Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC) funds Health Centers in underserved communities, providing access to high quality, family oriented, comprehensive primary and preventive health care for people who are low-income, uninsured or face other obstacles to getting health care. The Web site provides access to searchable databases, statistics, employment opportunities, document archives, and publications.

Keywords: HIV, Homeless persons, Immunization, Migrant health, Primary health care, Public health programs, Public health services, Public housing, Underserved communities

Annotation: The East Coast Migrant Head Start Project (ECMHSP) is a private, non-profit agency that provides continuity of Head Start services to children of migrant farm workers on the east coast of the United States. ECMHSP serves children from birth to age 5 whose families quality based on the federal poverty income guidelines and the federal definitions of migrant and seasonal farm workers. ECMHSP prepares young children for educational success -- especially children of migrant and seasonal farm workers -- by providing holistic, high quality early childhood services for families in a nurturing, culturally sensitive environment.

Keywords: Young children, Head Start, Health services, Migrants

Annotation: Funded by the Bureau of Primary Health Care, Farmworker Health Services seeks to empower migrant and seasonal farm workers and their families to take ownership of their lives through its provision of health care, its outreach social services, and its promotion of preventive health care. The project places health professionals and allied health personnel at over 30 Migrant and Community Health Centers (M/CHC's) along the east coast during times of peak agricultural activity. It also strives to raise the consciousness of business, health care, social service, educational, and religious entities about the plight of the farm workers and to solicit their support. Offers referrals to consumers and sponsors outreach seminars. Materials are available in Spanish and Creole.

Keywords: Farm workers, Migrant health, Migrants, Outreach, Social services

Annotation: The Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN) engages in research, develops appropriate resources, advocates for migrants and clinicians, engages outside partners, and runs programs that support clinical care on the frontline of migrant health. The website provides resources on a variety of topics including children's health, family violence, immunizations, oral health, and women's health. A resource database includes downloadable resources as well as links on a wide variety of primary care issues, including links to other organizations, patient education tools, clinical guidelines, MCN program materials, multilingual resources, research guidelines, a toolbox of best practices, and more.

Keywords: Community health centers, Migrants, Minority groups

Annotation: Migrant Health Promotion works to improve health and build on community strengths in farmworker and border communities. Its programs provide peer health education, increase access to health resources, and bring community members together with health providers, employers, and policymakers to create positive changes. A variety of materials in English and Spanish, including manuals, implementation guides, evaluations and program development tools, and assembly instructions can be downloaded from the website. Webcasts on migrant health promotion; training tools; and program models are also provided. (Physical offices are located in Michigan, Texas, Florida, Ohio, and Washington state.)

Keywords: , Health promotion, Migrant health, Migrant health programs, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Center for Farmworker Health (NCFH) is a private, not-for-profit corporation dedicated to improving the health status of farmworker families by providing information services, training and technical assistance, and a variety of products to community and migrant health centers nationwide, as well as organizations, universities, researchers, and individuals involved in farmworker health. The website provides information about farmworkers and migrant health centers, a library, and training and health education resources. Resources are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Migrants, Farm workers, Health services, Information dissemination, Information systems, Migrant Health Centers, Migrant health programs

Annotation: The National Migrant and Seasonal Head Start Association addresses issues and concerns unique to Migrant and Seasonal Head Start children and their families and advocates for and supports quality services for migrant and seasonal farm worker children and their families.

Keywords: Young children, Access to health care, Head Start, MIgrant health programs, Migrants

Annotation: Tooth Mobile is a non-profit organization that works to prevent oral disease; increase access to affordable, comprehensive oral health care; and increase awareness of oral health issues by providing mobile oral health care and preventive oral hygiene education in schools and in the community. Tooth Mobile collaborates with California-based oral health coalitions; community health centers and schools; and Denti-Cal, Healthy Families, California Migrant Education, and other statewide programs for families with low incomes. The organization provides history, application, and consent forms in English, Korean, and Spanish.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Collaboration, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health education, Low income groups, Medicaid, Migrants, Mobile health units, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, State initiatives