse prevention in particular, and apply them to improve the overall environment of young children. There are fifteen Free To Grow sites across the country. These sites work in collaboration with local funding and program partners, including school systems, law enforcement, and substance abuse and mental health treatment programs. Funded by a partnership of foundations and government agencies, the program operates out of Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. The Web site provides an electronic newsletter and information about strategies and resources of use to families and professionals.

Keywords: Child abuse, Community programs, Head Start, National initiatives, Prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: Healthy Eating Research (HER) is a national program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. HER supports research to identify, analyze, and evaluate environmental and policy strategies that can promote healthy eating among children and prevent childhood obesity. Special emphasis is given to research projects that benefit children and adolescents and their families, especially in lower-income and racial and ethnic populations at highest risk for obesity.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Ethnic factors, Health disparities, Health policy, Health promotion, Low income groups, MCH research, National programs, Nutrition policy, Obesity, Policy development, Risk factors

Annotation: The National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC) is based within the University of California, San Francisco’s Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies. In its efforts to improve adolescent and young adult health, NAHIC focuses on the intersection of public health, systems of care, and clinical practice through research, synthesis, dissemination, networking, and partnering. As part of its work, NAHIC supports state efforts to improve care for adolescents and young adults. Current efforts are linked to the transformation of the MCH/Title V block grant program. In September 2014, MCHB awarded UCSF funding for two new projects to be carried out by NAHIC: the Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center (AYAH-NRC) and the Adolescent and Young Adult Health Research Network.

Keywords: Adolescent health, National MCH resource center, Policy, Programs, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

Annotation: The National Association of State Offices of Minority Health (NASOMH) provides leadership in promoting and protecting the health of racial and ethnic minority communites, tribal organizations, and nations. NASOMH provides information on guiding principles, core competencies, and contact information for state-level Offices of Minority Health.

Keywords: Cultural barriers, Ethnic groups, Minority health, National organizations, Racial factors, State programs

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: The National Coordinating and Evaluation Center for the Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program (NCEC SCDAA) works with grantees of the national Sickle Cell Disease and Newborn Screening Program, which is comprised of 17 funded community based sickle cell disease (SCD) projects and the NCEC SCDAA. The community–based SCD projects partner with state newborn screening programs, comprehensive sickle cell treatment centers, and health care professionals to provide support to infants screened positive for SCD and trait and their families. The projects work cooperatively and with theNCEC SCDAA to implement a model program of SCD carrier follow-up to include notification, extended family testing, counseling and education of affected individuals and families. The Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program is administered by the Division of Services for Children with Special Health Care Needs in Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Sickle cell disease, Technical assistance

Annotation: The National Coordinating Center for the Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Service Collaboratives (NCC) -- which was established along with seven Genetics and Newborn Screening Regional Collaborative Groups (RCs) in 2004 -- is part of the federal initiative to improve the health of children and their families by promoting the translation of genetic medicine into public health and health care services. The NCC provides infrastructure, coordination, technical assistance, and resources to the various RCs. The coordinating center also facilitates local projects and uses communities identified through the RCs to pilot test materials for policymakers, health professionals and families. Technical assistance is provided to the RCs in the areas of telemedicine, legal issues, and the assessment of state and federal legislation that may affect the delivery of genetic and newborn screening services. NCC's webcasts on topics such as financing of newborn screening and genetic services and the use of telegenetics to increase access to services are archived at www.mchcom.com. Other online resources include a page for parents and families; resources for professionals; links to glossaries and reference services; newsletters, reports, and other publications; and advocacy and support group information. The NCC is formed as a partnership with the Genetic Services Branch of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (HRSA) through a cooperative agreement with the American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG). The NCC is organized around a central office and an Advisory Committee which includes the seven RCs and representatives of national organizations that serve as resources to the NCC and the RCs.

Keywords: Genetics, Resource centers, Federal programs, Genetic services, Genetics education, National MCH resource center, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Public health, Regional genetics networks

Annotation: The National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network is a system of integrated health, exposure, and hazard information and data from a variety of national, state, and city sources. The Network's Web site provides information, maps, tables, and charts about health and environment across the United States. Additional features include communication materials and social media tools such as national, state, and city profiles; video; podcasts, and a discussion list.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Data analysis, Environmental health, Geographic factors, Information dissemination, Integrated information systems, National programs, Online databases, Public health

Annotation: The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programming and consultation for health care organizations throughout the nation and the world with the goal of eliminating health disparities among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people. The Center is a part of The Fenway Institute, the research, training, and health policy division of Fenway Health, a federally qualified LGBt-focused health center. The website contains a blog, a training and events calendar, and publications and resources.

Keywords: Health education, National programs, Sexuality

Annotation: The National MCH Workforce Development Center at the University of North Carolina provides workforce development for state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) program leaders and staff in implementing the Affordable Care Act (ACA), focusing on four key programmatic areas including access to care, quality improvement, systems integration, and population health management. In addition, the center helps to prepare the future MCH workforce with skills and knowledge to succeed in a transformed public health system under the ACA. The center serves as a consolidated national hub for the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's MCH Workforce Development Centers Program, engaging with key academic, policy, and public health practice partners and providing workforce development in each of the four key areas. It is operated in cooperation with the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP). [Funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Public health, Health care reform, MCH programs, National initiatives, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional training, Program implementation, Work force

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) at the University of Colorado Denver promotes health and safety in out-of-home child care settings throughout the nation. NRC collaborates with the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to produce national health and safety performance standards guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. The center's website provides resources for child care providers, parents, health consultants, regulators, and early childhood systems leaders including a database of state licensure regulations.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Consumer education, Information sources, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Regulations, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Standards, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National SIDS Sudden Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (PSC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), helps professionals and organizations at the local, state, regional, and national levels to initiate, expand, or improve their risk-reduction education and bereavement support programming. PSC provides information, training, and educational materials for families and for professionals. Programs include the African American Faith-Based Bereavement Support Initiative, the Healthy Child Care America Back to Sleep Train the Trainer Campaign, continuing education programs for nurses and pharmacists, and the Kicks Count campaign aimed at reducing stillbirths.

Keywords: Technical assistance, Curriculum development, Infant death, Infant mortality, National MCH resource center, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention programs, Resource centers, SIDS, Statistics, Training materials

Annotation: The creation of the Public Health Agency of Canada marks federal leadership and collaboration with provinces and territories on efforts to renew the public health system in Canada and support a sustainable health care system. Focussed on more effective efforts to prevent chronic diseases, like cancer and heart disease, prevent injuries and respond to public health emergencies and infectious disease outbreaks, the Public Health Agency of Canada works closely with provinces and territories to keep Canadians healthy and help reduce pressures on the health care system.

Keywords: Canada, Disease prevention, Health promotion, National programs, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Public health agencies

Annotation: Reading Is Fundamental, Inc. (RIF), founded in 1966, motivates children to read by working with them, their parents, and community members to make reading a fun and beneficial part of everyday life. RIF’s highest priority is reaching underserved children from birth to age 8. Through community volunteers in every state and U.S. territory, RIF provides 4.5 million children with 16 million new, free books and literacy resources each year. For more information and to access reading resources, visit RIF’s website.

Keywords: Educational programs, Children', Community programs, Literacy, National programs, Parent child relations, Parent education programs, Reading, s literature

Annotation: The State Adolescent Health Resource Center for State MCH Personnel (SAHRC) was launched in January 2001 through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). In September 2014, SAHRC joined the Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, an evolution of the MCHB cooperative agreement from years' past.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health professionals, Adolescent health programs, MCH training, National MCH resource center, Resource centers

Annotation: The State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC) is a resource center for state Title V agencies (supported through the MCH Block Grant) and others interested in improving systems for children, youth, and families with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. The SPHARC Web site provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism and other special health care needs.

Keywords: Autism, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Models, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V