Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

Annotation: Maternal and Child Nutrition in Asia (MCNASIA) provides information about problems of malnutrition in mothers and children in 18 Asian countries.

Keywords: Asia, Child nutrition, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: The National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA) is a partnership of over 80 national organizations and associations, state folic acid councils, and government agencies whose mission is to improve health by promoting the benefits and consumption of folic acid. NCFA is managed by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The council distributes guidelines on folic acid consumption for women of childbearing age and promotes emerging and new science on folic acid (especially as it relates to maternal and child health). NCFA distributes monthly news alerts and provides electronic access to sources of information on folic acid (available in multiple languages).

Keywords: Nutrition, . Foreign language materials, Consumer education, Folic acid, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Neural tube defects, Preventive health services, Public health nutrition

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Training

Annotation: The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children - better known as the WIC Program - serves to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health care. The WIC program provides numerous educational materials for consumers and studies and reports for professionals. Materials are available in Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Croatian, Dakota, English, French, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, and Vietnamese. Topics include breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, childhood overweight and obesity, counseling and education, dietary guidance, food buying and preparation, food safety, fruits and vegetables, medical and nutritional risk assessment, multicultural audiences, oral health, outreach and marketing, physical activity, pregnancy, and vitamins and minerals.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

Annotation: Wellstart International strives to advance the knowledge, skills, and ability of health care providers regarding the promotion, protection, and support of optimal infant and maternal health and nutrition from conception through the completion of weaning. The Web site provides access to a wide variety of lactation management teaching tools for health are providers and a list of manuals, reports, parent education materials, and other print publications that can be purchased from Wellstart.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Parent education, Professional education

Annotation: The WIC Works Resource System is an online resource for health and nutrition professionals serving in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). It is a joint project between the National Agricultural Library/Food and Nutrition Information Center, USDA/Food and Nutrition Service, and the University of Maryland. It provides information on pregnancy, breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, assessment tools, nutrition education, nutrition services standards, and WIC food packages. It also provides online training modules, a sharing center, and databases. Some materials are available in Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese (both simplified and traditional), French, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Consumer education materials, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition