Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (99 total).

Cyberbullying Research Center

Annotation: The Cyberbullying Research Center provides information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. Cyberbullying can be defined as “Willful and repeated harm inflicted through the use of computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices.” It is also known as “cyber bullying,” “electronic bullying,” “e-bullying,” “sms bullying,” “mobile bullying,” “online bullying,” “digital bullying,” or “Internet bullying.” The web site serves as a clearinghouse of information concerning the ways adolescents use and misuse technology. It is intended to be a resource for parents, educators, law enforcement officers, counselors, and others who work with youth. It contains facts, figures, and detailed stories from those who have been directly impacted by online aggression. In addition, the site includes numerous resources to help prevent and respond to cyberbullying incidents.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Adolescents, Aggression, Behavioral problems, Bullying, School violence, Technology, Telecommunications, Violence prevention

African American Family Services (AAFS)

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) represents over 7,500 child and adolescent psychiatrists, physicians with at least five years of additional training beyond medical school in adult, child, and adolescent psychiatry. Academy members actively research, diagnose, and treat emotional, developmental, behavioral, and mental disorders affecting children, adolescents, and their families. The Academy provides public information, including a referral service that works with child advocacy groups, parents, teachers, and other medical and mental health professionals. Some family materials are available in Spanish, Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu. The academy publishes a catalog, a newsletter and a journal. The academy also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Psychiatry, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Behavior, Child mental health, Children, Conferences, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Mental health, Mental health professionals, Mental health services, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Training

American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC)

Annotation: The American Association of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC) represents and sets professional standards for over 3,000 pastoral counselors and 100 pastoral counseling centers in North America and around the world. Pastoral counselors are certified mental health professionals who have had in-depth religious and/or theological training. Members provide psychotherapy using spiritual resources as well as psychological understanding for healing and growth. AAPC was founded in 1964 as an organization which certifies pastoral counselors, accredits pastoral counseling centers, and approves training programs. It is nonsectarian and respects the spiritual commitments and religious traditions of those who seek assistance without imposing counselor beliefs onto the client. The AAPC Web site provides information about the organization, a directory of pastoral counselors, and links to online discussion groups and other Internet resources.

Keywords: Accreditation, Counseling, Certification, Mental health, Pastoral care, Professional education, Psychotherapy, Spirituality

American Association of Suicidology (AAS)

Annotation: The American Association of Suicidology (AAS) is a nonprofit organization that strives to understand and prevent suicide through research, public awareness programs, and education and training for professionals and volunteers. Members include mental health professionals, researchers, suicide prevention and crisis intervention centers, school districts, crisis center volunteers, and survivors of suicide. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. AAS also maintains a listserv and develops public service announcements and pamphlets on suicide prevention, and members work with the media as consultants and participants in stories involving suicide-related issues. Publications include a bi-monthly journal, Suicide and Life-Threatening Behaviors; a quarterly newsletter, Newslink; a quarterly newsletter, Surviving Suicide; and conference proceedings.

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Attempted suicide, Crisis intervention, Health education, Information services, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns, Suicide, Training

American Institutes for Research, Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP)

Annotation: The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice (CECP) at the American Institutes for Research supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance. To achieve that goal, the center has a policy of collaboration at federal, state, and local levels that contributes to and facilitates the production, exchange, and use of knowledge about effective practices. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs and receives additional support from the Center for Mental Health Services, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Topics covered by the center include child welfare, cultural competence, families, juvenile justice, mental health, school violence prevention and intervention, and schools and special education. The center provides publications, list service discussions, information about promising practices and prevention programs that work, and links to further information.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Collaboration, Information services, Listservs, Model programs

American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO)

Annotation: The American Orthopsychiatric Association (ORTHO) promotes an interdisciplinary approach to mental health. Members include psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers, nurses, educators, lawyers, sociologists, and others. The association maintains study groups for members and sponsors annual meetings. Publications include the quarterly American Journal of Orthopsychiatry , Readings (a quarterly publication) and a newsletter.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health promotion, , Mental health

American Psychiatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Association is a national society that brings together more than 40,000 physicians and medical students who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders. The association works to improve treatment, rehabilitation, and care for people who are mentally ill, to promote research and professional education in psychiatry and allied fields, to advance the standards of psychiatric services and facilities, to promote the best interests of users and potential users of mental health services, to foster cooperation among people concerned with the medical, psychological, social, and legal aspects of mental health and illness, and to share psychiatric knowledge with other medical practitioners, scientists in other fields, and the public. APA houses a library, which provides reference information, and publishes a newsletter and two journals. In addition, the American Psychiatric Press, Inc., (AAPI), which is affiliated with the APA, publishes a catalog of their books. APA also sponsors the Healthy Minds Web site (www.healthyminds.org) as part of its Healthy Minds Healthy Lives public information campaign. APA has an annual meeting each May and an Institute on Psychiatric Services in the fall.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Professional societies

American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA)

Annotation: The American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA) is a professional organization that provides leadership to advance psychiatric-mental health nursing practice, improve mental health care for culturally diverse individuals, families, groups, and communities, and shape health care policy for the delivery of mental health services. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors workshops and conferences.

Keywords: Mental disorders, Mental health, Nurses

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Anxiety Disorders Association of America (ADAA)

Annotation: The Anxiety Disorders Association of America (ADAA) promotes research on the prevention and cure of anxiety disorders and works to improve the lives of people with anxiety disorders. The association conducts public awareness campaigns, fosters the exchange of scientific information, advocates health care system improvements, sponsors an annual conference, and coordinates a national self-help group network. Publications include educational materials and a bi-monthly newsletter, the ADAA Reporter.

Keywords: Phobias, Advocacy, Anxiety, Educational materials, Medical research, Mental health, Obsessive-compulsive disorder, Panic disorder, Post traumatic stress disorder, Public awareness campaigns

Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL)

Annotation: The Association of Mental Health Librarians (AMHL) is a professional organization of individuals working in the field of mental health information delivery. Its members come from a variety of settings: inpatient hospitals, academic and research institutions, and psychiatric and psychological agencies. AMHL provides opportunities for its members to enhance their professional skills; encourages research activities in mental health librarianship; and strengthens the role of the librarian within the mental health community. AMHL has an annual conference, which provides continuing education and networking possibilities for its members.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Mental health, Professional societies

Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD)

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women's Health

Annotation: The Centre works to improve the health of women through innovative research and the development of women-centered programs, practice, and policies. The Centre partners with Canadian local community agencies, provincial initiatives, national organizations, and international agencies to conduct research and/or to exchange knowledge among community members, academic researchers, policy makers, and health care professionals. Priority topic areas are: women, gender, tobacco and lung health; women, gender, addictions and mental health; women and health services; women, gender and chronic disease; health promotion and women; and physical activity.

Keywords: Canada, Advocacy, Chronic illness and disabilities, Drug addiction, Health promotion, Mental health, Tobacco use, Women, Women's health, Women's health services

Build Initiative

Annotation: BUILD is a national initiative that helps state leaders prepare young children aged birth to five to succeed by helping their families access high quality early learning; family and parenting support; early intervention for children with special needs; and comprehensive health mental health and nutritional services. BUILD assists states in planning and implementing a comprehensive early childhood “system of systems” that crosses policy domains and helps ensure that families get the services they need. It was created in 2002 by the Early Childhood Funders Collaborative (ECFC), a consortium of private foundations.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Families, Family support services, Infants, Young children, Special health care needs

Building Bridges Initiative (BBI)

Annotation: The Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) identifies and promotes practice and policy initiatives that will create strong and closely coordinated partnerships and collaborations between families, youth, community- and residentially-based treatment and service providers, advocates and policymakers to ensure that comprehensive services and supports are family-driven, youth-guided, strength-based, culturally and linguistically competent, individualized, evidence- and practice-informed, and consistent with the research on sustained positive outcomes.

Keywords: Adolescents, Collaboration, Mental health services, Parent professional relations

California Department of Mental Health

Annotation: The California Department of Mental Health has oversight of a public mental health budget of more than $4 billion, including local assistance funding. Its responsibilities include: providing leadership for local county mental health departments; evaluation and monitoring of public mental health programs; administration of federal funds for mental health programs and services; the care and treatment of the severely mentally ill at the five state mental hospitals (Atascadero, Metropolitan, Napa, Coalinga and Patton State Hospitals) and at the Acute Psychiatric Programs located at the California Medical Facilities in Vacaville and Salinas Valley; and implementation of the Mental Health Services Act (Proposition 63), which provides state tax dollars for specific county mental health programs and services.

Keywords: California, Health services delivery, Mental health, State agencies

Campaign for Mental Health Reform

Annotation: The Campaign for Mental Health Reform is a virtual national partnership of organizations representing millions of people with mental or emotional disorders, their families, service providers, administrators, and other concerned Americans. Its goal is to make access, recovery, coherence, and quality in mental health services the hallmarks of our nation’s mental health system. It works directly with federal policymakers to make this a reality. The campaign’s partners have been brought together by a common recognition that the current challenges and environment present an unavoidable need as well as the best opportunity in a generation to make a well-functioning mental health system a national priority.

Keywords: Advocacy, Health care reform, Mental health, Public awareness campaigns

Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)

Annotation: The Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) was founded in 1918 as a voluntary organization in Canada. Each year, it provides direct service to more than 100,000 Canadians through the combined efforts of more than 10,000 volunteers and staff across Canada in over 135 communities. As a nation-wide, voluntary organization, the Canadian Mental Health Association promotes the mental health of all and supports the resilience and recovery of people experiencing mental illness. The CMHA accomplishes this mission through advocacy, education, research and service.

Keywords: Advocacy, Canada, Consumer education, Mental health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.