Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Beacon Hill Institute for Public Policy Research focuses on federal, state, and local economic policies as they affect U.S. voters and businesses and as they impinge, in particular, on the Massachusetts economy. The institute, which is part of Suffolk University in Boston, uses state-of-the-art statistical, mathematical, and econometric methods to provide timely and readable analyses that help voters, policy makers, and opinion leaders understand today's leading public policy issues. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: .Massachusetts, Economics, Public policies, United States

Annotation: The Better Oral Health for Massachusetts Coalition (BOHMAC) is a statewide organization that advocates for oral health policies to ensure that Massachusetts’ residents, especially those most vulnerable, have benefit of comprehensive oral health prevention and treatment services. The website provides information about the coalition's history, board, committees, staff, funders, and materials including the Oral Health Plan for Massachusetts. Information on coalition activities, publications, and events are included.

Keywords: Health promotion, Massachusetts, Health policy, Oral health, Policy analysis, Public policy

Annotation: The Harvard School of Dental Health (HSDH) educates clinicians, educators, researchers, and leaders in the profession; boasts core strength in musculoskeletal-disease research; and offers students public health opportunities in local communities and across the globe.

Keywords: Dental schools, Massachusetts

Annotation: Founded in May 1996, the Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition (MBC) arose out of a need for a statewide coalition to coordinate the efforts of many diverse breastfeeding advocacy groups in the Commonwealth. The MBC focuses on improving public health by making breastfeeding the norm through education, advocacy, and collaboration. Activities involve helping health care providers support and promote breastfeeding, prevent breastfeeding problems, and recognize them and solve them easily should they occur. All materials are evidence-based, free from commercial bias, and are available from the website at no cost.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Massachusetts, State initiatives

Annotation: The Massachusetts Center for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome offers these services: care and follow-up for families, public education about SIDS, professional training, data management and reporting on infant mortality in Massachusetts, and legislative advocacy.

Keywords: Bereavement, Massachusetts, SIDS, State organizations, Training

Annotation: The Massachusetts Coalition for Oral Health (MCOH) is comprised of public and private sector organizations whose mission is to promote effective community preventive measures to improve the oral health of all Massachusetts residents. The MCOH is committed to improving oral health through education, prevention, access to care, and health promotion. The website provides information about oral health in Massachusetts, community-based strategies, and community water fluoridation, education resources, guidelines, disparities in oral health, HIV/AIDS and oral health, reports and research, and links to other health resources.

Keywords: Coalitions, Massachusetts, Oral health, State agencies

Annotation: The Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care (EEC) provides the foundation that supports all children in their development as lifelong learners and contributing members of the community, and supports families in their essential work as parents and caregivers.The EEC oversees early education and care and after-school services for families. Services include information and resources, early childhood special education, universal pre-kindergarten, financial assistance, licensing and monitoring, professional development and program quality advancement, and family support programs.

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood, Education, Massachusetts, State agencies

Annotation: The Massachusetts Department of Public Health Library System consists of five individual libraries, whose purpose is to serve the educational and research needs of public health professionals, health care providers and the citizens of Massachusetts. The libraries' collections include books and journals concerned with public health, environmental health, medicine and laboratory science, as well as archives of Massachusetts Department of Public Health publications and reports. In addition to the Central Library, there are libraries at Lemuel Shattuck Hospital, the State Laboratory Institute, Tewksbury Hospital, and Massachusetts Hospital School.

Keywords: Massachusetts, State health library

Annotation: The Unintentional Injury Prevention and Control Program offers services to consumers that include referrals, publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Curricula, Data, Educational materials, Injury Prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Massachusetts, Resources for professionals, State initiatives, Training, Training materials, Visual aids

Keywords: State organizations, Head Start, Massachusetts, Professional societies, Young children

Annotation: The Massachusetts Health Policy Forum is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the health care system in the Commonwealth by convening forums and presenting the highest quality research to legislators, stakeholders and the public. The Forum was created in 1998 to bring public and private health care leaders together to engage in focused discussion on critical health policy challenges facing the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The Forum conducts approximately four forums per year for an invited audience of health care leaders and legislators. Each Forum is preceded by the publication of an Issue Brief that discusses the background and context of the policy controversy under discussion. The mission of the Forum is to provide the highest quality information and analysis to leaders and stakeholders. The Forum does not lobby and does not make recommendations. Rather, the Forum provides an opportunity to identify and clarify health policy problems and to discuss a range of potential solutions.

Keywords: Health policy, Legislation, Massachusetts, Policy analysis, Public policy, State organizations

Annotation: Funded by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health, the Clearinghouse develops and distributes health promotion materials on the following health topics: asthma, cancer, child health, diabetes, disaster planning, family planning, GLBT (gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender) health, general health information, HIV/AIDS, heart disease & stroke prevention, hepatitis, men's health, nutrition & physical activity, osteoporosis, STDs, school health, substance abuse, tobacco control, and women's health. Health materials are available free of charge to assist individuals, groups, and communities in Massachusetts, including health educators working with diverse populations, health care providers, and individuals interested in improving their health and making healthy choices. Materials distributed by the Massachusetts Health Promotion Clearinghouse have been carefully developed to convey effective health promotion messages. Many materials have been developed to meet the needs of specific populations. Selected publications are available in several languages. The toll-free tri-lingual phone line offers assistance in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.

Keywords: Non English language materials, Child health, Clearinghouses, Health promotion, Massachusetts, Men', Women', s health, s health

Annotation: Massachusetts Health Quality Partners (MHQP) is an independent, non-profit organization that brings together key stakeholder groups (providers, payers and patients) in Massachusetts healthcare to help provider organizations, health plans and policy makers improve the quality of patient care experiences throughout the state. Its efforts include (1) measuring and publicly reporting non-biased, trusted and comparable patient experience data; (2) sharing tools, guidelines and best practices to help support improvement efforts; and (3) catalyzing collaboration to find breakthrough solutions to shared challenges.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health services delivery, Health surveys, Massachusetts, Public private partnerships, Quality improvement, State organizations

Annotation: The New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC) works to promote and improve the health and social well-being of those with inherited conditions through collaborations among public health professionals, private health professionals, educators, consumers and advocates in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. The primary goal of the NEGC is to assure that individuals with genetic disorders and their families have access to quality care and appropriate genetic expertise and information in the context of a medical home that provides accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally effective care. NEGC provides online educational materials, a regional resource directory, and links to other genetics centers. The NEGC is a partnership between the Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, the New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice, and the University of New Hampshire Institute on Disability. The collaborative is supported by a cooperative agreement with the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch.

Keywords: Genetics, Consortia, Genetic services, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut., Federal programs, Public health , Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Genetic counseling, Regional genetics networks

Annotation: Parent/Professional Advocacy League is a statewide, grassroots family organization that advocates for improved access to mental health services for children, youth and their families. PPAL’s goals are to support families, nurture parent leaders and work for systems change. PPAL is the only Massachusetts organization representing the interests of families whose children have mental health needs. Founded in 1991, PPAL is the state organization of the Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health, a national family-run organization that provides leadership at the national level.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Children, Families, Massachusetts, Mental health, Parent support services, State organizations

Annotation: The State Library serves as a research facility for the state's legislative and executive branches of government as well as for the general public. The Library's collection covers the fields of law, public policy, history, current issues, and social science. As the official repository for Massachusetts state documents, the State Library maintains a comprehensive collection of state publications. In addition the Library is a selective depository for federal documents. Publications include a catalog of state documents issued quarterly with annual cumulation.

Keywords: Libraries, Massachusetts, State agencies