Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Carsey Institute at the University of New Hampshire conducts research and analysis into the challenges facing families and communities in New Hampshire, New England, and the nation. The Carsey Institute sponsors independent, interdisciplinary research that documents trends and conditions in rural America, providing information and analysis to policymakers, practitioners, the media, and the general public. Through this work, the Carsey Institute contributes to public dialogue on policies that encourage social mobility and sustain healthy, equitable communities and strengthens nonprofits working to improve family and community well-being.

Keywords: Child health, Access to health care, Adolescent health, Families, Health care financing, MCH research, Rural health

Annotation: Established in 1993 at the Teaching Research Institute, a division of Western Oregon University, the Center on Brain Injury Research and Training (CBIRT) conducts research and training to improve the lives of children and adults with traumatic brain injury (TBI). CBIRT’s research focuses on developing interventions to improve outcomes related to education, employability, and quality of life. Training activities promote the use of best practices among educators and other professionals who serve individuals with TBI.

Keywords: Brain damage, Children, Injuries, MCH research, Transition to independent living, Trauma

Annotation: Healthy Eating Research (HER) is a national program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. HER supports research to identify, analyze, and evaluate environmental and policy strategies that can promote healthy eating among children and prevent childhood obesity. Special emphasis is given to research projects that benefit children and adolescents and their families, especially in lower-income and racial and ethnic populations at highest risk for obesity.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Ethnic factors, Health disparities, Health policy, Health promotion, Low income groups, MCH research, National programs, Nutrition policy, Obesity, Policy development, Risk factors

Annotation: The Home Visiting Research Network (HVRN) at Johns Hopkins University is a national network to strengthen the role of home visiting as part of a comprehensive system of services for expectant families and families with young children. The website provides information about professional development for home visiting researchers and HVRN presentations, publications, and other media. HVRN is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Home visiting, Information networks, MCH research, National initiatives, Professional education

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

Annotation: The MCH Training and Research Resource Center (MCHTRRC) provides technical support to the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) Division of MCH Workforce Development, and the MCHB Extramural Research Program. Activities of the MCHTRRC focus on: (1) strategic planning and partnerships development; (2) communications and information dissemination; and (3) performance measure reporting; and (4) data analysis and information management. It is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Child health, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Research, Resource centers, Training programs

Annotation: The National Emergency Medical Services for Children Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC) assists Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agencies and Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) managers in developing the capability to collect, analyze, and utilize EMS data. The center provides consultation and technical assistance with EMS/EMSC activities. The Web site provides online tutorials and a resource library of templates, state fact sheets, publications, research resources, statistics, and other materials. NEDARC is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Proposal writing, Data analysis, Data collection, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Listservs, National MCH resource center, Research design, Resource centers, Statistics, Technical assistance, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

Annotation: The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues. The Center's work is carried out by seven projects: Pew Research Center for the People & the Press,Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Pew Social & Demographic Trends Project. The Pew Research Center is a non-profit, Section 501(c)(3) tax-exempt corporation established in 2004 as a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts, a Philadelphia-based public charity.

Keywords: Advocacy, MCH research, Public health, Public policy

Annotation: The Society for Pediatric and Perinatal Epidemiologic Research (SPER) is an organization of individuals from a wide variety of disciplines who share a common interest: the epidemiology of pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. The objective of the Society is to foster pediatric and perinatal epidemiologic research. This research includes the study of any factors that influence maternal health and the health and development of children, from their conception through their adolescence. The Society was formed in 1988, and holds an annual meeting each June, immediately preceding the meeting of the Society for Epidemiologic Research (SER). The website contains SPER's newsletter and information on SPER officers, membership, jobs, and fellowships.

Keywords: Children, Epidemiology, Infants, Interdisciplinary approach, MCH research, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Professional societies

Annotation: The Research Program of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) funds applied research related to maternal and child health (MCH) services.

Keywords: Federal agencies, MCH research, MCH services, Research programs, Title V programs

Annotation: The Office of Epidemiology and Research (OER) provides a central location for all maternal and child health (MCH) data and research. The office administers funds and other resources for grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements; provides leadership in assisting in the development of the National Survey on Child Health and the National Survey on Children with Special Health Needs; coordinates the Health Information Technology efforts of the Bureau; and disseminates information on data collection and analysis on women of childbearing age, infants, children, and children with special health care needs.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health surveys, MCH training, Research methodology, Technical assistance, Title V programs

Annotation: The World Health Organization's (WHO's) Department of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health was established in 2011 to address key challenges in reducing maternal and child deaths and lead targeted efforts to improve the health of these population groups and support countries to achieve the Millennium Development Goals. The website contains information and resources on maternal, newborn, child, and adolescent health including programming, monitoring, and research; data, statistics, and epidemiology; documents; news and events; and multimedia.

Keywords: International health, International organizations, International programs, International services, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH services