Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women', s health

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Maryland's Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities works to promote health equity among African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic/Latino Americans, and Native Americans toward improving the health of all Marylanders.

Keywords: Health promotion, Maryland, Minority groups, Minority health, State agencies

Annotation: The National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH) is a network of Hispanic health and human service providers that focuses on improving the health and well being of Hispanics. The alliance maintains the National Hispanic Family Health Helpline (866-783-2645) which offers Hispanic consumers free reliable and confidential health information in Spanish and English.Services to consumers includes referrals to local sources of information and medical services, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Adolescent health, Child abuse, Child health, Education, Information services, Injury prevention, Minority health, Minority health promotion, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Association of Health Services Executives is a professional organization of black and minority managers of health services. The Association is interested not only in health care management but also in addressing weaknesses in the health care system as it impacts minorities.

Keywords: Blacks, Health services administration, Minority health, Minority health promotion

Annotation: The National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI) works to improve the quality of life for African-American children and their families through direct services, public education, leadership training, and research. NBCDI focuses primarily on issues and services that fall within the areas of health, child welfare, education, and child care/early childhood education. The organization monitors public policy issues that affect African American children, strengthens and promotes cross-cultural partnerships, and educates the public through publications, conferences, and other public education forums. NBCDI is supported by a nationwide network of affiliate chapters.

Keywords: Blacks, Child care, Health promotion, Minority groups

Annotation: The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) is a civil rights and advocacy organization that works to improve the lives of Hispanic Americans, including their access to health care, education, financial independence, and home ownership. NCLR's activities include public policy analysis; applied research; health education; advocacy to influence policies and program that equitably address the needs of the Hispanic community; and public information efforts that present accurate, positive images of Hispanic Americans. The council sponsors conferences and training seminars,; publishes issue briefs, fact sheets, and reports; and provides referrals to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Minority groups, Advocacy, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Information services, Mexican-Americans, Public policies

Annotation: The National Indian Health Board (NIHB) is a nonprofit organization that advocates on behalf of tribal governments and and American Indians/Alaska Natives in their efforts to provide quality health care. NIHB provides a variety of services to tribes, tribal organizations, area health boards, federal agencies, and provide foundations, including policy analysis and formation, training and technical assistance programs, communication with tribes, legislative tracking, program development, and project management. The Board publishes a variety of electronic newsletters and hosts health summits and conferences.

Keywords: Health promotion, Minority groups, Native Americans

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

Keywords: Health promotion, Minority groups, Minority health, State agencies