Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

American Indian Institute (AII)

Annotation: The American Indian Institute (AIII) was established in 1951 as a nonprofit American Indian service, training, and research organization. The institute provides assistance to American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nation tribes and bands in the areas of health and wellness, education, culture and language preservation, tribal leadership, and business and economic development. The institute delivers its services through publications, references information, workshops, seminars, conferences, referrals, on-site consultation, and technical assistance on a state, regional, national, and international basis.

Keywords: American Indians, Education, Minority groups, Minority health, Research

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

ASPIRA Association

Annotation: ASPIRA Association is a national Hispanic leadership development organization that offers leadership and educational opportunities to Puerto Rican and other Latino adolescents. It sponsors a national health careers program that encourages Hispanic youth to prepare for careers in health-related fields, operates demonstration projects in Hispanic communities and has designed and implemented afterschool educational programs. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Outreach

Association for Research on Mothering (ARM)

Annotation: The Association for Research on Mothering (ARM) is an international feminist organization on motherhood and mothering. It is housed at the Centre for Research on Mothering at York University. ARM is an association for scholars, writers, activists, professionals, agencies, policy makers, educators, parents, and artists. Its mandate is to provide a forum for the discussion and dissemination of feminist, academic, and community grassroots research, theory, and praxis on mothering-motherhood.ARM are committed, in both membership and research, to the inclusion of all mothers, First Nations, immigrant and refugee mothers, working-class mothers, lesbian mothers, mothers with disabilities, mothers of colour, and mothers from other marginalized communities.It offers an electronic newsletterm a journal, and other publications.

Keywords: Ethnic groups, International organizations, Minority groups, Mothers

Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP)

Annotation: The Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP) strives to improve the overall health of American Indian and Alaskan Native Communities through a variety of programs that directly address widely acknowledged health disparities. AAIP hosts educational forums, workshops, and conferences in different regions throughout the year and strives to motivate American Indian and Alaskan Native students to remain in the academic pipeline and to pursue a career in the health professions.

Keywords: American Indians, Minority groups

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Black Women's Health Imperative (Imperative)

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women's health

California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN)

Annotation: The California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN) works to eliminate health disparities by advocating for public policies and sufficient resources to address the health needs of all communities of color in the state of California. The network consists of four organizations representing different ethnic groups—the California Black Health Network, Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum, The California Rural Indian Health Board, Inc. and the Latino Coalition for a Healthy California. CPEHN's website provides access to policy briefs, webinars, race and ethnicity data, and a multicultural health library.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Health care reform, Minority groups, State organizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (CDC OMHHE)

Annotation: CDC;s Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (formerly the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified as at-risk for health disparities.

Keywords: Minority health, Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Technical assistance

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Clinical Directors Network (CDN)

Annotation: The Clinical Directors Network (CDN) is a practice-based research network that provides primary care and research opportunities to medically underserved populations. CDN operates as a private, non-profit corporation by and for a network of current and future community/migrant health center clinical leaders, providing customized office system consultation and training. CDN's overall goal is the translation of clinical research into clinical practice. The website contains information about CDN's research programs, on-site and online training via webcast production services, and clinical education library.

Keywords: Minority groups, Professional training, Research

First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA)

Annotation: First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA) was established to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well being of native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health. The purpose of FNBHA is to provide national leadership to all groups, institutions, and individuals that plan, provide, and access Native American behavioral health services. The association maintains an online resource library.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Health education, Library services, Mental health, Minority groups

First Nations Development Institute

Annotation: The First Nations Development Institute (FNDI) helps to improve economic conditions for Native Americans through technical assistance and training, advocacy and policy, and direct financial grants in five areas: (1) financial and investor education; (2) combating predatory lending; (3) Native American business and asset development; (4) strengthening Native American nonprofits; and (5) Native foods and health.

Keywords: American Indians, Health, Minority groups, Nutrition

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Hilltop Institute

Annotation: The Hilltop Institute (formerly the Center for Health Program Development and Management at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County) works with government agencies, foundations, and nonprofit organizations at the national, regional, and local levels to improve the health and social outcomes of vulnerable populations. With expertise in Medicaid and access to care, the Institute (1) analyzes and recommends Medicaid payment systems and rates; (2) supports community health improvement through analysis and technical assistance.; (3) analyzes federal, state and local health care policies to optimize access to services, quality of care, provider performance, and purchaser value; and (4) develops implements, and evaluates new delivery and financing models for publicly funded health care systems.

Keywords: Access to health care, Minority groups, Research, Universities

HMA Associates

Annotation: HMA Associates provides immunization and other public health messages to major media networks that serve the information needs of the Spanish-speaking public. These culturally relevant public service announcements are also available to local community-based organizations and health departments. Publications are also provided to consumers, and some materials are available in Asian languages, as well as Spanish. HMA Associates also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Immunization, Minority groups, Public service announcements

Journeyworks Publishing

Annotation: Journeyworks Publishing produces health education promotion materials including pamphlets, brochures, posters, and bookmarks, in these topic areas: tobacco prevention, smoking cessation, secondhand smoke, sexual abstinence, pregnancy prevention, male involvement, HIV and STD prevention, birth control, prenatal care, child health and parenting, drugs and alcohol, violence prevention, stress, mental wellness, fitness and nutrition, date rape, gay youth, women's health, Alzheimer's disease, and materials in Spanish, Vietnamese, and Chinese. It also produces the Luann health series designed for the adolescent audience. Materials are directed at diverse audiences, and some are for low literacy audiences.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Adolescent health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Health education, Low literacy materials, Minority groups, Posters

Links Foundation

Annotation: The Links Foundation is a nonprofit organization operated exclusively for charitable and educational purposes. The Foundation is empowered to design support and conduct educational activities useful to individuals, groups and communities. The Foundation also provides services to youth which are directed toward upgrading both their academic and technical skills, charitable services to senior citizens, and supporting the defense of individual and group human and civil rights. The Links Foundation also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Family planning programs, Minority groups, Substance abuse prevention

Marimed Foundation

Annotation: The Marimed Foundation provides comprehensive services to Hawaii youth and families through marine-based experiential treatment and education programs that help moderately or severely challenged adolescents in their personal development and family relationships, facilitating their successful reintegration into home, school, or appropriate community alternatives. Foundation publications include a newsletter; materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Education, Federated States of Micronesia, Health services, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders

Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN)

Annotation: The Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN) engages in research, develops appropriate resources, advocates for migrants and clinicians, engages outside partners, and runs programs that support clinical care on the frontline of migrant health. The website provides resources on a variety of topics including children's health, family violence, immunizations, oral health, and women's health. A resource database includes downloadable resources as well as links on a wide variety of primary care issues, including links to other organizations, patient education tools, clinical guidelines, MCN program materials, multilingual resources, research guidelines, a toolbox of best practices, and more.

Keywords: Community health centers, Migrants, Minority groups

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.