Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's Dental Home Resource Center provides information about and resources to support the delivery of oral health care to all children, with a focus on infants.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Health care delivery, Infants, Medical home, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: The Center for Medical Home Improvement (CMHI) establishes and supports networks of parent/professional teams to improve the quality of primary care medical homes for children and youth with special health care needs and their families. The center provides resources related related to medical home performance measures and improvement; offers consultation and educational services; and participates in conferences.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, Program improvement

Annotation: CJ First Candle is dedicated to safe pregnancies and the survival of infants through the first years of life. Current priorities are to eliminate stillbirth, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), and other sudden unexpected infant deaths (SUIDs) with programs of research, education, and advocacy. CJ First Candle also provides compassionate grief support to anyone affected by the death of an infant through a dedicated crisis hotline. The website provides information and resources for new and expectant parents, families who are grieving, and professionals. First Candle merged with CJ Foundation for SIDS in 2017. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Infant health, Apnea, Home monitoring, Information services, Medical research, SIDS, Support groups

Annotation: The Genetics in Primary Care Institute (GPCI) works with primary care providers (PCPs) to increase their knowledge and skills in providing genetic-based services. The goals of the Institute include (1) mobilize a community of learners who will use quality improvement science to develop, implement, and evaluate strategies to enhance primary care providers' understanding of genetic medicine; (2) implement a strategy to address systems and policy to accelerate the provision of genetic medicine through the establishment of a technical assistance center; and (3) assess and address residency training needs in order to more fully imbed the practice of genetic medicine into the future of the PCP workforce. GPCI sponsors a webinar series for stakeholders to increase awareness, information, and education regarding the provision of genetic medicine in primary care and to improve health care providers’ understanding of their roles and the roles of others related to the provision of genetic medicine in primary care settings. The institute is a cooperative agreement between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the Health Resource and Service Administration's (HRSA) Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Genetic services, Genetics, Medical home, Primary care

Annotation: The National Association for Home Care and Hospice (NAHC) is a trade association representing the interests and concerns of hospices, home care agencies, home care aide organizations, and medical equipment suppliers. Dedicated to making home care and hospice providers lives easier, NAHC provides professional development opportunities, fights for better regulation, and promotes the belief that Americans should receive health care and social services in their own homes, so far as this is possible. The association posts news and information on its Web site, provides an online bookstore, publishes a magazine and a newsletter, hosts electronic networks, advocates for legislative action, and supports grassroots activities. Information for consumers includes guidelines on finding a home care provider.

Keywords: Associations, Home care, Hospices, Medical equipment

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home works to ensure that all children and youth, including children with special needs, have a medical home where health care services are accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally competent. The Center provides medical home resources and advocacy materials, technical assistance, and tools to physicians, families, and other medical and non-medical providers who care for children. The Center works in cooperation with federal agencies, particularly the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and other partners and stakeholders to meet its goals and objectives. The center was formerly the National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI).

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, National MCH resource center, Networking, Resource centers, Training

Annotation: The Safety Net Medical Home Initiative helps 65 primary care safety net sites in five states become high-performing patient-centered medical homes. The website provides access to implementation guides, assessment tools, presentations, and other materials related to practice transformation, as well as resources on payment and recognition. The five-year initiative is supported by the Commonwealth Fund, Qualis Health, and the MacColl Center for Health Care Innovation at the Group Health Research Institute.

Keywords: Educational change, Family centered care, Family centered services, Health care reform, Medical home, National initiatives, Organizational change, Patient care, Reimbursement