Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children', Training, Treatment outcomes, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: Previously known as the Society for Clinical Ecology, the group was founded in 1965 and is an international association of physicians and other professional interested in the clinical aspects of human ecology. The Academy is interested in expanding the knowledge of interactions between human individuals and their environment, as these may be demonstrated to be reflected in their total health. The Academy is comprised primarily of medical professionals who sponsor publications, seminars, and courses. A newsletter and journal are among the organization's publications.

Keywords: Environmental medicine

Annotation: The American College of Emergency Physicians is a body of professional physicians who are involved in emergency medicine practice. They conduct internal training and information dissemination and promote public safety and health, especially in emergency care. ACEP publishes a journal and a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine

Annotation: The American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (ACOEM) is a professional society that promotes the health and safety of workers through preventive medicine, clinical care, research, and education. The organization sponsors two national conferences, scientific sessions, postgraduate seminars, training courses, and self-assessment programs. Publications include the monthly Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, MRO Update Newsletter, an annual membership directory, and a newsletter, ACOEM Report.

Keywords: Health promotion, Personnel, Preventive medicine, , Occupational safety and health

Annotation: The American College of Physicians (ACP) is a national organization of physician specialists who apply scientific knowledge and clinical expertise to the diagnosis, treatment, and compassionate care of adults across the spectrum from health to complex illness. Members comprise internists, internal medicine subspecialists, medical students, residents, and fellows. ACP works to enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care by fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine. The website provides information about membership, continuing medical education and maintenance of certification, and meetings and courses. Clinical information, practice resources, and advocacy services are also provided.

Keywords: Professional societies, Health services, Internal medicine, Physicians

Annotation: The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life. ACSM offers members informational publications and video materials, meetings, and continuing education. Membership is open to interested individuals as well as health professionals.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Physical activity, Professional education

Annotation: The American Folklore Society (AFS) is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world. It prepares position statements on a variety of cultural, educational, and professional issues as part of an ongoing program of advocacy for traditional cultural expression and the work of folklorists, supports members through interest-group sections and an annual meeting, awards prizes, takes a leading role in national and international folklore projects, and supports a folklore wiki.

Keywords: Folk medicine, Folklore, Professional societies

Annotation: Formed in 1991, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) offers a forum that fosters a collegial relationship among primary care sports medicine physicians. The AMSSM provides educational opportunities for primary care sports medicine physicians through meetings and video and printed materials. The AMSSM Web site is an educational resource for members, other professionals and the general public.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Physicians

Annotation: The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) is a membership organization for doctors of osteopathic medicine. It is organized to advance the philosophy and practice of osteopathic medicine by promoting excellence in education, research, and the delivery of quality and cost-effective health care in a distinct, unified profession. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish. AOA publishes a journal and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Osteopathic medicine, Health promotion, Primary Care

Annotation: The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) is a professional, scientific, and medical society established to bring together clinical and experimental scientists involved in the study of bone and mineral metabolism. ASBMR encourages and promotes the study of this field through annual scientific meetings, publication of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, advocacy, and interaction with government agencies and related societies.

Keywords: Medical research, Advocacy, Clinical medicine, Conferences, Professional societies, Publications, Research perrsonnel, Scientists

Annotation: The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is a professional organization representing physicians who treat people with cancer. ASCO’s membership is comprised of clinical oncologists representing all oncology disciplines and subspecialties; physicians and health-care professionals participating in approved oncology training programs; oncology nurses; and other health-care practitioners with a predominant interest in oncology. ASCO’s members specialize in all fields of oncology, including medical, hematology, therapeutic radiology, surgical, and pediatric. ASCO offers training programs, symposia, and workshops, and sponsors an annual meeting. Publications include the peer-reviewed Journal of Clinical Oncology, ASCO News (a quarterly magazine), clinical practice guidelines, and patient guides. A publications catalog is available.

Keywords: Guidelines, Oncology, Cancer, Clinical medicine, Health services, Pediatric oncology, Physicians, Professional societies

Annotation: The C. Everett Koop Institute at Dartmouth, founded in 1992 by former Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, M.D., Sc.D., is dedicated to promoting the ethic of prevention in American health care and lifestyles by fostering integrity, trust and communication in the doctor/patient relationship. The institute actively tries to instill the necessity of focusing education and practice on the needs of the individual, the family and the community. The institute publishes NNEHII News.

Keywords: Health promotion, Medical education, Physician patient relations, Preventive medicine

Annotation: The Center for the Advancement of health translates to the public the latest evidence-based research on health, health care, prevention, and chronic disease management, with an emphasis on how social, behavioral, and economic factors affect illness and well-being. The center monitors legislation, commissions reports, communicates information relevant to the translation of research to policy and practice, establishes alliances between scientists and policy makers, and convenes conferences, symposia, and task forces. The center produces and disseminates evidence summaries through the Health Behavior News Service, conducting media training for scientists, scientific training for journalists, and reporting on translation-related events. The center's publications include monthly Facts of Life issue briefings, as well as a variety of reports and workshop proceedings available from the Web site in pdf format.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Electronic publications, Health policy, Legislation, Preventive health services, Public health, Research

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

Annotation: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making about clinical treatments. Databases include the Cochrane database of systematic reviews, the database of abstracts of reviews of effects, the central register of controlled trials, the methodology register, the health technology assessment database, and the NHS economic evaluation database. Reviews explore the evidence for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments (medications, surgery, education, etc.) in specific circumstances. Summaries of the information are available at no charge on the Web site, and full access is available through libraries, by subscription, on CD-ROM, or on a pay-per-view basis. Some countries provide free access via varous arrangements within the country.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Therapeutics

Annotation: The Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) offers consultation, accreditation, training and certification services to organizations and systems that share the vision of dignity, opportunity and community for all people, focusing on improving the quality of life for people with disabilities, people with mental illness, and older adults. It is an international not-for-profit organization.

Keywords: Accreditation, Advocacy, Alternative medicine, Children, Developmental disabilities, Disabilities, Hospitalization, Quality Enhancement Certificate Program, Special health care needs

Annotation: ECRI is an independent, nonprofit health care organization dedicated to improving the safety, efficacy, and cost-effectiveness of health technology, broadly defined to encompass devices, drugs, procedures, facilities, and related standards and guidelines. The agency works to inform the healthcare community of improved methods of patient care, and protect the public from unsafe and ineffective medical technologies and practices. ECRI is an independent evaluator and provider of information and guidance in technology planning, procurement, and management; risk and quality management; technology assessment; and healthcare environmental management.ECRI has been a Collaborating Center of the World Health Organization since 1989 and now serves as the WHO Healthcare Standards and Guidelines Archives. The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has designated ECRI an Evidence-based Practice Center.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health care, Research

Annotation: The Emergency Medicine Foundation provides financial support for hypothesis-based emergency medicine research projects and education to improve patient care in emergency medicine. Donors are emergency physicians, professional practice groups, and corporations actively involved in the emergency medicine marketplace. The foundation publishes SCOPE, a semi-annual report.

Keywords: Emergency medicine, Grants, Research

Annotation: The Evidence-based Practice for Public Health Project at the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School, examines the clinical evidence-based medicine (EBM) models and assesses their effectiveness to the public health literature. The project's Web site provides information on knowledge domains of public health, a list of core public health journals, a list of public health bibliographic databases and other resources on evidence-based knowledge.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Public health

Keywords: Consumer health, Family medicine, Information sources, Internet, Libraries, Pediatrics, Women', s health