Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

Best Babies Zone (BBZ)

Annotation: The Best Babies Zone (BBZ) Initiative is a multi-sector approach to reducing infant mortality and racial disparities in birth outcomes and improving birth and health outcomes by mobilizing communities to address the social determinants that affect health. The uniqueness of this national initiative lies in the fact that not only is the approach zonal, but it is comprehensive – addressing four critical sectors – economics, education, health, and community – in order to strengthen environments that support better and healthier outcomes. BBZ is funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and is being implemented in three cities – Cincinnati, Ohio; New Orleans, Louisiana; and Oakland, California.

Keywords: Barriers, Cities, Communities, Community action, Environmental influences, Infant mortality, National initiatives, Public private partnerships, Racial factors, Risk factors, Socioeconomic factors

California Dental Association (CDA)

Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation and Leadership Training

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Free to Grow: Head Start Partnerships to Promote Substance-Free Communities

Annotation: Free To Grow is a national demonstration program aimed at strengthening Head Start's organizational capacity and local partnerships to implement integrated family and community strengthening strategies to reduce young children's vulnerability to substance abuse, child abuse and other destructive behaviors. Free to Grow works to identify the best ideas and practices in the field of prevention in general, and substance abuse and child abuse prevention in particular, and apply them to improve the overall environment of young children. There are fifteen Free To Grow sites across the country. These sites work in collaboration with local funding and program partners, including school systems, law enforcement, and substance abuse and mental health treatment programs. Funded by a partnership of foundations and government agencies, the program operates out of Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. The Web site provides an electronic newsletter and information about strategies and resources of use to families and professionals.

Keywords: Child abuse, Community programs, Head Start, National initiatives, Prevention programs, Substance abuse

Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN)

Annotation: The Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN) at Johns Hopkins University is a national network to strengthen the role of home visiting as part of a comprehensive system of services for expectant families and families with young children. The website provides information about professional development for home visiting researchers and HVRN presentations, publications, and other media. HVRN is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Home visiting, Information networks, MCH research, National initiatives, Professional education

National Alliance for Grieving Children

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

National MCH Workforce Development Center

Annotation: The National MCH Workforce Development Center at the University of North Carolina provides workforce development for state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) program leaders and staff in implementing the Affordable Care Act (ACA), focusing on four key programmatic areas including access to care, quality improvement, systems integration, and population health management. In addition, the center helps to prepare the future MCH workforce with skills and knowledge to succeed in a transformed public health system under the ACA. The center serves as a consolidated national hub for the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau's MCH Workforce Development Centers Program, engaging with key academic, policy, and public health practice partners and providing workforce development in each of the four key areas. It is operated in cooperation with the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP). [Funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Public health, Health care reform, MCH programs, National initiatives, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional training, Program implementation, Work force

Safety Net Medical Home Initiative

Annotation: The Safety Net Medical Home Initiative helps 65 primary care safety net sites in five states become high-performing patient-centered medical homes. The website provides access to implementation guides, assessment tools, presentations, and other materials related to practice transformation, as well as resources on payment and recognition. The five-year initiative is supported by the Commonwealth Fund, Qualis Health, and the MacColl Center for Health Care Innovation at the Group Health Research Institute.

Keywords: Educational change, Family centered care, Family centered services, Health care reform, Medical home, National initiatives, Organizational change, Patient care, Reimbursement

Urgent Matters

Annotation: Urgent Matters is an initiative of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help hospitals eliminate emergency department (ED) crowding and help communities understand the challenges facing the health care safety net. The program's goals are: (1) to improve the ability of safety net profiders to respond to increasing emergency department volumes; (2) to assess and highlight the state of local safety nets in select communities; and (3) to publicize the program's findings to local and national audiences. Publications and an electronic newsletter are available.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Hospitals, National initiatives

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.