Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS) partners with states across the country to promote the delivery of quality heatlh-care services and innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. CHCS facilitates problem-solving exchanges and peer learning among a diverse range of health care stakeholders to improve access, integrate fragmented services, reduce avoidable expenditures, and link payment with quality. CHCS works directly with state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer organizations to design and implement cost-effective strategies that improve care for people with complex and high-cost needs. The Center's technical assistance and training activities are organized under four broad priority areas: 1) Health care coverage and access; 2) Integrating care for people with complex needs; 3) quality, delivery systems, and payment reform; and 4) leadership and capacity building. CHCS maintains an online library of publications, technical tools, and other resources on accelerating health care delivery innovations.

Keywords: Health care financing, Electronic publications, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Prevention programs, State Children', s Health Insurance program

Annotation: Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, a nonprofit health plan in New England, provides online resources for patients, including the A-Z database of articles about health conditions reviewed by Harvard Medical School and the Web Library, which allows users to simultaneously search 1,500 prescreened health Web sites.

Keywords: Patient education, Consumer education materials, Health insurance , Managed care, Online databases

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: Incorporated in 1995, Medicaid Health Plans of America is a national organization solely dedicated to representing health plans participating in Medicaid managed care. The association's primary focus is to provide research, analysis, and organized forums that support the development of effective policy solutions to promote and enhance the delivery of quality healthcare. Specifically, the focus is in support of organized health systems that serve the needs of vulnerable and underserved populations.

Keywords: Medicaid, Health care financing, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care

Annotation: The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of health care. NCQA develops quality standards and performance measures for a broad range of health care entities. Its programs, services, publications, and training tools focus on measuring, analyzing, and improving health care quality.

Keywords: Accreditation, Health services, Managed care, Quality assurance

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

Annotation: The National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) Foundation is a non-profit nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the effectiveness, efficiency, and quality of America's health care system. The foundation conducts research, policy analysis and educational activities on health care issues. It fosters information exchange between the private health care industry and government to work toward solutions to health care problems. The foundation serves as a clearinghouse for information on health care issues and gives awards annually for excellence in health care research and journalism. The foundation receives funding from diverse sources including the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). Currently the foundation is working with MCHB to promote Bright Futures and Managed Care. In 2011 it initiated a Promising Practices in Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Program to recognize emerging or promising programs or policies in MCH.

Keywords: Policy analysis, Awards, Health care delivery, Managed care, Program management