Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (51 total).

African American Family Services (AAFS)

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

American Indian Institute (AII)

Annotation: The American Indian Institute (AIII) was established in 1951 as a nonprofit American Indian service, training, and research organization. The institute provides assistance to American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nation tribes and bands in the areas of health and wellness, education, culture and language preservation, tribal leadership, and business and economic development. The institute delivers its services through publications, references information, workshops, seminars, conferences, referrals, on-site consultation, and technical assistance on a state, regional, national, and international basis.

Keywords: American Indians, Education, Minority groups, Minority health, Research

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA)

Annotation: The Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA) is a national organization that aims to address those issues important to Asian-American medical students. APAMSA works to bring together Asians and others interested in the health issues that affect Asians. The association is interested in promoting the health and well-being of the Asian community and in helping all health care workers who work with these communities understand how to care for the Asian patient in a culturally sensitive manner. APAMSA also provides a forum for APA medical students to meet, exchange information and experiences, and develop personally and professionally.

Keywords: Medical education, Medical students, Asian Americans, Minority health

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC)

Annotation: The Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC), coordinated by the Children's Defense Fund, works to mobilize the African American community on behalf of children and families. The organization promotes local, state, and national initiatives and policies that ensure a healthy start for every child and that support efforts to revitalize communities. Activities include public education campaigns, leadership training programs, and the dissemination of data, information, and research findings in print and multimedia formats. News updates, BCCC publications, and resources are available on the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Leadership training, Minority health

Black Women's Health Imperative (Imperative)

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women's health

California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN)

Annotation: The California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN) works to eliminate health disparities by advocating for public policies and sufficient resources to address the health needs of all communities of color in the state of California. The network consists of four organizations representing different ethnic groups—the California Black Health Network, Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum, The California Rural Indian Health Board, Inc. and the Latino Coalition for a Healthy California. CPEHN's website provides access to policy briefs, webinars, race and ethnicity data, and a multicultural health library.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Health care reform, Minority groups, State organizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (CDC OMHHE)

Annotation: CDC;s Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (formerly the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified as at-risk for health disparities.

Keywords: Minority health, Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Technical assistance

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

EthnoMed

Annotation: EthnoMed is an ethnic medicine website related to cross-cultural and refuge health topics, including health screening, cultural competence, breastfeeding, domestic violence, mental health, nutrition, oral health, women's health, and infant/child care The website contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Immigrants, Minority health, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Refugees, Resources for professionals

First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA)

Annotation: First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA) was established to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well being of native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health. The purpose of FNBHA is to provide national leadership to all groups, institutions, and individuals that plan, provide, and access Native American behavioral health services. The association maintains an online resource library.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Health education, Library services, Mental health, Minority groups

First Nations Development Institute

Annotation: The First Nations Development Institute (FNDI) helps to improve economic conditions for Native Americans through technical assistance and training, advocacy and policy, and direct financial grants in five areas: (1) financial and investor education; (2) combating predatory lending; (3) Native American business and asset development; (4) strengthening Native American nonprofits; and (5) Native foods and health.

Keywords: American Indians, Health, Minority groups, Nutrition

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Hilltop Institute

Annotation: The Hilltop Institute (formerly the Center for Health Program Development and Management at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County) works with government agencies, foundations, and nonprofit organizations at the national, regional, and local levels to improve the health and social outcomes of vulnerable populations. With expertise in Medicaid and access to care, the Institute (1) analyzes and recommends Medicaid payment systems and rates; (2) supports community health improvement through analysis and technical assistance.; (3) analyzes federal, state and local health care policies to optimize access to services, quality of care, provider performance, and purchaser value; and (4) develops implements, and evaluates new delivery and financing models for publicly funded health care systems.

Keywords: Access to health care, Minority groups, Research, Universities

Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR)

Annotation: The Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR) is a national consortium of Latino research centers based at major universities across the United States. The primary objectives of IUPLR are to expand the pool of scholars and leaders, strengthen the capacity of Latino research centers, and facilitate the availability of policy-relevant, Latino-focused research. IUPLR offers training programs, sponsors interdisciplinary research, and creates links between scholars, policy experts, public officials, and community advocates.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Puerto Ricans

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Annotation: The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, a nonpartisan, nonprofit institution founded in 1970, contributes to the nation's major public policy debates through research, analysis, and information dissemination in order to: improve the socioeconomic status of black Americans and other minorities; expand their effective participation in the political and public policy arenas; and promote communications and relationships across racial and ethnic lines to strengthen the nation's pluralistic society.

Keywords: Minority health, Blacks, Public policies, Socioeconomic factors

Journeyworks Publishing

Annotation: Journeyworks Publishing produces health education promotion materials including pamphlets, brochures, posters, and bookmarks, in these topic areas: tobacco prevention, smoking cessation, secondhand smoke, sexual abstinence, pregnancy prevention, male involvement, HIV and STD prevention, birth control, prenatal care, child health and parenting, drugs and alcohol, violence prevention, stress, mental wellness, fitness and nutrition, date rape, gay youth, women's health, Alzheimer's disease, and materials in Spanish, Vietnamese, and Chinese. It also produces the Luann health series designed for the adolescent audience. Materials are directed at diverse audiences, and some are for low literacy audiences.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Adolescent health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Health education, Low literacy materials, Minority groups, Posters

Latino Medical Students Association

Annotation: The Latino Medical Students Association (LMSA) strives to promote the recruitment, retention, academic success and support of Latinos in health profession careers that will help improve the delivery of health care services to Latinos and other medically underserved populations. The association promotes the development of a communication network for Latino medical and other health care students; fosters students' interests in improving health care for underserved communities; and offers educational enrichment programs for the recruitment of Latino medical school applicants. LMSA sponsors an annual conference and publishes an annual journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Medical students, Hispanic Americans , Medical education, Minority health, Underserved communities

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.