Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The Center for Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation (CECMHC) was funded as an Innovation and Improvement Project by the Office of Head Start in October 2008. The 3-year grant brings together a group of university researchers to develop strategies to help Head Start programs build a strong mental health foundation for their children, families and staff. The site provides materials for Healthy Start staff and for families.

Keywords: Child mental health, Federal programs, Head Start, Parenting

Annotation: The Center for School Mental Health (CSMH) strengthens policies and programs in school mental health to improve learning and promote success for children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, National MCH resource center, Publications, Referrals, Resource centers, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School personnel, School psychology, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning is a five-year project designed to strengthen the capacity of child care and Head Start programs to improve the social and emotional outcomes of young children. Funded by Head Start and the Child Care Bureau in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the center will develop training and technical assistance (T/TA) materials that reflect evidence-based practices for promoting children's social and emotional development and preventing challenging behaviors. The center will then work with professional organizations and Head Start and child care T/TA providers to ensure the use of the evidence-based practices in local demonstration sites.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Head Start, Mental health, Nuvee, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: Emotions Anonymous (EA) is a non-profit international 12-step program that was adapted from the Alcoholics Anonymous model and provides assistance to people seeking emotional health. EA support groups meet for the purpose of mutual help, sharing of experiences, strength, and hope, while working toward the recovery of emotional difficulties. The program has been successful for individuals experiencing anger, depression, low self-esteem, phobias, worry, tension, and other behavioral problems. EA provides referrals to groups and publishes a newsletter and catalog of available materials. Materials are available in Swedish, Japanese, German, and French through other outlets.

Keywords: Mental health, Affective disorders, Depression, Emotional instability, Health, Mental health programs, Support groups

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Schriver National Center for Community of Caring is a K-12, whole-school, comprehensive character education program designed to create a positive learning environment where all students, including those with intellectual and physical disabilities, are respected, challenged to grow morally, taught to make healthy life decisions, and encouraged to participate in every aspect of school life. Through this, the program addresses destructive attitudes that lead to substance abuse, teen pregnancy, , and dropping out of school. The program includes (1) training teachers and other staff, (2) incorporating the values of caring, respect, responsibility, trust, and family into all curricular areas, (3) conducting student forums on issues vital to young people, (4) involving the family and community more fully in school life, and (5) providing opportunities for students to plan and carry out community service projects. The program sponsors a national conference and publishes a newsletter and training materials. It was founded by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver and the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Character, Community programs, Mental retardation, Moral values, Prevention programs, Social values, Special health care needs

Annotation: Created by the state legislature, the Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute (FMHI) works to strengthen mental health services through training, research, and demonstration. The Institute designs and evaluates innovative prevention and treatment techniques, and it trains agencies and mental health professionals statewide to implement similar techniques and programs. Target populations include children, adolescents, and adults with severe mental illnesses. The Institute Library maintains a large collection of fact sheets, brochures, technical publications, and audiovisual materials. Some materials are available in Spanish. FMHI also sponsors conferences and provides online training and certificate programs.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Children, Florida, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health programs, Psychiatric hospitals, Research, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA) advocates on behalf of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) mental health issues and collaborates with others in efforts to develop comprehensive, culturally comptenent services to meet the needs of the AAPI population. Formed in the year 2000, the association aims to enhance the collection of appropriate and accurate data; identify current best practices and service models; increase capacity building (which includes providing technical assistance and training of service providers); conduct research and evaluation; and work to engage consumers and families. The association serves as a forum for effective collaboration, and networks among stake holders of community based organizations, consumers, family members, service providers, program developers, researchers, evaluators, and policy makers. NAAPIMHA provides electronic access to a national directory of AAPI services providers which can be searched via the website.

Keywords: Associations, Mental health, Asian American, Collaboration, Culturally competenent services, Data collection, Model programs, Research

Annotation: The National Association of Mental Health Planning and Advisory Councils (NAMHPAC) is an association of individuals involved in state mental health planning across the country. NAMHPAC provides technical support, opportunities for people to share information and ideas across states, and a national voice on mental health planning issues. The organization organizes training sessions and compiles resource materials.

Keywords: Mental health, Health services, Mental health programs, Resource materials, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Children Exposed to Violence (NCCEV), founded in 1999, works to increase public and professional awareness of the effects of violence on children and to build the capacity of individuals and communities to reduce the impact of violence. NCCEV offers a Web based resource center which provides access to an on-line library, statistics, publications, and presentations. Training, technical assistance, and consultation are also provided to community programs such as Safe Start, a federally funded initiative which addresses the needs of children ages 0-6 who have been exposed to violence and the Child Development-Community Policing Program (CD-CP), a community collaboration involving law enforcement and mental health agencies.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Child health, Community programs, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Center on Health (NCECHW) provides resources, training, and technical assistance to the child care and Head Start communities on health-related topics (e.g., health literacy, physical health, mental health, nutrition, oral health, and injury and tobacco prevention). NCECHW is funded by the Administration for Children and Families’ Office of Head Start and Office of Child Care in partnership with the Health Resource and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health services, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Mental health, Model programs, Pregnant women, Resource centers, Young children

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

Annotation: Established in 1985, the National Mental Health Consumers' Self-Help Clearinghouse promotes and assists in the development of consumer-run self-help groups. The clearinghouse provides information and referral services to individuals and groups in need of technical assistance, maintains a computerized listing of self-help technical assistance providers, encourages consumers and organizations to provide technical assistance to other consumers and self-help groups, sponsors conferences and training seminars, and promotes networking among mental health consumers nationwide. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Self help programs, Mental health, Self help clearinghouses, Support groups, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: Postpartum Progress is a national nonprofit focused on improving support for women with perinatal mood and anxiety disorders. The website offers information and community for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth including postpartum anxiety, postpartum obsessive compulsive disorder, depression during pregnancy, post-adoption depression, postpartum post-traumatic stress syndrome, depression after miscarriage or perinatal loss, and postpartum psychosis. The organization produces a blog to raise awareness, fight stigma, and provide peer support to women with maternal mental illness.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Peer support programs, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Women', s health

Annotation: Recovery, Inc. is a self-help mental health organization which offers training in cognitive/behavioral techniques to prevent relapses in former mental patients and chronic suffering in nervous persons. Over 600 recovery groups meet weekly throughout the U.S. and Canada at no required cost to participants. In addition to English, many of their materials are available in Spanish, and some in French. Their publications include newsletters for consumers and mental health professionals, and a quarterly newsletter for members only. Recovery Inc. is a member managed organization.

Keywords: Mental health, Peer support programs

Annotation: Special Olympics (SO) is an international organization that promotes understanding, acceptance, and inclusion between people with and without intellectual disabilities through year-round sports training and athletic competition and other related programming. SO provides children and adults with intellectual disabilities continuing opportunities to realize their potential, develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and experience joy and friendship. Resources include research reports, an e-newsletter, a fellowship program, and schools and youth outreach. SO also offers free health screenings and health information at local, regional, and World Games. SO's Project Unify is a school-based initiative in the United States that focuses on social inclusion, bringing youth with and without intellectual disabilities together through sports and related activities.

Keywords: Physical fitness, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Inclusive schools, Information services, Mental retardation, School health programs, Sports

Annotation: Starlight Children's Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to brightening the lives of seriously ill children and their families. Working with pediatricians, technology experts, and the entertainment industry, Starlight Starbright creates programs to address the various social, emotional, and medical aspects of living with a chronic, serious, or life threatening illness or injury. The foundation's programs -- available not only to children and families, but also hospitals, clinics, schools, support groups, faith based organizations, and healthcare centers -- are designed to empower children and families to take charge of their illness, play a more active role in their treatment, and better cope with the challenges that accompany prolonged illness. The foundation has regional and international chapters, and was formed by a merger of the Starlight Foundation and the Starbright Foundation. Detailed information on the foundation's products and programs, including its electronic newsletter, are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Child health programs, Electronic newsletters, Family support, Terminal illness, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coping, Emotional adjustment, Family support programs, Foundations, Hospital programs, Injuries, Materials for children, Mental health, Patient care